Carla in a Reproduction Environment

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

rhollan
Established Member

Carla in a Reproduction Environment

Post by rhollan »

Disclaimer: I am not a musician, though I very much appreciate that art form.

My interest in Carla as a plugin host stems from a non-production application. It most closely might resemble live performance, as it is geared toward sound reproduction, but in a purely playback scenario: I want to host Windows-based VST plugins for bass management and Dirac Live processing for 7.1 and stereo audio for use in a home theatre / stereo listening environment.

I currently have an odd mish-mash of equipment to do this, forgoing the traditional "kitchen sink" A/V preamp with features I don't want or need at a price I'd rather not pay, and lacking the flexibility I want. I am taking an HDMI signal from an "audio only" HDMI 1.4 port on a 4k bluray player (basically, black video and 7.1 LPCM audio, decoded in the player), running it through a miniDSP nanoAVR for bass management, then a nanoAVR DL for Dirac Live room correction, through an HDTV supply HDMI to SDI converter (that strips HDCP, shhhh!) and deembedding 48 kHz LPCM audio using a Blackmagic SDI to audio deembedder to give me four sets of two channel audio via AES/EBU. This drives the DAC portion of an old Lucid ADA 8824 AD/DA 8 channel converter, and four amps (Crown XLS 1502 for front left and right, Crown XLS 1002 for side surrounds, Crown XLS 1002 for read surrounds, and an Outlaw Audio M-2200 for center), and two Klipsch 12" subs for LFE, and redirected LF. Main speakers are Bohlender-Graebner Radia 520i fronts, 220i center, and PD6-LCRi surrounds.