Selecting a recording mixer / interface

Talk about your MIDI interfaces, microphones, keyboards...

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

bs89
Established Member

Selecting a recording mixer / interface

Post by bs89 »

Hello all. I've been using a Presonus Firepod firewire mixer for more than 8 years. Recently JACK and Lubuntu 18.04 have given many issues after regular software updates. I'm wondering what other options are available while my current setup remains defunct until proper diagnosis. Even when my setup is functioning (Firepod, JACK, & Audacity), it's hideously buggy and tempermental.

I require 10 or more individual tracks in, for mixing purposes. I've had 8 inputs for years but want to add more channels around the studio. Firewire support appears to be a dying thing, fueling interest in other options.

Are there any USB mixers / interfaces that send individual tracks to the computer? A stereo mix is not enough.

Thanks for reading, and my apologies if a similar discussion exists elsewhere; I did not find a similar thread upon a search. Long live linux, and much praise to its freedom.
wjl
Established Member

Re: Selecting a recording mixer / interface

Post by wjl »

Hey bs89,

I think lots of mixers exist which send individual tracks via their USB interfaces - and from a talk of Paul Davis (Jack, Ardour) I know that your typical Behringer X32 is one of them. Hear his talk and so on following the links on my page if you wish:

https://wolfgang.lonien.de/2017/05/than ... to-others/

Hope that helps,
and cheers,
Wolfgang

P.S.: the smaller Behringers which derived from this should also work, maybe even the cheaper Soundcraft ones - but I haven't tested those myself...
more about me on my blog
tavasti
Established Member

Post by tavasti »

At least in budget devices, usb mixers send to usb only 2 channels (all mixed). To get 8 channels to computer simultaneously you will need minimum 8 channel audio interface (or several smaller ones).