[RES] No sound from a recorded session

MusE is a MIDI/Audio sequencer with recording and editing capabilities, aiming to be a complete multitrack virtual studio for Linux. http://muse-sequencer.org/

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz, spamatica

saturnin51
Established Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 5:10 am

[RES] No sound from a recorded session

Postby saturnin51 » Thu Mar 07, 2019 2:39 pm

Hi,

Yesterday I have recorded a piece of music right well and I saved it.
Today I load this piece but I have no sound when I read the audio tracks and nor recording when I wan to record on a same audio track. VU-meter are alright on the entry audio track. I check all the connections.
I have sound only on the MIDI tracks.
Last edited by saturnin51 on Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

saturnin51
Established Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 5:10 am

Re: No sound from a recorded session

Postby saturnin51 » Thu Mar 07, 2019 4:36 pm

I found the solution. I have to increase the gain of each audio tracks. Why ???

spamatica
Established Member
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:38 am

Re: No sound from a recorded session

Postby spamatica » Thu Mar 07, 2019 6:29 pm

saturnin51 wrote:I found the solution. I have to increase the gain of each audio tracks. Why ???

Ok, very odd, it should not be needed. A saved session should sound the same after being reloaded.

This is with the 3.1pre1 release, correct?
Could take screenshot of the arranger and mixer that shows when it is wrong?
Is the volume at zero?

saturnin51
Established Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 5:10 am

Re: No sound from a recorded session

Postby saturnin51 » Thu Mar 07, 2019 8:00 pm

Yes it is with the 3.1 OPr1 version. I try with a another song. The bass was OK but not the rythmic guitar,I have to increase its gain. Very strange.
I reload the first, increase the ain of each audio track, save and reload. It was OK.

Sometimes when I close Muse, there is a second windows but empty. Normal ?

Image

Image

spamatica
Established Member
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:38 am

Re: No sound from a recorded session

Postby spamatica » Thu Mar 07, 2019 10:06 pm

To start with the empty window, no, closing MusE should not leave a window behind.
However I think I see what the problem is, I can reproduce this issue.
I'm guessing you click on the X in the upper right corner? On my system there is a close button hidden behind it, it is the close button for the arranger which should not be visible unless MDI mode is enabled. In short it is a bug of somekind. It should not be harmful but the song isn't really closed in this instance, the arranger can be reopened from the View menu.

For the real problem, I think the problem is the Gain knob. I see it is set to zero on the audio tracks. I doubt you set it to zero as it indeed means the track will be silent.
Long ago we had problems when MusE was used on a non-english system, and I see yours is set to french(maybe?). I wonder if this could be a similar issue. Would you mind uploading this *.med file, then we should be able to tell?

saturnin51
Established Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 5:10 am

Re: No sound from a recorded session

Postby saturnin51 » Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:42 pm

I'll try with others records to investigate.

One question: Do I have to mute the out1 during a recording to avoid an unwanted echo ?

spamatica
Established Member
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:38 am

Re: No sound from a recorded session

Postby spamatica » Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:34 am

saturnin51 wrote:I'll try with others records to investigate.

One question: Do I have to mute the out1 during a recording to avoid an unwanted echo ?

You should not need to mute the out1. Infact, usually you want to hear all the old tracks while recording.

Though if you are recording a microphone there will be leakage from the speakers. That's why many use headphones.

saturnin51
Established Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 5:10 am

Re: No sound from a recorded session

Postby saturnin51 » Sat Mar 09, 2019 2:24 pm

I can reproduce the issue. I save the file with gain >0 for each audio track. When I reload no audio sound, I have to increase the gain of OUT 1. I confirm I am a french guy, using french langage with MusE.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

spamatica
Established Member
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:38 am

Re: No sound from a recorded session

Postby spamatica » Sat Mar 09, 2019 10:20 pm

alright, I'll have a look tomorrow!

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am

Re: No sound from a recorded session

Postby Tim E. Real » Sun Mar 10, 2019 9:28 pm

My test results with muse running in French locale, from an English machine:

Code: Select all

./muse3 -lfr


Terminal output:

Code: Select all

Config File </home/me/.config/MusE/MusE.cfg>
LOCALE fr_FR

Now record a song, save to a *.med file.
Floating point values found in the *.med file:

Code: Select all

...
        <audioClickVolume>0.5</audioClickVolume>
...
      <gain>3.7</gain>
      <controller id="0" cur="0.944061" color="#ff0000" visible="1">
        170199 0.0310088,         750160 0.0290515,         750161 0.66426,         1129144 0.622332,         

Hm, no trouble seen there.

OK. Now, in file supplied by saturnin51 "I want you me.zip":
Floating point values found in *.med file:

Code: Select all

...
        <audioClickVolume>0,53</audioClickVolume>
...
      <gain>0,5</gain>
      <controller id="0" cur="0.446684" color="#ff0000" visible="0">


:o
Yup. Notice the comma in gain for French locale. It should NOT be there. (We always force floating point to be Latin1 style with a dot.)
@ saturnin51 If you would like to perform one small further test:
Draw an audio controller graph and save the song and examine the *.med file.
For example an Audio track's Volume controller (controller id="0").
Then you will see values like in my example (the four long floats shown above).
I am certain you will in fact see decimal points as in my example. I am certain that part will work.We worked hard on that :wink:
What is NOT working appears to be our XML float tag!

Code: Select all

 <gain>0,5</gain>


That's where my bet lies. I have not proven it though. Quite busy right now, will try later if no one else fixes it.

Someone PLEASE enter a bug report in our git issue tracker so we don't forget !

Thank you and sorry for the trouble. Rock on...
Last edited by Tim E. Real on Sun Mar 10, 2019 9:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

spamatica
Established Member
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:38 am

Re: No sound from a recorded session

Postby spamatica » Sun Mar 10, 2019 9:30 pm

saturnin51 wrote:I can reproduce the issue. I save the file with gain >0 for each audio track. When I reload no audio sound, I have to increase the gain of OUT 1. I confirm I am a french guy, using french langage with MusE.


Thanks, that helped, it was pretty much the problem I thought it would be. There was a regression in the new 3.1pre1 release, when storing decimal values in the song file, there is a fix committed to the git master.

If you are in a hurry, get the latest source from git.
Or wait for the next release, I think I will try to roll a 3.1pre2 (or 3.1) release during the week.

saturnin51
Established Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 5:10 am

Re: No sound from a recorded session

Postby saturnin51 » Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:10 pm

Thank you very much. I can stand for a next release.

saturnin51
Established Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 5:10 am

Re: [RES] No sound from a recorded session

Postby saturnin51 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:17 pm

I have look to a .med file. All the value of controller id=0 are with decimal point.

spamatica
Established Member
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:38 am

Re: [RES] No sound from a recorded session

Postby spamatica » Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:00 pm

saturnin51 wrote:I have look to a .med file. All the value of controller id=0 are with decimal point.

If you search for gain in the med file you will see that it's value has a comma.

Btw, sorry Tim, I completely missed your reply above where you debugged it!

Haven't started making a new release yet, days go by so fast... been playing with Appimage hoping it can provide a way to provide binaries though.

Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am

Re: [RES] No sound from a recorded session

Postby Tim E. Real » Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:32 am

About AppImage:
I received a strange notification of a commit to our repo which isn't actually there.
It turns out it was from someone's fork of MusE where I think he's trying to create an app image file.
https://github.com/revolverve/muse/comm ... 658067202b

Maybe helps with your task.

What is strange is that the notification indicated that the commit went into our repo.
(https://github.com/muse-sequencer/muse/commit was in the address.)
It may have been a pull request gone wrong or he deleted it or something.


Return to “MusE Sequencer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest