RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

User avatar
davephillips
Established Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:05 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by davephillips »

Greetings,

Confirmed re: Bitwig Studio 1.3.6, the 64-bit version runs beautifully there. Nice sounds, fun synth !

Best,

dp

eric71
Established Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:41 am
Location: Finland

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by eric71 »

It now scans in works well in 64 bit Tracktion 6.3.

chris@wavosaur
Established Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by chris@wavosaur »

thank you for testing.
here's a new beta http://blog.wavosaur.com/download/raveg ... eta/beta2/

- fixed a problem when (re)loading session and/or loading preset bank (fxb)
- the "user sample path" is now saved
- now you can load external sample
aeoluslaude wrote:(..) Bitwig (..) I crashed the synth a few times by layering too many sounds, until I realized how to delete a layer.
Are the crashes reproductible ? does it crash everything/ the host / plugin only / UI only ?
You can also right click and select "remove " in the popup menu to delete a sample.

here's a short "guide" :

about the browser:
-------------------
- use the internal browser to add samples :
drag n drop, double click or press enter/return or drag samples from anywhere
- right click on the "user" folder to set a sample folder of you choice
- should load wav / aif / ogg / flac / mp3 etc...

about the "sample object" view (not the waveform view)
----------------------------------------------------------
- use the upper right cross to remove a sample
- right click on the objects for contextual menu:
- click on "wave" to display the waveform
- the slider in the "4" tab is for tweaking the "akaize" effect
- when "reverse" is on :
playing begins at "start" if start != 0 else it starts from "sample end"

The plugin is multi-timbral, you can select the MIDI channel for each sample
(default is omni), use the contextual menu.

about the waveform displayer :
-----------------------------------------
- use mouse wheel to zoom in / out, and scroll bar to move the view (or middle/left click + drag)
- you can drag the "start" "loop start" and "loop end" with the mouse
- ctrl+left click set the loop start , ctrl+right click set the loop end
- shift + click to set the "start"

lfz
Established Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 5:41 pm
Contact:

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by lfz »

Thanks for this neat plugin! I've tested for 30 minutes or so in Carla with the builtin samples and some of mine. From what I can see it's really stable and was easy to use and play around with. I had some trouble dragging the samples into the window until I read here that it's not implemented yet.

Keep up the good work :)
Ownlife - prog rock project: http://ownlife.lfzawacki.com
Mortticia - heavy metal band: https://mortticia.rocks/
Musical Artifacts - find sample libraries, presets, patches: https://musical-artifacts.com
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/lfzawacki

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1557
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by glowrak guy »

Really like the gui, and layering. I made the Bliss folder my user sample folder,
pretty handy, when the gears are turning. Samples played fine. Internal drag+drop from the RG browser
worked fine in bitwig. Great fun in general. Play a stab with a long delay routed into a slow deep tremolo,
good times awaiting :wink:

chris@wavosaur
Established Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by chris@wavosaur »

Hello! thanks for the feedback

i've fixed a serious bug with MIDI notes in multichannel mode : http://blog.wavosaur.com/download/raveg ... eta/beta3/

it seems drag and drop from external sources is not working in all hosts.

akiz
Established Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 8:26 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by akiz »

It is funny... Ive been using Rave generator 1 on my WIN station a lot in the last months and now i switched to linux... version 2 is here, great.

It works without any problems in Fedora 24 and Tracktion 7 64bit
but i would love to see these thing:
* Possibility to replace actually loaded/playing sample not just add the new one (by double click)
- maybe draging sample on the position of the another one would be good solution

akiz
Established Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 8:26 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by akiz »

Ravegenerator 2 in Tracktion doesnt save preset so when i reopen project my setting is lost :(

chris@wavosaur
Established Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by chris@wavosaur »

thank you akiz for the feedback!

is there a demo version of Tracktion 7 somewhere so i can test the parameter recall ?
also : doest it work if you save a preset as fxp then reload it ?

akiz
Established Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 8:26 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by akiz »

It should be on Tracktion homepage..
i use renoise right now and it seems allright here

chris@wavosaur
Established Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by chris@wavosaur »

i downloaded Tracktion 7 trial to give a test
i loaded the VST, changed the parameter (remove sample, add two samples, add a loop) then saved
it reloads fine
works for me
i also exported a .fxp, it's well formed and loads ok in other hosts

Post Reply