Can Linux really handle all genres of music?

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

HeavyDevy-C

Can Linux really handle all genres of music?

Post by HeavyDevy-C »

I'm new to this and I'm a composer that comes from windows. I have my own YouTube channel and bandcamp, just started something, and now my music has been on hold because my windows blew up for the second time after my last factory reset 2-3 months ago. There's nothing wrong with my computer, it's windows. And I'm refusing to take anymore of this. Idk if it's windows 11 trying to get me to upgrade but I don't want windows 11, my computer is $2000, and I just want to compose. So I have no other option to look to Linux.

But so far I see there are still some things lacking in music production. Because when I research, I don't find good sounding orchestral instruments, and I especially don't find any world instruments. I do all genres of music, I love music, but I don't think Linux has stuff for all genres of music. It has a good metal guitar. I heard some good stuff in metal. Electronic I guess it's easy because I guess everyone loves making synths these days. I guess the reaper JS pack has me covered on the audio engineering side of things.

But my main problem is the orchestral instruments, the choir, and cultural instruments. For orchestral, I need sections split up, not full string combo. I mean 1st violins 2nd violins etc. And the choir is the one that really frustrates me because synth sounds in choir samples, just sound like an absolute disaster. I need realistic choirs like nucleus, preferably with vowels sounds at least. As close as it can get at least, but not synth sounding.

And of course, I literally know of no world or cultural instruments for Linux. So that is a huge problem as well. I need Celtic instruments, japanese instruments etc. On this, I guess I'm not too picky, because these are more soloed instruments, but I can find nothing.