Guitarix as a plugin?

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

mark swanson
Established Member

Guitarix as a plugin?

Post by mark swanson »

I am new to running my DAW (Tracktion Waveform) in Linux, I am using Ubuntu Studio 16.04. I am interested in Guitarix, but it will not run as a plug in on my system. Is there something I need to do to make that happen?
Is there a guide somewhere to using this cool looking app? I am starting at ground zero on this one. Thanks!
tramp
Established Member

Re: Guitarix as a plugin?

Post by tramp »

Hi, and welcome to linux! :)

Well, it is possible, but it requires some work to be done.
At first, you need carla, from the KxStudio repository, for the case you haven't already enabled the KxStudio repositories, check out here how to do it:
http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/Repositories

After enabled you need to install carla, as best just install all related carla packages.

Then, start carla and select from the top bar "add jack application". In the popup window insert as
Name: guitarix
Command : guitarix
set
Audio Inputs to 2 (this is needed because carla-rack could only load plugins with equal in/output ports)
enable "use previus client output buffer as input for next client"
and press ok.

Now you've loaded guitarix in carla. Next step is to export as LV2 plugin. In the Rack view, make a right click on the Guitarix Rack, select "export as LV2 plugin", give it a name and be done.
After that, you need to copy the newly created folder from (properly your home directory, to the hidden folder ~/.lv2.
When done you must rescan the plugins in Carla.
After all this you could start tracktion and insert Carla-RackFX, which is a vst-plugin(host). Then you could load guitarix inside Carla-RackFX as LV2 plugin with the "add Plugin" button.
Now you've Guitarix as plugin in Tracktion.

Here is the Ultimate Guide to Getting Started With Guitarix
On the road again.
finotti
Established Member

Post by finotti »