Roland UA-55

Talk about your MIDI interfaces, microphones, keyboards...

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

j_e_f_f_g
Established Member
Posts: 1060
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:48 pm

Re: Roland UA-55

Post by j_e_f_f_g »

What's the status of the UA-55 on Linux? Do both input and output work? Does Direct Monitor (on input) work?

User avatar
Smeefer
Established Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:34 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Roland UA-55

Post by Smeefer »

j_e_f_f_g, the kernel module that was developed specifically for enabling the Roland UA55 on AV Linux was worked on for several months, then stopped. I sold my UA55 because it didn't fully work - I could playback audio and do everything except record with the inputs. It was working at 24bit 96khz, but the inputs didn't work. That's as far as it got, if I remember correctly.
www.camversion.org/music-smeefer <--listen to Smeefer's music!
www.camversion.org/music-smeefer-collabs <--listen to Smeefer's music with vocalists.
www.camversion.org/smeefers-blog <--read Smeefer's blah blah blog!

j_e_f_f_g
Established Member
Posts: 1060
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:48 pm

Re: Roland UA-55

Post by j_e_f_f_g »

Smeefer wrote:I could playback audio and do everything except record with the inputs. It was working at 24bit 96khz, but the inputs didn't work.
That's also true of 24-bit 44KHz?

User avatar
Smeefer
Established Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:34 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Roland UA-55

Post by Smeefer »

j_e_f_f_g wrote:
Smeefer wrote:I could playback audio and do everything except record with the inputs. It was working at 24bit 96khz, but the inputs didn't work.
That's also true of 24-bit 44KHz?
I don't remember, only because I never used it at 44khz. However, after what I think was the best kernel was released (the one that had me using the UA55 at 24bit 96khz), another kernel was made for other users who wanted 24bit 48khz and apparently that worked for them. I never downloaded or installed that kernel. If you read through the thread on the AV Linux forum, the whole story is there. As well as links to downloads, more info, etc. AV Linux forum, look for Roland UA55 and you will find all the information.
www.camversion.org/music-smeefer <--listen to Smeefer's music!
www.camversion.org/music-smeefer-collabs <--listen to Smeefer's music with vocalists.
www.camversion.org/smeefers-blog <--read Smeefer's blah blah blog!

stranger48
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 10:37 am

Re: Roland UA-55

Post by stranger48 »

Hi guys!

Are there any news about Roland Quad-Capture UA-55 under Linux? I can't find any signs of activity in this department. Will the card work with newer 4.2.x kernels?

thanks

stranger48
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 10:37 am

Re: Roland UA-55

Post by stranger48 »

Hi guys!

Are are any news about Roland UA-55 and linux? Does it work under new stock Ubuntu 14/15 ?

Copeau
Established Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 1:36 pm

Re: Roland UA-55

Post by Copeau »

Hi there ! I almost bought a UA55 today, confident that such a widely used interface would be supported (I use KXStudio).
Well, I didn't buy it and went here to check. After reading this I'm not so confident any more...
This thread hasn't been active since 2013, so things may have changed now.

So, just one little question :
Is anyone using a UA55 with KXStudio now ?

Thx !
--- Copeau ---
KXStudio
Mix using Technics MKII with A&H xone23 and soundcraft EPM8
Recordings with (mainly) AKG P120, SM58 and EPM8

Copeau
Established Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 1:36 pm

Re: Roland UA-55

Post by Copeau »

...
To answer my own question, I found a status "doesn't work" on http://wiki.linuxaudio.org/wiki/hardware_support (seems to be up to date)...
--- Copeau ---
KXStudio
Mix using Technics MKII with A&H xone23 and soundcraft EPM8
Recordings with (mainly) AKG P120, SM58 and EPM8

bimole
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 11:09 pm

Re: Roland UA-55

Post by bimole »

Hi all,

I'm a QUAD CAPTURE user and it was working until the last week. A few updates later and it does not work anymore :x ...
It is listed in lsusb and appears in /proc/asound/cards :
cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [HDMI ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel HDMI
HDA Intel HDMI at 0xc0810000 irq 51
1 [PCH ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
HDA Intel PCH at 0xc0814000 irq 50
2 [QUADCAPTURE ]: USB-Audio - QUAD-CAPTURE
Roland QUAD-CAPTURE at usb-0000:00:14.0-1, high speed

but in alsamixer it says "this sound device does not have any controls".
It's incredibly frustrating! :cry:

Any help would be strongly appreciated!

JBF

BenjaminP_87
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 5:50 pm

Re: Roland UA-55

Post by BenjaminP_87 »

Hi all,

I recently faced the same problem (Quad Capture recognized by the Linux OS but no sound output). Here is the procedure I followed to solve it :
- boot on Windows
- turn the hardware output knob to maximum
- make sure the sampling frequency is set to 44100 Hz
- unplug the device
- restart on Linux

maruru
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 6:33 pm

Re: Roland UA-55

Post by maruru »

BenjaminP_87 wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 6:00 pm
- boot on Windows
- make sure the sampling frequency is set to 44100 Hz
- restart on Linux
Thanks! I confirm these three steps are enough to get inputs working. I tried other sampling rates, no avail. Sending rays of frustration to Roland.

maruru
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 6:33 pm

Re: Roland UA-55

Post by maruru »

I checked the source code of Linux Kernel. The comment for Roland Quad/Octo-capture specifically mentions that /* only 44.1 kHz works at the moment */. See https://github.com/torvalds/linux/blob/ ... le.h#L1670. The commit was made 7 years ago and obviously nothing has changed since that time. The commit message mentions the reason for this limitation:
The Roland Quad/Octo-Capture devices use some unknown vendor-specific
mechanism to switch sample rates (and to manage other controls). To
prevent the driver from attempting to use any other than the default
44.1 kHz sample rate, use quirks to hide the other alternate settings.

Post Reply