What keyboard to buy....?

Talk about your MIDI interfaces, microphones, keyboards...

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

groovee

What keyboard to buy....?

Post by groovee »

Hi,
I'm new to this entire thing - what I'd like to do is to learn the keyboards as a hobby. Am I right in that a MIDI controller is what I need? Which one? I think a "88-key" one is what I'm looking for - I don't want to run out of keyboard space when I'm tearing up those tunes, right? :) If I understand things correctly, the controller is just...dumb, and it needs "sounds" built into whatever software I'll be using on the computer - well, does Linux software exist for this purpose? Is it free or do I have to pay? (say for Piano sounds). Also, if I wanna make beats, do I also use this "MIDI controller" thing, or is some separate equipment needed for that? I'd just like the cheapest thing that'll do the job, please - of course, it mustn't break down or anything, obviously!

Thanks for answering all my queries :)

Michael Willis
Established Member

Re: What keyboard to buy....?

Post by Michael Willis »

88-key is the size of a full piano. To be honest, if you're just getting started learning keyboards, a five octave controller like this one will probably be plenty enough. As for sounds, yes there are plenty of free ways to make sound on Linux using a midi controller as input, it just depends on what you want.

For a free piano sound, you can try something like the Piano in 162 or Slender Salamander. If you want to make synth sounds, take a look at Bristol, Helm, Yoshimi, and/or Zynaddsubfx, among many other options.

Yes, you can also make beats with your controller. You'll have to learn how to use a midi sequencer of some sort. Popular options around here include Ardour, LMMA, Muse, Rosegarden, and Qtractor.