Re-Amping

Talk about your MIDI interfaces, microphones, keyboards...

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

Post Reply
User avatar
CeeJayTheFirst
Established Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 12:26 pm

Re-Amping

Post by CeeJayTheFirst »

Greetings, everyone.

The title is self explanatory so the point here is: Is it possible?

OS: Ubuntu Studio 14.04 LTS
The DAW would be Ardour.
The interface would be a Focusrite Saffire 6 USB, which has only 2 1/4" TRS outs.
Can I configure this device to feed two monitors from a single output being the 2nd used to send the signal to the amp's input?

P.S. Would any specific software be required to configure the Interface?

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1500
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: Re-Amping

Post by glowrak guy »

http://epenguin.imalone.co.uk/2011/12/r ... rdour.html

This article might help.

And maybe something in here, also:

http://libremusicproduction.com/article ... d-guitarix

I doubt the card cares where the sound goes, make sure the panning, track configs
adaptor/cables and impedance all match what you want to accomplish. Getting the right level
from your card to your amp is important. Some people use a stomp with clean output in it's arsenal,
to help with that. Others use dedicated power amps. Which can sound great, but at the $price$ of greatness.

www.guitarampmodeling.com has some very good generic discussions over the years,
if you dig around a bit, there's always a gold nugget somewhere.
Cheers

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1500
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: Re-Amping

Post by glowrak guy »

http://www.guitarampmodeling.com/viewto ... 51&t=21472

This may also be relevant. Insert 'guitarix', where windoze items lke revalver are mentioned.

apathity
Established Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 12:15 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Re-Amping

Post by apathity »

There are a couple online reamping services already (using a Kemper or other means) which I'm about to try (google "online reamping")

One other special thing I was thinking about: Use some Y-pedal to feed your signal into two different computers running guitarix. Record your performance on both computers and select the best one (or blend both of the recordings together). Did anybody ever do this? Would be so easy with some spare computer.

Other than that I think it doesn't hurt if you know exactly at recording time which sound you're looking for. If you get a good sound out of something, use it for your recording, do some EQ and just go on to your next musical thing. Just my opinion.

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1293
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Re-Amping

Post by ssj71 »

apathity wrote:Use some Y-pedal to feed your signal into two different computers running guitarix
There's no need, just record dry and you can send it into as many instances of guitarix as your cpu can handle.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

User avatar
sadko4u
Established Member
Posts: 797
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 9:03 pm

Re: Re-Amping

Post by sadko4u »

You may use RCA outputs for monitoring. Just route the output signal to them.
LSP (Linux Studio Plugins) Developer and Maintainer.

User avatar
sadko4u
Established Member
Posts: 797
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 9:03 pm

Re: Re-Amping

Post by sadko4u »

The second way is to record the dry input with program aplification and then re-amp the whole track after recording.
LSP (Linux Studio Plugins) Developer and Maintainer.

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1500
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: Re-Amping

Post by glowrak guy »

It's really a challenge to play electric guitar naturally and with great expression, when playing dry.
That's why re-amping 'live', with extra gear, is a current practice. The idea is to
hear and record your actual performance accurately, while also recording the dry output,
and so willl be able to create new versions based on the expressive dry recording, but with a universe of options.
When you throw power amps, tube-amps (and their mics) into a re-amp session, standards and precautions apply.

Similar with vocals. A dry signal in the vocalist headphones/monitor, sounds un-natural to the vocalist,
You want the vocalist to sing the part, but without attempting to compensate for something
that sounds un-natural, which will need to be effected for the final mix later in the process.
Cheers

Post Reply