XML question regarding midimaps

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz, muldjord, deva

ontologist
Established Member

XML question regarding midimaps

Post by ontologist »

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to DrumGizmo, and I've just started getting into XML in order to construct my own kit however, I have a question: is there any way to map a single MIDI note number to more than one 'instrument'?

If not, is there any possibility that such a feature could be implemented in an update?

Any help finding a way to achieve this would be much appreciated.
deva
Established Member

Re: XML question regarding midimaps

Post by deva »

At the moment only one instrument is activated by a note, but as such I see no reason why it couldn't be made to activate any number of instruments.
I will add it to the roadmap :-)
JamesPeters
Established Member

Post by JamesPeters »

You can currently accomplish something like this by setting up the instrument XML file differently. The "sample name" just needs to consist of multiple source audio files. You can combine multiple source audio files into one "sample name". The "sample name" doesn't need to be made of a single multichannel WAV file (even though all DrumGizmo kits that I've noticed seem to be made that way).

Here's an example of a "normal" DrumGizmo instrument XML that uses a single 5-channel WAV file (named cowbell_a_01.wav):

Code: Select all

<sample name="cowbell_a_01" power="1">
    <audiofile channel="COW" file="samples/cowbell_a_01.wav" filechannel="1"/>
    <audiofile channel="COW_OH_L" file="samples/cowbell_a_01.wav" filechannel="2"/>
    <audiofile channel="COW_OH_R" file="samples/cowbell_a_01.wav" filechannel="3"/>
    <audiofile channel="COW_ROOM_L" file="samples/cowbell_a_01.wav" filechannel="4"/>
    <audiofile channel="COW_ROOM_R" file="samples/cowbell_a_01.wav" filechannel="5"/>
  </sample>
  (etc.)