Looping

Link to good samples/soundfonts at http://wiki.linuxaudio.org/wiki/free_audio_data

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

j_e_f_f_g
Established Member

Looping

Post by j_e_f_f_g »

Qualitymix wrote:when creating the samples...whats the best way to enable continuous looping when the key is either held down or the sustain pedal is held?
Seriously, the best way is to have me do it for you. You need to have lots of experience in looping in order to know how to create seamless loops. (I've been doing this stuff for many years). It involves the following skills:

1) Being so accustomed to a graphical waveform display that you can quickly recognize/choose two points in the waveform with the most similiarity (ie, similiar slopes and freq content around those points).
2) Knowing how to use compression, filtering, tuning, and noise reduction to reduce discrepancies within the area between those 2 points (i.e. in the entire loop).
2) Knowing how to manually crossfade those 2 points.

Each of the above are acquired skills. And you must be good at all three.

I've never done a video tutorial before, but if I decide to do one, this would be my choice since you really need to watch how it's done to learn it. There's no way I can post a forum message that's going to be any practical help to you for learning how to loop samples.

Author of BackupBand at https://sourceforge.net/projects/backupband/files/
My fans show their support by mentioning my name in their signature.

rghvdberg
Established Member

Re: Looping

Post by rghvdberg »

j_e_f_f_g wrote: I've never done a video tutorial before, but if I decide to do one, this would be my choice since you really need to watch how it's done to learn it.
That would be great!

I've never been able to produce a decent loop :-/
Qualitymix
Established Member

Post by Qualitymix »

I understand that aspect of it. I'm not asking how to make a perfect sound. All I want to know is how to make it happen in the sfz file.
antiesen