BespokeSynth - modular softsynth/graphical programming env./DAW

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: BespokeSynth - modular softsynth/graphical programming env./DAW - Linux build?

Post by Kott »

@davephillips and anyone who runs BespokeSynth.
Does VST loading work for you? I have weird problem: engine stops after adding any plugin, but overall app is still alive https://github.com/awwbees/BespokeSynth/issues/18

I rolled back to old commits (when VST supports began) and got no luck, seems like my setup is the case (gcc, glibc or what else).
User avatar
davephillips
Established Member
Posts: 592
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:05 pm
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: BespokeSynth - modular softsynth/graphical programming env./DAW - Linux build?

Post by davephillips »

Kott wrote: Fri Jun 19, 2020 12:27 pm @davephillips and anyone who runs BespokeSynth.
Does VST loading work for you? I have weird problem: engine stops after adding any plugin, but overall app is still alive https://github.com/awwbees/BespokeSynth/issues/18

I rolled back to old commits (when VST supports began) and got no luck, seems like my setup is the case (gcc, glibc or what else).
Sorry for the late reply on this matter, we've been entertaining grandchildren. :)

Yes, I did have some VSTs working with an older build. IIRC, I had it working on my laptop system but not on the desktop. The laptop died a while ago, and the recent Bespoke builds behave for me as they do for you re: VSTs. Bummer, it was kind of cool to have the capability. I ran some debug tests but couldn't find the sources for the error. I didn't work very hard at it, might be a good time to figure out the problem. Bespoke is otherwise working nicely here.

Best regards,

dp
Kott
Established Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: BespokeSynth - modular softsynth/graphical programming env./DAW - Linux build?

Post by Kott »

Thanks! this divides search sphere by two:)
Kott
Established Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: BespokeSynth - modular softsynth/graphical programming env./DAW - Linux build?

Post by Kott »

The project became more and more interesting: python scripting, fubbles https://twitter.com/awwbees/status/1294025917510168578 (check other recent posts).

Sadly, VST bug is still present while I found some workaround for it. Are there people with c++ skills? I'm kindly summon you for help :)
Kott
Established Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: BespokeSynth - modular softsynth/graphical programming env./DAW - Linux build?

Post by Kott »

VST bug is fixed (at least all works fine!) and more other bugfixes and improvements are coming almost everyday.
And I prepared a .deb packages for Ubuntu 20.04:

https://software.opensuse.org/package/bespokesynth-data
https://software.opensuse.org/package/bespokesynth-bin

It's very experimental (my first deb package) and requires python27 yet.

And there always openSUSE builds in https://software.opensuse.org/package/BespokeSynth https://software.opensuse.org/package/BespokeSynth-data
User avatar
sysrqer
Established Member
Posts: 2519
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:47 pm
Has thanked: 319 times
Been thanked: 148 times
Contact:

Re: BespokeSynth - modular softsynth/graphical programming env./DAW - Linux build?

Post by sysrqer »

How do I set the audio out? I don't know where it's going right now but I can't get any sound from it.
Kott
Established Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: BespokeSynth - modular softsynth/graphical programming env./DAW - Linux build?

Post by Kott »

Thank for trying.

First you need to copy /usr/share/BespokeSynth to ~./config so you can modify configs.

Edit .config/BespokeSynth/data/userprefs.json
It has lines with output and input devices set to "auto" and "none" (so it plays to some default ALSA device). Change device name according output of aplay -L
For me it looks like:

Code: Select all

aplay -L
...

default:CARD=Gina3G
    Gina3G, Gina3G
    Default Audio Device
sysdefault:CARD=Gina3G
    Gina3G, Gina3G
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=Gina3G,DEV=0 <-- This one is my audio
    Gina3G, Gina3G
    Front output / input
rear:CARD=Gina3G,DEV=0
    Gina3G, Gina3G
    Rear speakers
center_lfe:CARD=Gina3G,DEV=0
    Gina3G, Gina3G
    Center and Subwoofer speakers
...
.config/BespokeSynth/data/userprefs.json

Code: Select all

{
   "samplerate" : 48000,
   "buffersize" : 128,
   "audio_output_device" : "Gina3G, Gina3G; Front output / input",
   "audio_input_device" : "Gina3G, Gina3G; Front output / input",
   "height" : 1100,
   "width" : 1700,
   "layout" : "layouts/blank.json",
   "vstsearchdirs" : [ "/home/kv/.config/BespokeSynth/data/VST" ]
}
If you have keys add midicontroller instrument -> some synth like karplusstrong and connect it to the gain
And there couple examples in examples folder.
User avatar
sysrqer
Established Member
Posts: 2519
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:47 pm
Has thanked: 319 times
Been thanked: 148 times
Contact:

Re: BespokeSynth - modular softsynth/graphical programming env./DAW - Linux build?

Post by sysrqer »

Great, thanks Kott! Had a little play with it and I'm very impressed, what a gem.

I'm having some trouble with vst scanning, is there a way to blacklist vst which cause the scan to hang? Is that different to what you were experiencing?
Kott
Established Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: BespokeSynth - modular softsynth/graphical programming env./DAW - Linux build?

Post by Kott »

Did you see that any slider can have it's own LFO? :)
I'm having some trouble with vst scanning, is there a way to blacklist vst which cause the scan to hang? Is that different to what you were experiencing?
I don't remember hang during scan but crashes may happen. Failed to load plugins goes to the blacklist in .config/BespokeSynth/data/internal/found_vsts.xml at the bottom of file.
Anyway. I've made dir .config/BespokeSynth/data/VST/ and put in it symlinks of my everyday (or wanna try) plugins. This reduces the list in menu and scanning time.
Kott
Established Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: BespokeSynth - modular softsynth/graphical programming env./DAW - Linux build?

Post by Kott »

Slightly updated Debian build/install script. Now .deb builds should be up-to-day more often.
Kott
Established Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: BespokeSynth - modular softsynth/graphical programming env./DAW - Linux build?

Post by Kott »

openSUSE rpm builds are JUCE 6 based now, so you can use VST3 plugins in BespokeSynth.
Debian/Ubuntu builds depends on system juce-modules package yet.
Kott
Established Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: BespokeSynth - modular softsynth/graphical programming env./DAW - Linux build?

Post by Kott »

Important stability fixes and updates:
  • Basic preferences configure window.
  • More sophisticated youtube-dl support
  • Script editor hotkeys now works in Linux.
Note: python-jedi is needed for code highlight.

Ubuntu 20 (still JUCE 5.4.7 eg VST2 only): https://build.opensuse.org/package/show ... spokesynth
OpenSUSE https://build.opensuse.org/package/show ... spokeSynth https://build.opensuse.org/package/show ... spokeSynth
User avatar
davephillips
Established Member
Posts: 592
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:05 pm
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: BespokeSynth - modular softsynth/graphical programming env./DAW - Linux build?

Post by davephillips »

Kott wrote: Mon Mar 01, 2021 6:16 am Important stability fixes and updates:
...
Hey, thanks for keeping up on this one. I left off building it some months ago after some compile failures but I think I'll have another go at it today.

Best regards,

dp
User avatar
davephillips
Established Member
Posts: 592
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:05 pm
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: BespokeSynth - modular softsynth/graphical programming env./DAW - Linux build?

Post by davephillips »

@Kott I'm getting a build error when the compiler reaches Sample.cpp. I'll report it to the Issues but I wondered if you'd already encountered and solved the problem:

Code: Select all

../../Source/Sample.cpp:158:63: error: cannot convert ‘std::unique_ptr<juce::FileOutputStream>’ to ‘juce::FileOutputStream*’ in initialization
    FileOutputStream* outputTo = outputFile.createOutputStream();
                                                               ^
Any suggestions ?

Best regards,

dp
Kott
Established Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: BespokeSynth - modular softsynth/graphical programming env./DAW - Linux build?

Post by Kott »

@davephillips yes,

use juce-5.4.7 for building or apply this patch for building with recent juce 6.0.x: https://build.opensuse.org/package/view ... h?expand=1

the latest gives you vst3 hosting
Post Reply