Good compressor for mixbus

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

martibs
Established Member

Good compressor for mixbus

Post by martibs »

I'm quite new to dynamics processing, and I'm in the process of trying to learn compression. I find experimenting with different kinds of compressors on individual tracks to be challenging, but quite rewarding - just load up a compressor, mess about with the settings, and see whether it sounds ok or not. In the end there are many other parameters that influences the sound of a single instrument.

However, on the mixbus I struggle more. It's very easy to mess up the sound, and I'm also often not sure what qualities the compressor is supposed to add to the mix. When studying online guides, there are all these references to different types of compressors, and boutique plugins are often emulators of vintage gear. The Linux compatible plugins doesn't come with these references.

I feel like it would be easier to learn and experiment if I knew more what to expect from the compressor. Can anyone recommend a good Linux-native compressor plugin for use on the mixbus? And maybe some words on what "kind" of compression the algorithm is based on?
tavasti
Established Member

Re: Good compressor for mixbus

Post by tavasti »

How Mixbus is different from other DAWs?

Linux veteran & Novice musician

Latest track: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ycVrgGtrBmM

fsciarra62
Established Member

Post by fsciarra62 »

I think you should try to use Mixbus32C for a mastering to understand how it sounds different.
There is more “air”, more sparkling. I use Ardour and Bitwig and for me there is a non neglectible difference.

A good compressor I use with really good results is Presswerk by U-He. Actually I own all U-He plugins and I find then just fantastic. They are linux Native vst2 and Vst3 (some vst3 are under revision like uhbik).

Hope this helps,

Fabrizio
sysrqer
Established Member

Post by sysrqer »