Edirol UA-4FX on ubuntu 10.04

Talk about your MIDI interfaces, microphones, keyboards...

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

lintlicker
Established Member

Edirol UA-4FX on ubuntu 10.04

Post by lintlicker »

Hi,

I am a Ubuntu newbie, recent windows convert, and I'm very VERY lost and confused by this whole thing.

I have a Edirol UA-4FX that I've used with windows vista and Audacity for years. My windows crashed, so I'm trying to get Ubuntu working as well as windows did for recording. I'm having trouble getting my interface to work with any degree of quality. Apparently, drivers are not needed in Ubuntu...?!? I plugged it in, installed Audacity, and it seems to recognize the device. Audacity seems to run VERY laggy though, and recording quality is very crackly and poor.

I don't even know what questions to ask. I am SO green, but I am willing to learn. Can you help me to get this working like normal?

Thank you,

Lintlicker
kaimerra
Established Member

Re: Edirol UA-4FX on ubuntu 10.04

Post by kaimerra »

I have a Edirol UA-4FX as well and have been using it for a couple of years on Linux. It took me forever to figure out what was causing the popping/crackling that I started experiencing around Ubuntu 8 or 9. For me it was a bug or glitch caused by the Radeon drivers when Kernel Mode Setting(KMS) is turned on.

My troubleshooting thread: http://www.linuxmusicians.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=7017

Ubuntu KMS doco: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/KernelModeSetting

As far as Audacity lagging, I would first ask if you are running Jack audio server?
Pablo
Established Member

Post by Pablo »

Apparently, drivers are not needed in Ubuntu...?!
In general, drivers are included in the linux kernel.

Linux is so different, you don't always have to worry about things you usually worry about in Windows. In contrast, you have to learn a bit about things that you would take for granted there. Particularly, the different linux sound systems or "audio servers".