New Laptop Advice April 2022

Talk about your MIDI interfaces, microphones, keyboards...

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

foodforester1
Established Member

New Laptop Advice April 2022

Post by foodforester1 »

I am relatively new to the concept of computer music, having come (long ago) from an analog synth environment and have only used computers as a tool in my work over 3 decades in IT support.

I am now needing to buy a new computer for my new computer music hobby, and am looking for some advice on what to buy as a laptop. Sadly, being on a (low) fixed income as an aged pensioner, I cannot throw a fortune at this hobby.

I am currently trying to run AV_Linux_MX-21_Edition-21_ahs_x64 and updates on a VERY under powered low end laptop with little success due to a constant stream of XRUN's making snap-crackle-pop noises, all while red-lining the poor little CPU - according to 'conky', both CPU cores running at greater than 85% while trying to play one of the LMMS demo songs as supplied with the lmms-1.2.2-linux-x86_64.AppImage.

The laptop that I am using at the moment is an AMD, but I have found that AMD seems to need MORE access to the internet to get the system running properly, and constant- speedy- internet- connection is just not available to me in my very rural environment, so I would prefer to use Intel and NOT AMD.
Acer Aspire3 AMD A4-9120e RADEON R3, 4 COMPUTE CORES 2C+2G, 8GB Ram

My question is - What are the most important attribute needed to eliminate these XRUN's?
CPU Intel i5 or Intel i7
RAM size 8G or 16GB

Obviously, in this scenario, 'more is better', but not necessarily on the budget?!?!?!?

I understand that a dedicated Graphics Processor is a 'must have' to run the DSP part of music making and make the relevant computations required by FX plugins and automation etc..
GPU's are a very new area of computing to me, as I have not been involved in any environment where they would have been useful, not even games - which I never play.