Rode Podcaster

Talk about your MIDI interfaces, microphones, keyboards...

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

kyle_1974
Established Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat May 16, 2020 8:24 pm

Re: Rode Podcaster

Post by kyle_1974 »

I've noticed after a reboot, it has gone back to like HWPro rather than having the ,0 bit (does that make sense?)

**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 1: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 0: ALC892 Analog [ALC892 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 2: ALC892 Alt Analog [ALC892 Alt Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: U0x46d0x825 [USB Device 0x46d:0x825], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 3: Pro [RODECaster Pro], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
Subdevices: 1/1

Image Image

Note: Audacity recording still working

User avatar
raboof
Established Member
Posts: 1753
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:58 am
Location: Deventer, NL
Contact:

Re: Rode Podcaster

Post by raboof »

kyle_1974 wrote:
Sun Aug 16, 2020 12:55 pm
I've noticed after a reboot, it has gone back to like HWPro rather than having the ,0 bit (does that make sense?)
That's surprising but shouldn't make a difference I think.

For USB cards, on the Settings->Parameters tab, I've heard people recommend setting 'periods/buffer' to '3'. That will increase latency a bit, but that might not be a problem since you're likely not doing live overdubs anyway.

kyle_1974
Established Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat May 16, 2020 8:24 pm

Re: Rode Podcaster

Post by kyle_1974 »

raboof wrote:
Sun Aug 16, 2020 1:03 pm
kyle_1974 wrote:
Sun Aug 16, 2020 12:55 pm
I've noticed after a reboot, it has gone back to like HWPro rather than having the ,0 bit (does that make sense?)
That's surprising but shouldn't make a difference I think.

For USB cards, on the Settings->Parameters tab, I've heard people recommend setting 'periods/buffer' to '3'. That will increase latency a bit, but that might not be a problem since you're likely not doing live overdubs anyway.
Ok, Jack will start now having changed the buffer to 3, but there are now thousands of xrun errors, which is how I first (virtually!) met lad when he managed to fix them.

Image

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Rode Podcaster

Post by merlyn »

Did you hear Xruns? I notice QjackCtl reports 0 (449). When I used QjackCtl I remember that I didn't hear the Xruns in brackets -- I did hear the Xruns not in brackets. If you can't hear them it's not such a problem.

This new kernel you've got could be a stock kernel, so you could try using the threadirqs kernel parameter.

kyle_1974
Established Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat May 16, 2020 8:24 pm

Re: Rode Podcaster

Post by kyle_1974 »

Ah that's interesting... I think I did hear them under the old system and I mentioned Lad helped fix those - but I could hear 1/2 per a show but this time there were no indicators for that - I will test it now!

In terms of the kernel, I will definitely one of you to tell me what I am doing! I kind of stumbled into all this - not a muso at all!

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Rode Podcaster

Post by merlyn »

To see if you have threadirqs loaded use

Code: Select all

$ cat /proc/cmdline | grep threadirqs
If that returns anything you do. If it returns nothing you don't.

kyle_1974
Established Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat May 16, 2020 8:24 pm

Re: Rode Podcaster

Post by kyle_1974 »

merlyn wrote:
Mon Aug 17, 2020 4:11 pm
To see if you have threadirqs loaded use

Code: Select all

$ cat /proc/cmdline | grep threadirqs
If that returns anything you do. If it returns nothing you don't.
I think I do?

Code: Select all

BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-5.8.1-050801-generic root=UUID=ff339d83-262d-4732-86f0-e1985950a81a ro quiet splash threadirqs vt.handoff=1

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Rode Podcaster

Post by merlyn »

You do indeed. Now you can raise the priority of your soundcard using rtirq. I think the configuration file is in /etc/default/ on Ubuntu. Adding 'xhci' to the rtirq name list has worked for other people like so :

Code: Select all

RTIRQ_NAME_LIST="xhci"

kyle_1974
Established Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat May 16, 2020 8:24 pm

Re: Rode Podcaster

Post by kyle_1974 »

merlyn wrote:
Mon Aug 17, 2020 6:13 pm
You do indeed. Now you can raise the priority of your soundcard using rtirq. I think the configuration file is in /etc/default/ on Ubuntu. Adding 'xhci' to the rtirq name list has worked for other people like so :

Code: Select all

RTIRQ_NAME_LIST="xhci"
Thank you - I have found the config - do I comment out the bit that is there already?

Code: Select all

# IRQ thread service names
# (space separated list, from higher to lower priority).
# RTIRQ_NAME_LIST="rtc snd usb i8042" # old
RTIRQ_NAME_LIST="snd usb i8042"

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Rode Podcaster

Post by merlyn »

kyle_1974 wrote:Thank you - I have found the config - do I comment out the bit that is there already?
That's a good idea so you can revert it. It would end up looking like this :

Code: Select all

# IRQ thread service names
# (space separated list, from higher to lower priority).
# RTIRQ_NAME_LIST="rtc snd usb i8042" # old
# RTIRQ_NAME_LIST="snd usb i8042"
RTIRQ_NAME_LIST="xhci"
Then try

Code: Select all

$ rtirq status
$ sudo rtirq restart
$ rtirq status
and you should see the change. Hopefully that will reduce Xruns.

kyle_1974
Established Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat May 16, 2020 8:24 pm

Re: Rode Podcaster

Post by kyle_1974 »

merlyn wrote:
Mon Aug 17, 2020 8:46 pm
kyle_1974 wrote:Thank you - I have found the config - do I comment out the bit that is there already?
That's a good idea so you can revert it. It would end up looking like this :

Code: Select all

# IRQ thread service names
# (space separated list, from higher to lower priority).
# RTIRQ_NAME_LIST="rtc snd usb i8042" # old
# RTIRQ_NAME_LIST="snd usb i8042"
RTIRQ_NAME_LIST="xhci"
Then try

Code: Select all

$ rtirq status
$ sudo rtirq restart
$ rtirq status
and you should see the change. Hopefully that will reduce Xruns.
Hiya

Have made the first change but the second set just says "command not found"?

merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm

Re: Rode Podcaster

Post by merlyn »

OK. Must be in a different place on Ubuntu. Try using this path :

Code: Select all

$ /etc/init.d/rtirq status
If that works use the same path for 'restart'.

kyle_1974
Established Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat May 16, 2020 8:24 pm

Re: Rode Podcaster

Post by kyle_1974 »

merlyn wrote:
Tue Aug 18, 2020 12:40 am
OK. Must be in a different place on Ubuntu. Try using this path :

Code: Select all

$ /etc/init.d/rtirq status
If that works use the same path for 'restart'.

Code: Select all

  PID CLS RTPRIO  NI PRI %CPU STAT COMMAND	
16709 FF      90   - 130  0.0 S    irq/46-xhci_hcd	
  316 FF      89   - 129  0.0 S    irq/48-xhci_hcd	
  317 FF      88   - 128  0.0 S    irq/49-xhci_hcd	
  318 FF      87   - 127  0.0 S    irq/50-xhci_hcd	
  319 FF      86   - 126  0.0 S    irq/51-xhci_hcd	
  320 FF      85   - 125  0.0 S    irq/52-xhci_hcd	
  321 FF      84   - 124  0.0 S    irq/53-xhci_hcd	
  322 FF      83   - 123  0.0 S    irq/54-xhci_hcd	
  323 FF      82   - 122  0.0 S    irq/55-xhci_hcd	
  147 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/9-acpi	
  167 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/7-pinctrl_a	
  168 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/25-PCIe PME	
  169 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/26-PCIe PME	
  170 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/28-PCIe PME	
  171 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/28-aerdrv	
  173 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/29-PCIe PME	
  174 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/29-aerdrv	
  176 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/30-PCIe PME	
  177 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/30-aerdrv	
  179 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/31-PCIe PME	
  180 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/31-aerdrv	
  188 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/8-rtc0	
  259 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/38-ahci[000	
  285 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/40-ahci[000	
  290 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/42-ahci[000	
  298 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/45-amdgpu	
16708 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/43-snd_hda_	
16710 FF      50   -  90  0.0 S    irq/61-snd_hda_	
16835 FF      50   -  90  0.1 S    irq/62-enp4s0	
  172 FF      49   -  89  0.0 S    irq/28-s-aerdrv	
  175 FF      49   -  89  0.0 S    irq/29-s-aerdrv	
  178 FF      49   -  89  0.0 S    irq/30-s-aerdrv	
  181 FF      49   -  89  0.0 S    irq/31-s-aerdrv	
   10 TS       -   0  19  0.0 S    ksoftirqd/0	
   18 TS       -   0  19  0.0 S    ksoftirqd/1	
   24 TS       -   0  19  0.0 S    ksoftirqd/2	
   30 TS       -   0  19  0.0 S    ksoftirqd/3	
   36 TS       -   0  19  0.0 S    ksoftirqd/4	
   42 TS       -   0  19  0.0 S    ksoftirqd/5	
   48 TS       -   0  19  0.0 S    ksoftirqd/6	
   54 TS       -   0  19  0.0 S    ksoftirqd/7	
   60 TS       -   0  19  0.0 R    ksoftirqd/8	
   66 TS       -   0  19  0.0 S    ksoftirqd/9	
   72 TS       -   0  19  0.0 S    ksoftirqd/10	
   78 TS       -   0  19  0.0 S    ksoftirqd/11	
That seems to be working now thank you! I will try and start the Rode again!

kyle_1974
Established Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat May 16, 2020 8:24 pm

Re: Rode Podcaster

Post by kyle_1974 »

Ok, update. Which is weird.

So after changing that RTIRQ, still getting thousands of XRun errors in the rec bracket. So far only one on the non bracket bit.

Device is seen in audacity and can record.

Device is seen in Jack.

Sound is not going back into Rode from IDJC. It's a USB connection and in Pulseaudio hardware config, it's set to the Rode in and out and the same on the Pulseaudio "usual" volume control.

So I am stuck now I think, I still have a few days to return to Amazon. But inspiration is failing me at this point - unless I start doing the radio through the Mac or Windows - which I really really don't want to do :(

EDIT: So now after disabling PC soundcard, I have got music going back to the Rode but it is very scratchy and distorted and you can't make anything out, but at least something is going back.

FURTHER EDIT: Had a mad idea which is how lad got into helping me!

So chain is:

Rode into JACK/PC as HW Device

Rode mics and input records to internal card, bluetooth works, everything. Processing is turned off on Rode as my dbx is taking the strain. No more noisy pots on old behringer mixer.

Output in Jack is internal normal sound card. Headphones into PC.

No X run errors.

This way mix of music/talking is recorded in IDJC. Clean mics recorded internally in Rode for editing.

This is the way my old PC was set up to record which we could never replicate hence using In/Out on Jack on the same device (which I know is the way it is supposed to work) and why I washed up here in the first place - though I am glad I did!

The only issue I had with Behringer was when we were using In/Out in Jack to the mixer and I had no end of trouble that way - so I think it is all fixed! (Not sure how it works, it just kind of does. Thank you though all!!!)

Sidenote - I could literally cry with joy at this point! And if I ever use the dual in/out, listening with headphones into the Rode on the Mac, I know that works as well for when I am out on the road!

Post Reply