Live vocoder setup ideas

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

Post Reply
insanemachina
Established Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 3:08 pm

Live vocoder setup ideas

Post by insanemachina »

I'm trying to come up with a way to use a vocoder live, I run KXStudio and have tried mda vocoder and TAL-Vocoder without any success...

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1293
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Live vocoder setup ideas

Post by ssj71 »

still a bit in beta but there is also the rkr vocoder lv2. https://github.com/ssj71/rkrlv2
I haven't tested the vocoder plugin much let me know how that goes. If it doesn't work you might try using the standalone rakarrack which it came from.

also, and I don't mean to be insulting, do you have it connected properly? A vocoder should have a signal to filter like a synth or guitar input, and then a separate signal that controls the filters, typically your voice. If either signal is missing or silent it won't produce sound.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

insanemachina
Established Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 3:08 pm

Re: Live vocoder setup ideas

Post by insanemachina »

If my filter signal is stereo, do I plug both on the same filter input or do I have to convert to Mono first?

asbak
Established Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 3:04 pm

Re: Live vocoder setup ideas

Post by asbak »

To get that back in the 70's Kool & the Gang sound example:

Start up Calf + Jack + LV2 synth
Connect Mic (System Capture 1) to Vocoder Modulator inputs L+R
Connect Keyboard (LV2 Synth output) to Vocoder Carrier inputs L+R
Connect Vocoder Outputs L+R to System Playback 1 + 2

Boost the Carrier & Modulator input levels.
Turn Carrier or Modulator signals "To mix" way down.

Profit.

insanemachina
Established Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 3:08 pm

Re: Live vocoder setup ideas

Post by insanemachina »

I'll test this one later, rakarrack worked fine!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1293
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Live vocoder setup ideas

Post by ssj71 »

insanemachina wrote:If my filter signal is stereo, do I plug both on the same filter input or do I have to convert to Mono first?
IIRC connecting the two to one input just sums the two. Thats fine.
insanemachina wrote:rakarrack worked fine!
great! Standalone rakarrack or the lv2 port?
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

User avatar
khz
Established Member
Posts: 1447
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:29 am
Location: German

Re: Live vocoder setup ideas

Post by khz »

FZ - Does humor belongs in Music?
GNU/LINUX@AUDIO ~ /Wiki $ Howto.Info && GNU/Linux Debian installing >> Linux Audio Workstation LAW
  • I don't care about the freedom of speech because I have nothing to say.

User avatar
Markus
Established Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:29 am

Re: Live vocoder setup ideas

Post by Markus »

If you need improved speech intelligibility while using a vocoder with your voice as modulator raise the little noise and/or dry knobs of the higher bands in Calf Vocoder. Normally carrier signals lack of highs to reproduce the sibilants.

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1293
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Live vocoder setup ideas

Post by ssj71 »

not sure your meaning here but nearly all of them are ported to lv2 (all these you mention are). Not all are working though. They all need thorough testing.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

insanemachina
Established Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 3:08 pm

Re: Live vocoder setup ideas

Post by insanemachina »

I'm using the standalone version of Rakarrack. Most of the time it comes down to properly choosing a carrier that will bring the right sound into your mix. I'm using ZynAddFXSub, so I can have multiple instruments assigned to the same midi channel, then I can layer them until I get my carrier right...

Post Reply