RME AIO

Talk about your MIDI interfaces, microphones, keyboards...

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

User avatar
khz
Established Member
Posts: 1134
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:29 am
Location: German

RME AIO

Postby khz » Sat Feb 02, 2013 7:56 pm

Will be a HDSPe AIO fully supported now (hdspconf/..)?
Any hope?
FZ - Does humor belongs in Music?
GNU/LINUX@AUDIO ~ /Wiki $ Howto.Info && GNU/Linux Debian installing >> Linux Audio Workstation LAW
    I don't care about the freedom of speech because I have nothing to say.

User avatar
khz
Established Member
Posts: 1134
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:29 am
Location: German

Re: RME AIO

Postby khz » Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:18 am

OK, when i read the posts there: Alsa-user mailing list i see that hdspmixer is work but hdspconf, Analog Expansion Boards, ... are not working.
Is there any plans to get a fully AIO to use under Linux?

Example, not the AIO
Image
FZ - Does humor belongs in Music?
GNU/LINUX@AUDIO ~ /Wiki $ Howto.Info && GNU/Linux Debian installing >> Linux Audio Workstation LAW
    I don't care about the freedom of speech because I have nothing to say.

Digital Black
Established Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:53 pm

Re: RME AIO

Postby Digital Black » Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:30 pm

Five years gone and no progress

User avatar
khz
Established Member
Posts: 1134
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:29 am
Location: German

Re: RME AIO

Postby khz » Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:24 pm

Everything works except hdspconf. For hdspconf I use alsamixer.

Kernel:
  • ALSA: hdspm - Add RayDAT and AIO strings to Kconfig 2.6.39
  • ALSA: hdspm - Fix S/PDIF Sync status and frequency on RME AIO 3.12

Code: Select all

.config - Linux/x86 4.18.12-rt Kernel Configuration
 > Device Drivers > Sound card support > Advanced Linux Sound Architecture > PCI sound devices
  │ │    < >   RME Hammerfall DSP Audio                                       │ │
  │ │    <M>   RME Hammerfall DSP MADI/RayDAT/AIO                             │ │
...
  │ │    < >   RME Digi32, 32/8, 32 PRO                                       │ │
  │ │    < >   RME Digi96, 96/8, 96/8 PRO                                     │ │
  │ │    < >   RME Digi9652 (Hammerfall)                                      │ │


Code: Select all

 .config - Linux/x86 4.18.12-rt Kernel Configuration
 > Device Drivers > Sound card support > Advanced Linux Sound Architecture > FireWire sound devices
   │ │    < >   RME Fireface series support                                    │ │
FZ - Does humor belongs in Music?
GNU/LINUX@AUDIO ~ /Wiki $ Howto.Info && GNU/Linux Debian installing >> Linux Audio Workstation LAW
    I don't care about the freedom of speech because I have nothing to say.

Digital Black
Established Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:53 pm

Re: RME AIO

Postby Digital Black » Sat Feb 02, 2019 5:28 pm

Do I miss here something? Not the first time... The RME9632 and HDSPmixer works fine but when the AI4S expansion board is connected HDSPmixer seqfaults. The AI4S works still nicely and I can record from those inputs but the mixer app doesn't show up. All this with AVLinux2018.

edit: ok AIO is different than AI4S but problems are very alike I guess??

User avatar
khz
Established Member
Posts: 1134
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:29 am
Location: German

Re: RME AIO

Postby khz » Sun Feb 03, 2019 9:36 am

I had a 96/8 and a 9632 so far, both work 100% with all extensions and with the HDSPmixer. The 96/8 didn't have a HDSPmixer yet.
The AIO also works 100% with all extensions and with the HDSPmixer, only the hdspconf can only be set via alsamixer.

Did you run hdsploader again after installing the AI4S expansion board?

In case of problems please check the "Alsa-user mailing list" and cooperate with the developers.
When I bought this AIO the AIO was not yet supported under Linux. >> Asked in the "Alsa-user mailing list" and cooperated with the developers. :-D
FZ - Does humor belongs in Music?
GNU/LINUX@AUDIO ~ /Wiki $ Howto.Info && GNU/Linux Debian installing >> Linux Audio Workstation LAW
    I don't care about the freedom of speech because I have nothing to say.

Digital Black
Established Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:53 pm

Re: RME AIO

Postby Digital Black » Sun Feb 03, 2019 4:59 pm

HDSPconf gui works finely. The hdsploader says that the card is there. When booted without the additional board the HDSPmixer shows only 12 channals but the card is capable up to 16. So my guess is that those 4 extra channels are not written into the mixer app.
But on your screenshot all the capable channels are visible?

User avatar
khz
Established Member
Posts: 1134
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:29 am
Location: German

Re: RME AIO

Postby khz » Sun Feb 03, 2019 6:42 pm

The hdspconf works with the "RME Hammerfall DSP Audio" (9632) (PCI).
Only with the "RME Hammerfall DSP MADI/RayDAT/AIO" (PCIe) hdspconf does not work, but you can adjust the audio interface with alsamixer.

This was a screenshot from the internet, found by chance via google. ;)

Did you connect the I/O extensions correctly?
In the hdspconf everything is set correctly?
You can operate the audio interface at 48 khz maximum, at 88.2 the I/O is halved, at 192000 the I/O is halved again. See RME 9632 manual.

The following screenshot (RME-AIO-hdspmixer.png) is from my computer. There are ADAT and I/O extensions built in, 18 inputs and 20 outputs. :-D Everything works 100% with all extensions and with the HDSPmixer.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
FZ - Does humor belongs in Music?
GNU/LINUX@AUDIO ~ /Wiki $ Howto.Info && GNU/Linux Debian installing >> Linux Audio Workstation LAW
    I don't care about the freedom of speech because I have nothing to say.

Digital Black
Established Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:53 pm

Re: RME AIO

Postby Digital Black » Sun Feb 03, 2019 8:27 pm

Thank you for your patiency.
On the hdspconf there is nothing regarding the analog expansion boards. And yes, no silly sample rates/bit depths, just good'ol 48/24. The expansion board is connected to 9632 by a simple ribbon cable. The audio from inputs is fine and all the inputs are visible at the Ardour, but HDSPmixer refuses to co-operate. I need to launch the HDSPmixer always after power-up to get audio working, despite it does not appear.
After all this is not so serious, just wondering.

edit: After some google research revealed that issue is known but there is no much effort to fix it.


Return to “Computer Related Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest