Linuxsampler playback has high jitter

Link to good samples/soundfonts at http://wiki.linuxaudio.org/wiki/free_audio_data

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

voodoosound
Established Member

Linuxsampler playback has high jitter

Post by voodoosound »

Hi *,

I am new to linuxsampler. I use Linux Mint 18 with preempt kernel on the host system and a VirtualBox VM, Mint 18 generic kernel, to run Sequencer and Sampler. I compiled linuxsampler from source together with qsampler. I use muse as MIDI sequencer, all connected via Jack.

I recorded my own bass guitar SFZ library, with 4 different velocities over 4 octaves, starting with B1.
Everythings working fine so far. Sequencer notes trigger the correct samples and they are played back.

Now I encountered an unpleasent behavior and I wanted to ask for some help to overcome this.

When one note is played very fast ( e.g. 32th) twice in a row, no sample is played.
Quickfix: 4 instrument channels in sequencer and sampler responding to different MIDI channels. The MIDI notes have the same fast onset, but are in different instrument channels with much later note off.
works...
At least the notes are played, but the playback has very high jitter/variation in exact playback time. Not only with fast notes.

My next step is to crop the samples more accurately.

Are there any other suggestions?
Perhapes some compile time options?

BR,
Ck
Michael Willis
Established Member

Re: Linuxsampler playback has high jitter

Post by Michael Willis »

I'm curious about what you are doing with virtual box, and if you have an idea of how much CPU it is using, or are you running mint with your audio software inside of the VM? Either way, it sounds like it's not ideal for a computer intended for audio production.

Second, do your fast midi notes overlap? I think that overlapping the same note can lead to unexpected behavior in some midi software, so you could try shortening the notes slightly to make sure that one ends before the next begins.