RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

chris@wavosaur
Established Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:11 pm

RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by chris@wavosaur »

Hello,

i'm Chris, i develop some free VSTi/VST, and currently beta testing the v2 of RaveGeneratorVST (a funky rompler with 90's ravey sounds).
I have ported this project to native linux VST, here's the download link for the plugins (32 & 64 bit) :

http://blog.wavosaur.com/download/raveg ... linuxbeta/

there's no manual for the moment but it should be pretty straightforward.
unlike the Windows version, there's no external import (i'm working on it) and settings are not yet working.

If you want to test, don't hesitate, and give feedback (here or by email contact@wavosaur.com)

i have just tested on Renoise (32 & 64 bit) and EnergyXT (32 bit)

and Happy New Year !

User avatar
sysrqer
Established Member
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:47 pm
Contact:

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by sysrqer »

This is awesome, some of these sounds really take me back 8)

User avatar
davephillips
Established Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:05 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by davephillips »

Tested in Bitwig 1.3.5. The 32-bit plugin doesn't scan. The 64-bit version scans and loads but doesn't display its GUI. The patch list is presented in Bitwig's native container, but changing the preset there makes no change in the sound.

Happy to test further ! :)

EDIT: Tested successfully in Carla, GUI displayed correctly, samples dragged & dropped as advertised. Cool synth, sounds good, hopefully you can iron out remaining issues for use with Bitwig.

Best,

dp

chris@wavosaur
Established Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by chris@wavosaur »

Thank you all for the feedback!

Is Linux as picky as Mac OSX (cocoa) about the concept of "main thread" ?
in the library i spawn a thread, create the QT app and starts the exec, then all QT widgets are moved to this thread, and i only communicate with " postEvents " and "SIGNAL/SLOT"

i installed the demo of Ardour for more testing
the bitwig demo doesn't work..

keep the vibe!

chris@wavosaur
Established Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by chris@wavosaur »

you're right falkTX, QT in plugins is like juggling with chainsaws :mrgreen:

for ther "VST Speek" port i'll try another framework (just a textfield & some sliders)

but i'm curious about the "You absolutely can't do this."

to be more precise, i create a thread if there's no QApp running, this pThread instantiate the QApplication, some "UIWrapper object (with just pointers, no instanciation), and starts the exec loop.
then all Objects /Widgets instanciation are made with custom postEvents
i create a QApplication in my pThread (QT wise, it IS the main thread ) : after removing any reference to QSetting or QFile or any QObject created before the QApp i get rid of the "warning qapplication was not created in the main() thread"

eric71
Established Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:41 am
Location: Finland

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by eric71 »

The 64 bit plugin does not scan correctly in Tracktion 6.3. It showed it was "testing" the plugin for a few seconds and moved on. It did not show up in my plugin list afterwards. The Tracktion log file just says:

3 Jan 2016 11:52:14 ----- Launched Plugin Scan Process
3 Jan 2016 11:52:15 *** ERROR: Plugin crashed: /home/eric/.vst/RaveGenerator2-x64.so

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1559
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by glowrak guy »

chris@wavosaur wrote: the bitwig demo doesn't work..
Thanks for sharing a new instrument, quite the good way to start 2016

About bitwig, did the installer fail?
Was your midi keyboard not detected?
Was your plugin not scanned?

modprobe snd_virmidi may help with a midi keyboard.
I choose Virtual Raw Midi/1 for the generic midi device
in bitwig controller preferences.

The bitwig forum at kvr is pretty useful. For code, the devs
are there and you can PM introductions and queries.

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=259

Cheers

Drumfix
Established Member
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 5:15 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by Drumfix »

Every year the same discussion about the same problem.

And like every year i propose the external ui extension as the simple and effective solution to this problem.....

Drumfix
Established Member
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 5:15 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by Drumfix »

As i write we discussed this some time ago (1 year, 2 years? dunno)

Summary:
The external ui is certainly supposed to run as its own process independent from the host.
This implies that the host does not have any control over the plugin ui anymore (and therefore there is no reason the host should prepare a window for it).
Since you were not willing to give up the control of the host over the plugin window, you refused this solution.

But no problem, making the first plugin parameter the on/off switch of my external ui, is a trivial workaround for me.

User avatar
davephillips
Established Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:05 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by davephillips »

Greetings,

What's the current status of this project ?

Best,

dp

chris@wavosaur
Established Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by chris@wavosaur »

hello, thank you all for your feedback

about the Bitwig pb, i have this message : ./bitwig-studio: symbol lookup error: //opt/bitwig-studio/lib/bitwig-studio/libcairo.so.2: undefined symbol: pixman_glyph_cache_create
about the "get rid of qt warning" : i have not published the version without the warning, but anyway, there are indeed horrible crashs with Ardour.

Drumfix i'm currently testing with your solution, it sounds like a nice workaround.

chris@wavosaur
Established Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by chris@wavosaur »

Hello,

here's a new beta :
http://blog.wavosaur.com/download/raveg ... eta/beta1/

worksforme in Renoise/Ardour/EnergyXT/Carla/

known limitations:

- loading sample from external source not working yet
- UI may not work in latest Linux OS (i compiled in Ubuntu 12.04)
- user sample path setting not saved across sessions

User avatar
rncbc
Established Member
Posts: 823
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 12:20 pm
Contact:

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by rncbc »

chris@wavosaur wrote:Hello,

here's a new beta :
http://blog.wavosaur.com/download/raveg ... eta/beta1/

worksforme in Renoise/Ardour/EnergyXT/Carla/
seems to work also on qtractor (v0.7.4, Qt5.5.1, openSUSE Tumbleweed; evidence attached):
qtractor-testravegen1.png
cheers
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
sysrqer
Established Member
Posts: 1999
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:47 pm
Contact:

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by sysrqer »

My system is reasonably up to date and it appears to work fine for me. Thanks and congrats, I love this little beast!

aeoluslaude
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 9:41 pm

Re: RaveGenerator2 VST : calling beta tester

Post by aeoluslaude »

I got Rave Generator working in Bitwig, I extracted the 64-bit version into my .vst folder and it appeared in Bitwig's menu. I crashed the synth a few times by layering too many sounds, until I realized how to delete a layer. Very easy, just hit the x. This is going to be a fun VST to play with, excellent retro samples and I like that it includes a delay.

Post Reply