{SOLVED] MESS Fluidsynth - multiple sf2's

MusE is a MIDI/Audio sequencer with recording and editing capabilities, aiming to be a complete multitrack virtual studio for Linux. https://muse-sequencer.org/

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz, spamatica

Post Reply
oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm

{SOLVED] MESS Fluidsynth - multiple sf2's

Post by oscillator »

Hi!

Using the MESS fluidsynth on MusE 3.1.0pre4.

See attached screenshot. I want a piano on channel 1 and a bass on channel 2 and thought this was how to do it.

Problem is, both channels play the bass sound (because that was last loaded? uppmost in the sf2 list?)

Is there a correct way of doing this so it works?

Thanks!

Staffan
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by oscillator on Thu Jan 02, 2020 2:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

spamatica
Established Member
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:38 am

Re: MESS Fluidsynth - multiple sf2's

Post by spamatica »

I think you have it correct but I can't check right now so might be some new bug that has crept in.

A work around is to load an instance of the fluidsynth for each soundfont.
In reality this is the way I would do it anyway because the added overhead of using separate instances is very little and it gives the added benefit of using individual plugin effects on each instrument.

oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm

Re: MESS Fluidsynth - multiple sf2's

Post by oscillator »

Thanks!

Yeah, I have previously created one instance for each sound, and I think the overhead was quite small. But with one instance and a common reverb setting I hope to gain some consistency in the sound (and less clutter). :)

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am

Re: MESS Fluidsynth - multiple sf2's

Post by Tim E. Real »

Don't panic. It works fine.

Please ensure that after you load the multiple soundfonts, you actually select a patch
on each of the fluidsynth channels. For example use the midi mixer strip to select
a valid patch name or number, for each of the channels.
There's a small bug in MusE in that failure to do so results in the observed behaviour.
However, once you select patches for the channels, everything should work fine.
Tested OK here.

Dev note: Possibly in LoadFontWorker::execLoadFont() it needs to call rewriteChannelSettings() after loading.
There is a conditional there on being the 'last' font loaded. Possibly it's not being called.

oscillator
Established Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:07 pm

Re: MESS Fluidsynth - multiple sf2's

Post by oscillator »

Tim E. Real wrote:Please ensure that after you load the multiple soundfonts, you actually select a patch
on each of the fluidsynth channels. For example use the midi mixer strip to select
a valid patch name or number, for each of the channels.
Thanks, this works! As the MESS Fluidsynth also supports panning etc for each channel it is a quick way to set up a simple orchestra/band.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply