Using Hydrogen to play DrumGizmo's DRS Kit

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

mtemmerm
Established Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 8:27 pm

Re: Using Hydrogen to play DrumGizmo's DRS Kit

Postby mtemmerm » Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:20 am

Hi biggsy,

Are you using JACK and a low-latency or real-time setup? Or plain ALSA?

biggsy
Established Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2019 9:12 am

Re: Using Hydrogen to play DrumGizmo's DRS Kit

Postby biggsy » Mon Apr 08, 2019 2:41 pm

Hi mtemmerm,

Thanks for getting back to me. I am using JACK but I have a generic kernel. I've looked up the lowlatency kernel and there is one available in my repositories so I will try that out next time I get a chance (probably tomorrow). Is there anything special I need to do to activate the lowlatency benefits, e.g. some magic settings, or is it just sudo apt install linux-lowlatency and reboot? FYI - I have kxstudio-default-settings installed already.

Thanks :D

mtemmerm
Established Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 8:27 pm

Re: Using Hydrogen to play DrumGizmo's DRS Kit

Postby mtemmerm » Mon Apr 08, 2019 8:34 pm

biggsy,

I'm currently using local/linux-rt-lts 4.19.31_rt18-1 on Arch, using the coderkun-aur-audio repository - so my setup probably differs quite a bit from yours. I know there's a realtime config script that scans if you're using proper settings and hints you where improvements are possible, you might want to look for that. In Arch, the package is called realtimeconfigquickscan-git.

Hth,
Michaël

biggsy
Established Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2019 9:12 am

Re: Using Hydrogen to play DrumGizmo's DRS Kit

Postby biggsy » Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:42 pm

Yes, lowlatency kernel FTW! Works great now, thanks :) I still need to work out how to sync ardour and hydrogen but I've seen other posts about that so I reckon I'll work it out OK. Thanks again :-D

mtemmerm
Established Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 8:27 pm

Re: Using Hydrogen to play DrumGizmo's DRS Kit

Postby mtemmerm » Wed Apr 10, 2019 10:46 am

Glad to hear you got it working! For Ardour and Hydrogen to sync, you need to put both on the JACK 'transport'. Hydrogen has a button for it on the top of the interface (J. TRANS) and Ardour also has a button for it at the top left - it might say 'Int.'. Use it to switch between internal transport and JACK's. Make sure both are using JACK as a backend first, both can work with plain ALSA as well if you configure them to do so. Both also have Fine Manuals :D - especially Ardour's is extensive.

Hth!
Michaël

User avatar
English Guy
Established Member
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: England

Re: Using Hydrogen to play DrumGizmo's DRS Kit

Postby English Guy » Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:16 pm

Thank you for all of this. Just got Drumgizmo working in Mixbus with Hydrogen, very sweet. I was not impressed with it at first until I mixed it out into the 13 channels and did a little work with compression etc. After that it sounded great. Recording the midi input from Hydrogen was easy too.


Return to “Plugins, Effects and Instruments”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest