Audient EVO 4 - Updates on Linux compatiblity.

Talk about your MIDI interfaces, microphones, keyboards...

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

pablogvieira

Audient EVO 4 - Updates on Linux compatiblity.

Post by pablogvieira »

Hello everyone.

I'm a musician from Brazil and I recently bought an Audient EVO 4 audio interface. I used it on Windows 10 for about a month and then decided to switch back to Linux (I use Linux since 2007, but I'm new to music production and I had never done it on Linux) and make my new device work with it.

I found a board post and a blog post, both by to1ne, on how to disable the loopback feature. Back in April and May 2020, to1ne and some other users reported that, by default, PulseAudio would set the loopback feature of EVO 4 to the main input, since it mixes all input channels into one.

However, I've been testing the audio interface on Ubuntu Studio 20.10 and Linux Mint 20.1 and that doesn't seem to be an issue anymore. There was no loopback audio input in any tests that I run. I ran some tests and here is my hunch on why loopback audio issues no longer exist (at least in my setup):

- Before testing the interface on Linux, I downloaded its Windows Driver alongside its proprietary softwares named EVO Control. I used EVO Control to update the intefaces's firmware.

- The EVO 4 was announced in January 2020 in NAMM 2020. However, in July 2020, Audient released new pieces of software for Windows, especially one named Loopback Control, which, as you can guess, gives you full control of the loopback feature via sofware in Windows. There were new firmware updates as well.