Installing Komplete / Native Access

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

saint
Established Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 2:01 am

Installing Komplete / Native Access

Postby saint » Thu May 16, 2019 2:03 am

Hi everyone!

I legally have Komplete 8, and have it installed on my Mac through the Native Access application. I followed some instructions I found here regarding getting it to install on Linux, and was able to install and get it to run (using wine-rt) - however I can't seem to login to my Native Access account. The login button doesn't work at all. I set wine to use Windows 10. Is there anything else that I need to do? Also, will I be able to install products, like Kontakt and Massive, through Native Access via wine? I don't know how else to get the installers for it. Thanks!

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1380
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: Installing Komplete / Native Access

Postby glowrak guy » Thu May 16, 2019 8:25 pm

Welcome to the forum! I paste this here, as some of it should prove helpful,
though the wording may seem slightly off kilter.

Here's a refresher of steps to install Native Instruments products
in linux, that arive as .iso files, uncovered by Reaper users
osxmidi, and Jack Winter (another K8 owner),
posts here sometimes, often in the Reaper-linux forum, among other places.

( https://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=52 )

These steps assume using wine-staging from wineHQ, and windows Reaper in that wine
(most plugins can then be wrapped in linvst for use in various linux daws)

Let's say you want to use Native Access in linux
to try and install a Native Instruments product like Phasis.iso

Launch Native Access like this:

wine /home/you/.wine/drive_c/"Program Files/Native Instruments/Native Access/Native Access.exe"

(note the quotes used to 'capture' paths that include spaces!
and that it's all on one command-line) )

As Native Access re-downloads Phasis, :dog: it stops before completion
with some error. :dog: :dog: The download itself is fine :hihi: so look for
the product's .iso file in

/home/you/.wine/drive_c/Users/you/Downloads/Phasis.iso

As root or sudo, make a folder in which to mount the iso image,
I chose /media/cdrom

issue this command to mount the .iso file:

sudo mount -t udf /home/you/.wine/drive_c/Users/you/Downloads/Phasis.iso -o unhide /media/cdrom

(the above is all on one command line, not two separate commands,
as will be the example below))

Now browse to that folder, /media/cdrom and find the installer.exe,
and run the installer with command:

wine path-to-name-of.exe

For an installer with spaces in it's title, look at this example,
again, noting the path contains spaces requires surrounding " quotes " :

sudo mount -t udf /home/you/.wine/drive_c/Users/you/Downloads/"Reaktor Spark R2.2.iso" -o unhide /media/cdrom

use commands

cd /media/cdrom followed by

ls

to list the contents, which will include the installer.exe Then command:

wine "Reaktor Spark R2.2.exe"

Soon your product is installed, and it's time for registration.
Back to Native Access, where you can use the 'Add a Serial Number'
dialog for each product you own, a simple cut/paste, with success verified
in a few moments of internet speed.

edit: what if your installer title looks like this? :

wine /media/cdrom/Razor%201.7.0%20Setup%20PC.exe

You'll want to edit out the instances of %20 (some weird placeholder? )

and replace each one with a space, and then quote the path containg spaces:

wine /media/cdrom/"Razor 1.7.0 Setup PC.exe"

also, between installs, or when finished, use this command to
clear out un-needed files:

sudo umount /media/cdrom

(and that's not unmount, but umount, no typo, just nix shorthan :wink: )

end-edit

When you try to install Native Access itself, what if you discover
the proverbial chicken and egg are slow-dancing, rather than
installing your software? You might have to copy
over the related Native Access folders from a windows partition,
you might need to install some wine 'over-rides', you might need
the latest version of wine-staging, rather than an older distro-version.

ubuntuuser
Established Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 9:46 am

Re: Installing Komplete / Native Access

Postby ubuntuuser » Fri May 17, 2019 1:20 pm

saint wrote:Hi everyone!

I legally have Komplete 8, and have it installed on my Mac through the Native Access application. I followed some instructions I found here regarding getting it to install on Linux, and was able to install and get it to run (using wine-rt) - however I can't seem to login to my Native Access account. The login button doesn't work at all. I set wine to use Windows 10. Is there anything else that I need to do? Also, will I be able to install products, like Kontakt and Massive, through Native Access via wine? I don't know how else to get the installers for it. Thanks!


I think that Native Access might need winbind for net access so you could try installing it if it's not installed.

sudo apt-get install winbind.

Also I don't know how up to date wine-rt is, the wine from WineHQ would be the up to date one (wine-stable, wine-staging etc).

saint
Established Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 2:01 am

Re: Installing Komplete / Native Access

Postby saint » Sat May 18, 2019 2:30 am

Thanks for the replies everyone. I've tried to run Native Access on a few different versions of wine, from 4.3 to 4.8-staging. I all get the same issue, which is that I can click the login button, but it hangs indefinitely (with a circle spinner) after I click so. I checked many times to make sure my login information is correct. The logs don't provide any sort of error message, and it uses 100% cpu while it hangs. Anyone know what else I can try? It seems like other people have gotten this to work, so I'm not sure where I'm going wrong. This is a clean install of LinuxStudio. I confirmed that wine could access the internet by running firefox through wine, it was able to connect to the internet. Thanks for the help!

saint
Established Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 16, 2019 2:01 am

Re: Installing Komplete / Native Access

Postby saint » Sat May 18, 2019 3:10 am

Scratch my previous reply, I got working! Kontakt successfully installed too! One question that I have. There does seem to be a lot of lag/latency, but I suspect that it is because of my running this in a VM (off an HDD). I plan on doing a proper install on an SSD, and just wanted to confirm certain things were working first. Could anyone chime in and say if there is additional latency due to running things from LinVST? Does this affect anything like plugin delay compensation? Thanks a lot once again!

Jack Winter
Established Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 3:52 pm

Re: Installing Komplete / Native Access

Postby Jack Winter » Sat May 18, 2019 6:58 am

It shouldn't add any latency. Due to switching between processes and needing to transfer data from one process to another, it will take longer to calculate the audio data though. This will increase the DSP load, so might mean that you have to use a bigger buffer size to avoid xruns. IMO using windows VSTs with LinVst is probably better done at higher buffer sizes but YMMV and all that.
Reaper/KDE/Archlinux. i7-2600k/16GB + i7-4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, WA273-EQ, 2 x WA-412, ADL-600, Tegeler TRC, etc 8) For REAPER on Linux information: https://wiki.cockos.com/wiki/index.php/REAPER_for_Linux


Return to “Plugins, Effects and Instruments”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests