Possible to use a keyboard as an external synth?

Talk about your MIDI interfaces, microphones, keyboards...

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

laba170
Established Member

Possible to use a keyboard as an external synth?

Post by laba170 »

Since I'm willing to invest some money in my hobby, I am thinking about getting a keyboard and using it as a synth. My reasons are:

1. It's cross-platform. (?)

2. It'll sound good.

3. I'll get a new instrument.

But can a keyboard receive and playback multiple midi-channels at the same time? Can I connect the keyboard to the midi-out port, and then connect it to a sequencer with jack?

Probably stupid questions, but I have no experience with keyboards...
Yeri
Established Member

Re: Possible to use a keyboard as an external synth?

Post by Yeri »

Can I connect the keyboard to the midi-out port, and then connect it to a sequencer with jack?
I understand that connecting the keyboard to the midi-out port of the computer aims to 'play' midi sent from the computer.. but connecting the keyboard back to a sequencer seems contradictory since your keyboard, used in this way, is not generating midi but sound.
In my opinion you should EITHER connect your keyboard to the midi-out in order to use it as a synth OR connect the keyboard to the midi-in of a sequencer in order to record the midi from the keyboard.. but not both at the same time.
laba170
Established Member

Post by laba170 »

Yeri wrote:In my opinion you should EITHER connect your keyboard to the midi-out in order to use it as a synth OR connect the keyboard to the midi-in of a sequencer in order to record the midi from the keyboard.. but not both at the same time.
Yeah. I meant using the keyboard as a synth, controlled by a sequencing program on my computer... I probably expressed myself in a confusing way. I'll try to phrase my question a bit more generally: