How can a newb like myself get my midi piano working with Linux?

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

crystalvox1

How can a newb like myself get my midi piano working with Linux?

Post by crystalvox1 »

Hi there everyone. I really hope you all might be able to help a total newb out… I have always been on Windows, but my current situation has me on a Linux laptop, which I love and don’t really want to change back to Windows if I can keep from it.

I’m just a piano player/singer-songwriter who likes to record from home. I’m not a producer, I’m not a programmer. I’m pretty technologically challenged. So I will just say in all my shame that I will need explanations that ELI5. The "For Dummies" edition. My husband is a computer nerd, and he can help a little bit, but he’s not a music nerd, so its challenging for us to find solutions together.

ALL I want to be able to do is play piano and record midi piano along with my vocals. Currently I’m on Linux Mint. I have Ardour, which I have tried and I’m getting used to.

I have Ableton Live 9, but I hear this does not work on Linux… if I’m wrong, someone let me know. I would love to go back to it!

I also have Rosegarden, but whoa I don’t understand what I’m looking at there.

I’m set up with Jack, whatever that means (thanks hubby,) so I can record vocals and piano through the instrument cable in Ardour. But I seriously need midi, because I’m not on my beloved Roland either right now. I’m on an el cheapo Williams Legato III who’s onboard sound is reminiscent of a toy piano that’s been sitting in a lake for a few days. BTW, I have no idea how to use USB midi either, I’m used to the old 5 pin stuff. Plugging this keyboard directly into my laptop does absolutely nothing so far, so I assume there’s a bunch of settings or something that I need to deal with once I figure out what programs and plugins I’m supposed to be using.