Audio Recording

Talk about your MIDI interfaces, microphones, keyboards...

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

weav

Audio Recording

Post by weav »

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to this whole endeavor, but I was hoping to get some advice or at least the correct terminology to use when trying to figure this out. I have a streaming server where I am using an old M-Audio Delta 1010 to record and stream 6 independent channels that get packed into a 5.1 surround sound signal. I have been checking up on multi-channel recording and come upon the fact that the pci-based recording solution seems to have been dropped some time ago. I'm curious as to where it has gone for right now. If i wanted to record 8 independent channels and pack them back up into 1 multi-channel stream, what kind of audio device do i want to use? As I said earlier i'm having trouble figuring out the correct terminology here. I think I want an Audio Recording Interface, but then i'm having trouble telling how close to real-time the USB based interfaces can be (The Delta 1010 is pretty much real time). I've done a lot of google searching and just ended up more confused than when I started.

Sorry if this is too general a question, just a pointer to a good starting point would be helpful.

Thanks,
-Weav
asbak
Established Member

Re: Audio Recording

Post by asbak »

Your research presumably sourced information from the Windows/Mac domain, and over there support and software for PCI devices is probably long-gone.

I don't have the knowledge to understand exactly what it is you need to do but the 1010 should work fine on Linux afaik.
http://wiki.linuxaudio.org/wiki/m-audio_delta