DrumGizmo 0.9.16 Released!

DrumGizmo development and support forum.
http://drumgizmo.org/

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA, Glocke, deva, muldjord

User avatar
deva
Established Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:15 am
Contact:

DrumGizmo 0.9.16 Released!

Postby deva » Wed Aug 15, 2018 3:07 pm

DrumGizmo 0.9.16 Released!

DrumGizmo is an open source, multichannel, multilayered, cross-platform
drum plugin and stand-alone application. It enables you to compose drums
in midi and mix them with a multichannel approach. It is comparable to
that of mixing a real drumkit that has been recorded with a multimic setup.

This is mainly a bugfix release. If you encountered timing issues when
using the humanizer features of 0.9.15, this is the release to get. It
also optimizes the resampling and a bunch of other stuff. For the full
list of changes, check the roadmap for 0.9.16 [1].

And now, without further ado, go grab 0.9.16 [2]!!!

[1]: https://www.drumgizmo.org/wiki/doku.php ... rsion_0916
[2]: http://www.drumgizmo.org/wiki/doku.php? ... _drumgizmo

User avatar
AlexTheBassist
Established Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 3:44 am
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: DrumGizmo 0.9.16 Released!

Postby AlexTheBassist » Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:48 pm

Just updated from KXStudio repos. Didn't check new timing features yet, but I've got a question about CPU consumption instead. I tried tons of JACK settings, but DrumGizmo is still unusable even with buffers as big as 128 samples. It eats up about half of Pentium G 4620's computational power, and it would be still acceptable if it consumed a stable amount of CPU. Instead, it fluctuates and causes xruns in a project with little processing and only two instances of Guitarix and IR.lv2. Removing convolvers or switching off all the processing helps only a little, CPU consumption still fluctuates up to almost 90% with DrumGizmo as the only enabled plugin. Also, there's another problem with looping in Ardour: after some loop iterations, DrumGizmo starts to throw up with thousands of overruns, forgetting to play almost all notes it's being supplied with. Correct behavior restores after restarting the instance or reopening a project. All other plugins seem to behave correctly, though I didn't really stress test them, as DrumGizmo is almost the only MIDI plugin I use in my workflow. I think both problems are caused by the same bug.

I can provide every additional info (hardware, OS, UEFI settings etc) you could need. PM me to get my email if you need any details.
Being creative does not imply being lazy, stupid, or illiterate.

Working in Harrison Mixbus and Ardour on KDE Neon + KXStudio.

User avatar
AlexTheBassist
Established Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 3:44 am
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: DrumGizmo 0.9.16 Released!

Postby AlexTheBassist » Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:27 pm

falkTX wrote:note that looped regions with midi data is currently buggy in ardour


Yes, but still it looks like a performance issue. Synths and samplers that don't have such bugs perform well after Ardour devs introduced a first fix on that.
Being creative does not imply being lazy, stupid, or illiterate.

Working in Harrison Mixbus and Ardour on KDE Neon + KXStudio.

User avatar
deva
Established Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:15 am
Contact:

Re: DrumGizmo 0.9.16 Released!

Postby deva » Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:33 pm

Which samplerate are you running jack in? And which drumkit are you using?
If you use a different session samplerate than that of the drumkit, does it change anything if you disable the resampling by unchecking the button in the UI?

User avatar
AlexTheBassist
Established Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 3:44 am
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: DrumGizmo 0.9.16 Released!

Postby AlexTheBassist » Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:15 pm

deva wrote:Which samplerate are you running jack in?

48000 Hz, the kit I use the most is CrocellKit which is sampled at 48000 Hz also.
deva wrote:does it change anything if you disable the resampling by unchecking the button in the UI?

No, and if I try using a resampler, I can't even operate Ardour. It eats up all available resources and produces enormous amounts of xruns, UI response becomes something like 1-2 sec after a click or hotkey press.
Being creative does not imply being lazy, stupid, or illiterate.

Working in Harrison Mixbus and Ardour on KDE Neon + KXStudio.

User avatar
deva
Established Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:15 am
Contact:

Re: DrumGizmo 0.9.16 Released!

Postby deva » Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:28 pm

Do you by any chance have enough RAM to load in the entire kit and not use the disk cache?

User avatar
AlexTheBassist
Established Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 3:44 am
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: DrumGizmo 0.9.16 Released!

Postby AlexTheBassist » Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:36 pm

deva wrote:Do you by any chance have enough RAM to load in the entire kit and not use the disk cache?

Probably yes, but it's hard to use my PC with complete CrocellKit loaded. Seconds before it's about to finish loading the kit my system starts swapping insanely, like I asked it to load that huge drumkit twice. However, I'll try to play with swappiness parameter and report if anything has changed or not.
Being creative does not imply being lazy, stupid, or illiterate.

Working in Harrison Mixbus and Ardour on KDE Neon + KXStudio.

User avatar
AlexTheBassist
Established Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 3:44 am
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: DrumGizmo 0.9.16 Released!

Postby AlexTheBassist » Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:58 pm

deva wrote:Do you by any chance have enough RAM to load in the entire kit and not use the disk cache?

I tried everything I can, but with no success. DrumGizmo eats up all of my 8 Gb of RAM, and then system heavily swaps.
Being creative does not imply being lazy, stupid, or illiterate.

Working in Harrison Mixbus and Ardour on KDE Neon + KXStudio.

User avatar
deva
Established Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:15 am
Contact:

Re: DrumGizmo 0.9.16 Released!

Postby deva » Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:01 pm

You could try loading the small variant of the kit? That should use up a lot less memory.

User avatar
AlexTheBassist
Established Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 3:44 am
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: DrumGizmo 0.9.16 Released!

Postby AlexTheBassist » Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:10 pm

deva wrote:You could try loading the small variant of the kit?

Yes I could, but how does that help me in production? I don't wanna use a castrated version of this kit, otherwise I'd stick with something else more lightweight by default.
Being creative does not imply being lazy, stupid, or illiterate.

Working in Harrison Mixbus and Ardour on KDE Neon + KXStudio.

User avatar
deva
Established Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:15 am
Contact:

Re: DrumGizmo 0.9.16 Released!

Postby deva » Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:18 pm

I'm trying to figure out where the CPU usage comes from.

User avatar
AlexTheBassist
Established Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 3:44 am
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: DrumGizmo 0.9.16 Released!

Postby AlexTheBassist » Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:34 pm

deva wrote:I'm trying to figure out where the CPU usage comes from.

Seems that it doesn't come from disk streaming, as CPU load didn't change even with “tiny” variant of the kit, varying from 40-ish to full 100%. But even with tiniest XML the kit consumes a lot of memory. This screenshot is taken after I rebooted, launched Ardour, and changed the XML to a tiny one. Nothing else was launched, besides Cadence, standard KDE desktop and Latte Dock.
(the image is clickable)
Image

Oh, and I forgot. The CPU governor is always in performance mode.
Being creative does not imply being lazy, stupid, or illiterate.

Working in Harrison Mixbus and Ardour on KDE Neon + KXStudio.

User avatar
deva
Established Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:15 am
Contact:

Re: DrumGizmo 0.9.16 Released!

Postby deva » Fri Aug 17, 2018 5:18 pm

Does the 0.9.15 use similarly amounts of CPU?

User avatar
deva
Established Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:15 am
Contact:

Re: DrumGizmo 0.9.16 Released!

Postby deva » Fri Aug 17, 2018 6:33 pm

I just tried some experiments myself at 128 sample buffer size and my CPU usage is quite high as well... but even so without DrumGizmo in the session at all...
I tried setting up a session with DrumGizmo, note the CPU usage and then remove the plugin from the project and observered the CPU usage dropping only marginally.

User avatar
AlexTheBassist
Established Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 3:44 am
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: DrumGizmo 0.9.16 Released!

Postby AlexTheBassist » Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:14 am

deva wrote:I just tried some experiments myself at 128 sample buffer size and my CPU usage is quite high as well...

This means your JACK server is configured improperly. On my CPU, an empty Ardour project takes up not more than 5-6% of CPU. As I know from DrumGizmo IRC talks, your PC is much more powerful than mine.
deva wrote:I tried setting up a session with DrumGizmo, note the CPU usage and then remove the plugin from the project and observered the CPU usage dropping only marginally

This one means that DrumGizmo works well on your machine. Before 0.9.15, I never have had such performance problems, only those related to resampler, which were fixed a long ago. Do you have any idea on how to trace the problem? I tried to launch it in Carla to make sure Ardour doesn't interfere, but got a crash when tried to load a drumkit XML.
Being creative does not imply being lazy, stupid, or illiterate.

Working in Harrison Mixbus and Ardour on KDE Neon + KXStudio.


Return to “DrumGizmo”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests