Punch problem

MusE is a MIDI/Audio sequencer with recording and editing capabilities, aiming to be a complete multitrack virtual studio for Linux. https://muse-sequencer.org/

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz, spamatica

Post Reply
moebius
Established Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:51 pm

Punch problem

Post by moebius »

Bonjour,
I've searched everywhere but I still don't know how to punch correctly both audio and midi. And it's very very annoying for my use.
Well, when I was working with cubase and atari falcon (years ago, I know...), punch worked like that,
1 setting left and right locator according to the place where you want to replace the record by another one then clicking on "punch in" and "punch out"
2 setting the transport locator a little bit before left locator
3 beginning recording.
4 when transport locator reached the left locator, the previous record was not heard and replaced by the new one ; when reaching right locator recording stopped and turned to listen mode until you stop.
Problem in Muse :
Even I select "replace" for "record mode" in the transport window the previous record is heard and not deleted ; only a new part is created between the left and right locators and the initial part is left unchanged. The result is two parts on same track.
Well I don't know what to do to obtain a real punch action ; I surely miss something but don't know what it is...I really need some help ! :-)
cordialement,

moebius
Established Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:51 pm

Re: Punch problem

Post by moebius »

Bonjour,
I wonder : Am I really the only one who experiment that strange behavior ?
I've recorded a bug on the bug tracker, already in may 2019 with absolutely no feedback and another one 2 days ago.
I know that developers of this wonderful muse do that on their freetime and I really don't want to blame anybody ; at the opposite, it's great to get such a program !
But can someone let me know if I am really the only one ? Does punch feature works fine for everybody ?
For the moment, I have to cut part on each locator, delete the created segment, record a new one and glue this new segment in the part.
A lot of work for a simple punch !
So let me know ; there's probably something very simple to do that I've never seen until now !
cordialement,

oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm

Re: Punch problem

Post by oscillator »

Sorry, can't help you. I have never used the punch recording. If I get the time I will try it out this weekend and see if it works on my end.

Which version of MusE are you using and on what platform?

/Staffan

spamatica
Established Member
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:38 am

Re: Punch problem

Post by spamatica »

moebius wrote:
Fri Mar 27, 2020 1:42 pm
I wonder : Am I really the only one who experiment that strange behavior ?
Hi Moebius!
And sorry for not responding, I tried this and I think you are quite right, it should at least remove the old part where the recording occurs.
I never use punchin but generally edit by hand (probably bacause it wasn't completely working)...

For fixing the bug there has to be someone interested that knows how to fix it, waiting for that I can only offer my best workaround. Which is to make use of keyboard shortcuts to ease the manual editing.
1. press s (for scissors)
2. click on the left and right marker
3. press e (eraser)
4. click on the part you want removed
-- record a new part which punch in/punch out --
5. if you want to glue them together, press g and click on the first part until all is glued together.
6. press a (to get back to the arrow)

moebius
Established Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:51 pm

Re: Punch problem

Post by moebius »

AAAhh, thank for answering, I'm no more alone in the universe :D
For Oscillator, I'm running a debian testing on an old amd platform (athlon X4 640)
I use the last version of muse that I've compiled myself.
For Spamatica, thank for the shortcuts.
The funny thing that confused me a little bit is that, in muse, there are all the options of punch : replace Or overdub but it doesn't work, I'm sure now.
On the other hand, just few things are missing :
Cut audio at point zero of the waveform to avoid noise at the cut point
If "replace" is selected, delete the segment and not hear it when cursor reach left locator
glue the new segment to the part
If overdub is selected, just glue the new segment.
Sure, we need the undo function to work, just in case... :)
That's all
In fact, punch function was already present in the olds multitracks tape recorders and has been ported to sequencers with the undo function benefit, great thing.
Honestly, it's a very useful function both for midi and audio and I hope that it can become functional one day...
thank again for responding
cordialement,

oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm

Re: Punch problem

Post by oscillator »

I just tried Punchin/out with MIDI and it works like expected (= it works like I expect it to):

1. I record an ascending scale over 3 bars (bars 1-3).
2. I place the right and left locators on start and end of bar 2.
3. I click/enable punch in and punch out on the Transport. Rec mode: Replace
4. I begin recording on bar 1.
5. I play a descending scale from bar 1 to 3.
6. The result is that the descending scale has been recorded on bar 2 only with the old notes removed (replaced).

I also tried with Overdub which works (notes are not replaced on bar 2 but the new notes are added ONLY on bar 2).

At least for me this is the expected behaviour! :)

Using Debian 10 Stable/XFCE4 with latest master.

oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm

Re: Punch problem

Post by oscillator »

I have now also tried it with audio and this ADDS a new part between the right and left locators, regardless of if I use the Replace or Overdub Rec Mode. Expected behaviour would be that the new part REPLACES the old part between the right and left locators, I think.

moebius
Established Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:51 pm

Re: Punch problem

Post by moebius »

Bonjour,
Oscillator, I obtain the same result now (I've deleted the MusE-seq.cfg file and muse regenerated a new one ) with two limitations
* While recording the former segment is heard, very annoying ; is it the same for you ? When I want to replace notes, I surely want to hear only the new ones I am recording, not the new ones mixed with the older ones...
* If I don't play any note, the segment remains the same ans is not deleted. Not so important but...
So, for me, even in midi, punch doesn't work as I expect ( and as I think modestly it has to )

As you say too, audio punch doesn't work, that's a fact...
Spamatica said «For fixing the bug there has to be someone interested that knows how to fix it» ; I wonder who can/want to do this ; I hope there's someone because for me, it's clear that for a sequencer, the punch function is (almost ? :-) ) mandatory.

Thank again for your help,
cordialement,
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm

Re: Punch problem

Post by oscillator »

Yeah, for midi i hear the old notes too.

I never use punchin/out, being more of a programming song writer. When recording vocals i prefer whole phrases. But i can understand the need when working with other kinds of music

Post Reply