bitKlavier

Link to good samples/soundfonts at http://wiki.linuxaudio.org/wiki/free_audio_data

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

diedeno
Established Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 7:05 am
Been thanked: 4 times

bitKlavier

Post by diedeno »

Hi guys

Anybody tried this?
https://github.com/Princeton-CDH/bitKlavier
https://bitklavier.com/
I tried but i cannot get it compiled for Linux.
Kott
Established Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: bitKlavier

Post by Kott »

Hi,

Yes it needs little patching for build under Linux.
User avatar
davephillips
Established Member
Posts: 592
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:05 pm
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: bitKlavier

Post by davephillips »

Kott wrote: Sun May 17, 2020 10:57 am ... it needs little patching for build under Linux.
Have you been able to build it ? I've hit an error here:

Code: Select all

Compiling BKSTK.cpp
In file included from ../../Source/BKSTK.h:14:0,
                 from ../../Source/BKSTK.cpp:11:
../../Source/BKUtilities.h: In function ‘juce::PopupMenu getNewItemMenu(juce::LookAndFeel*)’:
../../Source/BKUtilities.h:110:43: error: ‘gKeymapShortcut’ was not declared in this scope
     newMenu.addItem(KEYMAP_ID, "Keymap" + gKeymapShortcut);
                                           ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
../../Source/BKUtilities.h:111:43: error: ‘gDirectShortcut’ was not declared in this scope
     newMenu.addItem(DIRECT_ID, "Direct" + gDirectShortcut);
                                           ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Any suggestions ?

Best,

dp
Kott
Established Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: bitKlavier

Post by Kott »

yes

in bk_JUCE/bitKlavier/Source/GraphicsConstants.h
change
#elif JUCE_WINDOWS
to
#elif JUCE_WINDOWS || JUCE_LINUX
User avatar
davephillips
Established Member
Posts: 592
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:05 pm
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: bitKlavier

Post by davephillips »

davephillips wrote: Sun May 17, 2020 11:34 am
Kott wrote: Sun May 17, 2020 10:57 am ... it needs little patching for build under Linux.
Have you been able to build it ? I've hit an error here:
...
Never mind, I found how to fix it. The required definitions are all #ifdef'd for Mac or Windows, I simply added an #else directive (in BKUtilities.h) as a fall-through and copied the Windows code. The build is proceeding, I'll let you know if I get through it. :)

Best,

dp
User avatar
davephillips
Established Member
Posts: 592
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:05 pm
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: bitKlavier

Post by davephillips »

Kott wrote: Sun May 17, 2020 11:53 am yes

in bk_JUCE/bitKlavier/Source/GraphicsConstants.h
change
#elif JUCE_WINDOWS
to
#elif JUCE_WINDOWS || JUCE_LINUX
Basically the same as what I did. I wasn't aware that JUCE_LINUX would work, that's much nicer.

I've now hit a snag at the link stage:

Code: Select all

Linking bitKlavier - Shared Code
Linking bitKlavier - VST
build/bitKlavier.a(SFZero_c449ec90.o): In function `sfzero::Sound::addError(juce::String const&)':
/home/dlphilp/src/bitKlavier/bk_JUCE/bitKlavier/Builds/LinuxMakefile/../../Source/SFZero/sfzero/SFZSound.cpp:62: multiple definition of `sfzero::Sound::addError(juce::String const&)'
build/bitKlavier.a(SFZSound_8b1f49f1.o):/home/dlphilp/src/bitKlavier/bk_JUCE/bitKlavier/Builds/LinuxMakefile/../../Source/SFZero/sfzero/SFZSound.cpp:62: first defined here
...
I'll look into a fix, but please advise if you've resolved this issue as well.

Thanks !

Best,

dp
Kott
Established Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: bitKlavier

Post by Kott »

Try to turn off compiling of SFZero.cpp in bitKlavier.jucer. Either in Projucer or just find that line and change to name="SFZero.cpp" compile="0"
Kott
Established Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: bitKlavier

Post by Kott »

when you get it, download the gallery http://manyarrowsmusic.com/bitKlavier/b ... ources.zip
I'm confused about how useful that app but it's definitely fun :)
User avatar
raboof
Established Member
Posts: 1855
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:58 am
Location: Deventer, NL
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 74 times
Contact:

Re: bitKlavier

Post by raboof »

It would be cool if it could be built without requiring Projucer - that may not be as impossible as it sounds, https://github.com/OpenShot/libopenshot-audio seems to have it working
Kott
Established Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: bitKlavier

Post by Kott »

yes it possible but requires amount of work
there is helper that convert .jucer to cmake project https://frut.readthedocs.io

if someone wants there rpms https://software.opensuse.org//download ... bitKlavier
I think binaries for Leap should work on other distros
User avatar
raboof
Established Member
Posts: 1855
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:58 am
Location: Deventer, NL
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 74 times
Contact:

Re: bitKlavier

Post by raboof »

Kott wrote: Sun May 17, 2020 10:47 pm there is helper that convert .jucer to cmake project https://frut.readthedocs.io
Cool, thanks for the link, I should try that some time!
Kott
Established Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: bitKlavier

Post by Kott »

raboof wrote: Mon May 18, 2020 8:15 am
Kott wrote: Sun May 17, 2020 10:47 pm there is helper that convert .jucer to cmake project https://frut.readthedocs.io
Cool, thanks for the link, I should try that some time!
example )
https://github.com/jatinchowdhury18/MasterEars
diedeno
Established Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 7:05 am
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: bitKlavier

Post by diedeno »

Hi Kott

Big thank you for the binary. It''s running fine on my ubuntu laptop.
Any chance to have a lv2 or vst2?

Thank you very much.
Kott
Established Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: bitKlavier

Post by Kott »

Hi,

yeah, vst2 is in the same repo https://software.opensuse.org//download ... bitKlavier
but lv2 has strange error on generating ttl's, so not sure for now
diedeno
Established Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 7:05 am
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: bitKlavier

Post by diedeno »

Thank you!
Post Reply