Looking for a "MIDI transistor" (on/off midi gate, midi controlled)

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Brunetton

Looking for a "MIDI transistor" (on/off midi gate, midi controlled)

Post by Brunetton »

Hi everyone. This is my first time here, and I hope I'll describe clearly my question.
I'm working on an open source project around Raspberry (that I'll post on the Raspberry forum later). But I'm a little stuck : I'll be using a midi controller (a piano keyboard) that will generate a piano sound. This piano will be always plugged on the Raspberry and sending midi notes.
But I do not want the Raspberry to make noise all the time. I plan to use a midi pad (an Akai MPD) to switch the Raspberry synth on/off, controlled by a MIDI signal from the pad.

In a nutshell : I'm looking for a jack midi program (ideally without gui) that have two midi inputs:
- the data input (where the notes will be sent through)
- the control midi input (to switch the data input on/off)

When sending an event (a determined note) on the control midi, the data flow is disconnected/connected : all data midi flow is disconnected, exactly is if I unplugged the midi cable.

This is like a logic gate (with a memory bit).

Does anyone know a (simple) way of doing it ?
I'm pretty sure it could be done with pure data, or another kind of "big machinery". But I'm afraid of performance, headless possibilities (lunched exclusively from command line), and the time I would need to learn it and make it works).
I'm a développer. I think I can program it quickly in Python, but I don't want to duplicate an existing protect.

Thanks! (and sorry for the long message)
varpa
Established Member

Re: Looking for a "MIDI transistor" (on/off midi gate, midi controlled)

Post by varpa »