odin2

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

Openmastering
Established Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:27 am
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: odin2

Post by Openmastering »

Just anywhere you want.
I created a .odin hidden folder where I store the presets. Some of them are really good, some are quite basic or boring though. Sound design is much more than stacking oscillators and slapping a filter on them.
The dev said he'll organize and change the volume of them before release and it's a brilliant idea.
Audio mastering for open minds: https://openmastering.studio
I master music using only free/libre softwares and DIY hardware.
Contact me for a free mastering sample.

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok

Re: odin2

Post by Kott »

GMaq wrote:
Mon Jun 15, 2020 11:08 pm
Hi,

Stupid synth-illiterate question....

Where do y'all keep your odin presets, I downloaded the presets file but I'm not sure where I should put them... in the home folder or '.vst' folder??
Hi,

It can be placed anywhere, just open that folder from presets menu.

User avatar
GMaq
Established Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: odin2

Post by GMaq »

Thanks gents! *tips hat

Frotron
Established Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 12:55 pm

Re: odin2

Post by Frotron »

Hi Guys,

As stated above, the linux version is VST2 rather than VST3. Now I want to ask the question:

How much would the linux community be hurt if it was switches to VST3? In other words, are there lots of DAWs on linux which depend on stuff being VST2 or LV2 (the latter of which is not going to happen, sadly)?

I dont have an overview over the linux audio world, but would very much like to support the community as best as possible!

User avatar
lilith
Established Member
Posts: 1445
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 11:41 pm
Location: bLACK fOREST
Contact:

Re: odin2

Post by lilith »

Bitwig and Reaper support Vst3
Renoise will in the near future, as well as Ardour I think.
Not sure about Qtractor and the rest.

User avatar
skei
Established Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 4:24 pm
Contact:

Re: odin2

Post by skei »

qtractor and carla supports vst3
and tracktion/waveform too, i think?

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok

Re: odin2

Post by Kott »

skei wrote:
Fri Sep 11, 2020 9:24 pm
and tracktion/waveform too, i think?
nope, no vst3 in tracktion waveform and renoise vst only too

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok

Re: odin2

Post by Kott »

Frotron wrote:
Fri Sep 11, 2020 1:00 pm
LV2 (the latter of which is not going to happen, sadly)
I can help with that!

Frotron
Established Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 12:55 pm

Re: odin2

Post by Frotron »

Thanks for the answers guys!
Kott wrote:
Sat Sep 12, 2020 6:42 am
Frotron wrote:
Fri Sep 11, 2020 1:00 pm
LV2 (the latter of which is not going to happen, sadly)
I can help with that!
Ok this would be beyond awesome as it solves the VST2 vs VST3 problem and also puts my out of the position I am in right now: Even posting the question above feels rather shady for reasons which may or may not be known.

I'm taking final precautions right now before open sourcing the entire project under GPL v3 in the not so distant future. If you give me your gitlab handle I'll add you to the project right now.

PM me so we can work out the details :D

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok

Re: odin2

Post by Kott »

PMd

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok

Re: odin2

Post by Kott »

Kott wrote:
Sat Sep 12, 2020 6:41 am
skei wrote:
Fri Sep 11, 2020 9:24 pm
and tracktion/waveform too, i think?
nope, no vst3 in tracktion waveform and renoise vst only too
in recent betas Waveform got VST3

Frotron
Established Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 12:55 pm

Re: odin2

Post by Frotron »

Hello fellow penguins with keytars,

Version 2.2.3 beta was just released, which brings VST3 and LV2 and removes VST2.

Please check out the details on KVR and make sure you read the important notice for linux users!

I haven't had a ton of time to test the LV2 version, so if you find any problems, please let me know!

Frotron
Established Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 12:55 pm

Re: odin2

Post by Frotron »

And of course the biggest thanks to @Kott , who made the LV2 version possible in the first place :D

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok

Re: odin2

Post by Kott »

I'm glad that I've took a part.
LV2 version feedback is welcome.

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1526
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: odin2

Post by glowrak guy »

edit: I got Odin2 lv2 loaded in qtractor, and found the obvious load button.
The win vst3 has a Preset Libs button above the mod-matrix, and I was
too daft and dizzy to put 2 +2 together :(

I saw a youtube video of an older Odin version that had preset loader controls
in the upper left of the gui. Might have been a windows version in Studio One.
Is that an easy possibility to add for the lv2 version? Thanks for making the port
so quickly! I assume that takes some serious coding skillz 8)
Cheers

Post Reply