Ardour + Calf Vinyl

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

Post Reply
MC78
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2020 10:01 pm

Ardour + Calf Vinyl

Post by MC78 »

Hi forum,
can you help me on this problem?!

Calf Vinyl(LV2) in Ardour (either on midi or audio track) stop sound after 2 seconds less or more.
I try to use the Automation for the "activation"; the button stays on but the sound stops.

Ardour plays with Alsa (qjack is installed but "off")
Linux Mint 20 Cinnamon v.4.6.6
Kernel 5.4.0-39-generic (not low-latency because this machine is for 3D graphics)

Thanks for support.

Baggypants
Established Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: Ardour + Calf Vinyl

Post by Baggypants »

Pretty sure if you want to use plugins then Ardour needs to use jack. I've never used in in ALSA mode but it feels like Ardour and the LV2 can't bind to the audio out at the same time.

rghvdberg
Established Member
Posts: 990
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 7:11 am

Re: Ardour + Calf Vinyl

Post by rghvdberg »

Baggypants wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 6:45 am
Pretty sure if you want to use plugins then Ardour needs to use jack. I've never used in in ALSA mode but it feels like Ardour and the LV2 can't bind to the audio out at the same time.
I'm 100% sure this is not true.

Baggypants
Established Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: Ardour + Calf Vinyl

Post by Baggypants »

rghvdberg wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 7:26 am
Baggypants wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 6:45 am
Pretty sure if you want to use plugins then Ardour needs to use jack. I've never used in in ALSA mode but it feels like Ardour and the LV2 can't bind to the audio out at the same time.
I'm 100% sure this is not true.
Champion.

Does it do this with other plugins?

rghvdberg
Established Member
Posts: 990
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 7:11 am

Re: Ardour + Calf Vinyl

Post by rghvdberg »

I tried with Calf Vinyl in Ardour both with jack and ALSA and everything worked fine.
Ardour 6 (official binaries) + Calf plugins from KX Studio.

But, anyway.
@MC78
I try to use the Automation for the "activation"; the button stays on but the sound stops.
I 'm not really sure what you mean here.
Screenshot would be very helpful.

Post Reply