Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Talk about your MIDI interfaces, microphones, keyboards...

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Post Reply
User avatar
karm
Established Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:25 am
Location: Cracow, Poland

Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Post by karm »

Hello,

Does anybody has this audio interface and could share his experiences with it? I'm interested in getting one and I would love to know if it is working out of the box with JACK. There were quite a fuss after the release concerning badly written drivers for Win7 and MacOS but it seems it was resolved. Anyway, any iput is appreciated.
Only birds fly first class
Archlinux on desktop pc.

tripomatic
Established Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 4:42 pm

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Post by tripomatic »

Every interface that is supported by alsa or ffado works with jack.

According to this links it works.

http://ardour.org/node/4709
http://eldhuset.org/posts/9

User avatar
karm
Established Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:25 am
Location: Cracow, Poland

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Post by karm »

Thanks for the response and links, the first one is new to me. Looks like the card is functioning pretty well.
Only birds fly first class
Archlinux on desktop pc.

User avatar
bluebell
Established Member
Posts: 1403
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:44 am
Location: Saarland & Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Post by bluebell »

I had always trouble with the m-audio Fast Track Pro: After some time the sound got noisy, sometimes there were cracks in recordings. Windows users report the same problem. And it was recognised only as 16 bit interface from a standard kernel.

Then I bought the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2. It's stable. It's recognised as a 32 bit interface. I like it very much.

I don't mind the lack of a MIDI-interface. I don't need it.
Linux – MOTU UltraLite AVB – Qtractor – https://soundcloud.com/suedwestlicht

cowboystitching
Established Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 9:43 am

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Post by cowboystitching »

I have this unit; and it works FLAWLESSLY with my Ubuntu Studio setup. Didn't have to do any configuration or anything; pretty much plug and play. Usually record at 96k with 0 xruns and less than a milisecond of latency. HIGHLY recommend it. :D

User avatar
karm
Established Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:25 am
Location: Cracow, Poland

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Post by karm »

Seems solid indeed! Thanks for info.
Only birds fly first class
Archlinux on desktop pc.

tbritton
Established Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 4:22 am

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Post by tbritton »

See this post:
http://www.linuxmusicians.com/viewtopic ... 495#p32773

And my response to that:

http://www.linuxmusicians.com/viewtopic ... 495#p37495

It shows how to "do the math" to compute the frames buffer, periods and sample rate together and predict the latency - and most important, use the correct numbers from the formula:

(frames/sample rate)*period = theoretical latency

Terry

racc
Established Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 9:16 am

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Post by racc »

Nice to see people have had success with 2i2!

I have been struggling with mine till frustration. Problem appears with buffer size under 512 (48kHz sample rate, number of buffers 2): Scarlett halo leds keep on flashing, sounds and looks like it resets itself over and over again. With 512 sample buffer size it works perfect, but the latency with guitarix monitoring while recording becomes unacceptable.

I tested it with two computers (laptop Core i5 M520 @2.40GHz, desktop Core2Duo Q6600). There is no USB hub between 2i2 and computer. I have tried normal, low latency and rt kernels, it makes no difference. Laptop uses Kubuntu, desktop fresh Ubuntu Studio with Pulse Audio disabled and used improvements suggested by QuickScan.pl.

Has anyone else ran into this problem with 2i2? Any suggestions how to proceed debugging this?

Also, a warning for prospective guitarist buyers: 2i2 input maximum input level in INST-mode is very low (-3dBu). I am unable to use any of my passive pickup equipped guitars for direct recording, as all my bridge humbuckers cause violent clipping. Sure, this was clearly stated by specification. I did not realize to check numbers out carefully, as I thought INST-mode was specifically designed for this purpose. :cry:

b100dian
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:59 pm

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Post by b100dian »

Problem appears with buffer size under 512 (48kHz sample rate, number of buffers 2
Same here. I don't find it _that_ annoyng in rakarrack though - your experience may vary.

In case you're not already following (or you were not the original submitter) I am following these two kernel bugs filed against ubuntu for a resolution:
I get the same error for my Focusrite as in these bugs:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... ug/1191603
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... ug/1185563

(Short story: it seems to have used to work in Linux 3.5, but it was not 100% USB compliant behavior.. so.. heh)

Havoc
Established Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 6:57 pm

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Post by Havoc »

Good news. I have been drooling for the 18i6 as this has an adat input.

User avatar
Smeefer
Established Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:34 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Post by Smeefer »

The Scarlett 2i2 has no MIDI inputs, but I need to know if it can be used to send and receive MIDI signals in qjackctl. Using A2JMIDID, would I be able to connect MIDI software to the 2i2's outputs in the MIDI section of qjackctl's Connections manager? This will determine whether I buy this interface or not. Please let me know if it works or not, if you know. Thank you!
www.camversion.org/music-smeefer <--listen to Smeefer's music!
www.camversion.org/music-smeefer-collabs <--listen to Smeefer's music with vocalists.
www.camversion.org/smeefers-blog <--read Smeefer's blah blah blog!

j_e_f_f_g
Established Member
Posts: 1090
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:48 pm

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Post by j_e_f_f_g »

Smeefer wrote:Using A2JMIDID, would I be able to connect MIDI software to the 2i2's outputs in the MIDI section of qjackctl's Connections manager?
MIDI is not an audio signal. The 2i2 deals only with audio (ie audio tracks and softsynth output).

I suspect you're asking the wrong question about what you want to do. Do you own any gear with MIDI jacks?

User avatar
Smeefer
Established Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:34 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Post by Smeefer »

No I do not own any MIDI gear that connects to MIDI hardware inputs. Can I use the 2i2 with A2JMIDID and Qsampler? If the answer is yes, then I'm stoked on giving it a try. I do not know whether or not having MIDI hardware jacks would make a difference.
www.camversion.org/music-smeefer <--listen to Smeefer's music!
www.camversion.org/music-smeefer-collabs <--listen to Smeefer's music with vocalists.
www.camversion.org/smeefers-blog <--read Smeefer's blah blah blog!

b4ne1
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 10:42 pm

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Post by b4ne1 »

Hi, new to Linux, left Windows...I just can't get Qjackctl to work with my Scarlett 2i2 2nd gen.
I'm new, so I'm sure I'm doing something wrong but I always get the D-BUS error.
I've got the Scarlett selected for input and output through the advanced tab.
When I click on connections, there is nothing, then it gives me the error. Any help would be greatly appreciated, loving Linux so far. Using Elementary OS.

User avatar
bluebell
Established Member
Posts: 1403
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:44 am
Location: Saarland & Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

Post by bluebell »

b4ne1 wrote:
Thu Jul 09, 2020 10:49 pm
Hi, new to Linux, left Windows...I just can't get Qjackctl to work with my Scarlett 2i2 2nd gen.
I'm new, so I'm sure I'm doing something wrong but I always get the D-BUS error.
I've got the Scarlett selected for input and output through the advanced tab.
When I click on connections, there is nothing, then it gives me the error. Any help would be greatly appreciated, loving Linux so far. Using Elementary OS.
Try disabling (unchecking) the D-Bus settings in Settings/Misc in Qjackctl.
Linux – MOTU UltraLite AVB – Qtractor – https://soundcloud.com/suedwestlicht

Post Reply