LMMS and Linux Sampler ?

Link to good samples/soundfonts at http://wiki.linuxaudio.org/wiki/free_audio_data

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Gps
Established Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 3:09 pm

LMMS and Linux Sampler ?

Postby Gps » Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:22 pm

I am looking for a sampler , I can use in LMMS.

Does something like this exist?

I have installed Linux sampler, but that does not seem to have a gui, so I installed a qt frontend.
This front end might miss features, but I cant find fantasia nor jsampler for suse leap.

I am totally lost after this. Looked at the linux sampler forum, but that seems dead, besides a shitload of spam for jersey ?

Is there a manual ? Or some page / vid that explains how to use it in a daw ?

I am getting a headache. If I have to compile it myself I am willing to give it a go, but first need to understand what I am doing, or need to do.

rghvdberg
Established Member
Posts: 772
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 7:11 am

Re: LMMS and Linux Sampler ?

Postby rghvdberg » Fri Jun 15, 2018 1:58 pm

Lmms can only load windows vst as plugins. Yes...
This will probably be fixed in 1.3.
1.2 is around the corner btw

However, all hope is not lost. Lmms can use carla and you can load any Linux plugin in carla. So, it's a nice work around.

IIRC carla has it's (her?) own implementation of Linux sampler. Should just work.

Gps
Established Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: LMMS and Linux Sampler ?

Postby Gps » Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:42 pm

Thank you guys, very usefull info.

So I can't do it through vestige, that already makes things allot more clear to me.

I have RC 5, there is since a few days an RC 6.

Lets have a look at Carla again :)

Gps
Established Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: LMMS and Linux Sampler ?

Postby Gps » Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:46 pm

42low wrote:
rghvdberg wrote:Lmms can only load windows vst as plugins. Yes...
This will probably be fixed in 1.3.


Huh? How come i have lot's off ladspa plugins in my LMMS then? Lot's off good ladspa packs available. As far as i know i have no vst plugins on my computer.
Version 1.1.3 here.

And i create in LMMS, but eventually edit and master in ardour. :wink:



How do you get you're lmms tacks in ardour ?

I have been wondering about this more then ones, because ardour can use the newer calf plugins, to name one thing. LV2 from the top of my head.
LMMS has older calf plugins, which are a different format.

AyeLinux
Established Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 8:27 pm
Location: California, US

Re: LMMS and Linux Sampler ?

Postby AyeLinux » Fri Jun 15, 2018 10:35 pm

42low wrote:... i have lot's off ladspa plugins in my LMMS...

And i create in LMMS, but eventually edit and master in ardour. :wink:


I just removed LMMS from my system. Ubuntu attaches Calf LADSPA to LMMS in a dependency relationship that doesn't seem to make sense (it seems that calf-ladspa pulls in LMMS, rather than the other way around).

I read somewhere (maybe in another thread here, a while ago) that Calf LADSPA interferes with Calf latest LV2, causing crashes (in Ardour, at least). Before the change, I couldn't load. a Calf plugin into Ardour without an immediate crash. Now, it seems to be OK.

(I've never used LMMS, being more of an engineer/producer than a composer/performer.)
All in favor of Linux, say 'aye.'

Gps
Established Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: LMMS and Linux Sampler ?

Postby Gps » Sat Jun 16, 2018 10:51 am

Maybe it s the lack of documentation for the plugins.

I have been trying to side chain, and that was far from easy to get it going. Needed allot of fiddling.
Last edited by Gps on Tue Jun 19, 2018 11:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
lilith
Established Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 11:41 pm
Location: bLACK fOREST
Contact:

Re: LMMS and Linux Sampler ?

Postby lilith » Sat Jun 16, 2018 12:04 pm

42low wrote:
Gps wrote:How do you get you're lmms tacks in ardour ?


In the menu above:
Project -> export tracks

AyeLinux wrote:I read somewhere (maybe in another thread here, a while ago) that Calf LADSPA interferes with Calf latest LV2, causing crashes (in Ardour, at least).

I've read that too. But i still don't understand it.
I love the Calf plugins and use them with pleasure. Only had some individual calf-plugins which didn't work proper and those i've deleted. But the rest, the big majority simply work great. Couldn't and wouldn't do without them.
I have no clue at all why many complain about that but for me they work great?? Still don't understand. But i love them.


Can you tell which ones you found to be unstable?

See also the comment from Paul Davis here: http://tracker.ardour.org/view.php?id=7629

Since I don't use any Calf plugins Ardour crashes much less.
https://soundcloud.com/lilith_93
_____________________________
Debian 9 (XFCE) & KXStudio repos

rghvdberg
Established Member
Posts: 772
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 7:11 am

Re: LMMS and Linux Sampler ?

Postby rghvdberg » Sat Jun 16, 2018 6:37 pm

Well, indeed lmms can load ladspa plugins.
But not lv2 and native vst.
And I like bling. Ladspa has no bling!

Feel free to start a flame war on how I should mix with my ears and not my eyes :lol:


Return to “Samplers & samples”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest