Clarinet

Collaborate on tunes with other forum members! Anything goes!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Michael Willis
Established Member

Clarinet

Post by Michael Willis »

As mentioned elsewhere, I started practicing clarinet after not really playing for nearly twenty years. I'm finally to the point that I'm feeling more confident about live recording. I'm curious if anybody is working on something that could use a crooning woodwind track. I'm open to a lot of styles, I can imagine it working well in certain subgenres of folk, jazz, blues, rock, etc.

You can hear some of my earlier attempts at recording, or I can audition some more. Later this week I'll be outfitted for stereo recording instead of mono like I did in those recording, which I'm told gives additional depth to recording wind instruments.
craigbass76
Established Member

Re: Clarinet

Post by craigbass76 »

If you've got any melodies you've written, I'm game for cutting you a bass track. I listened to the track you linked to. Like others said, there was a bit of natural reverb, but you're very clean with the clarinet itself. I do have a jazz box here, so I might be able to wing a rhythm track too, if you're into Benny Goodman type stuff.
Michael Willis
Established Member

Post by Michael Willis »

craigbass76 wrote:If you've got any melodies you've written, I'm game for cutting you a bass track. I listened to the track you linked to. Like others said, there was a bit of natural reverb, but you're very clean with the clarinet itself. I do have a jazz box here, so I might be able to wing a rhythm track too, if you're into Benny Goodman type stuff.
Thanks for reaching out! I'll have to put something together that would work with a good bass track... I have rounded up a few local brass players and a pianist locally, we're thinking of recording some small-band jazz stuff, maybe that could work.

Here is a more recent thing I recorded, I'm a lot more happy with how it turned out: https://instaud.io/270z