Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

tramp wrote:sorry, I didn't like cmake.
for history's sake, why not? Its just what I've learned to use. I kind of like it.

The reason for map is that some of them will use midi and I just copy paste a ttl template. I can take that out for the plugins that don't use it (currently all of them).

I'll double check harmonizer and distortion. Distortion was actually the one I've tested the most, it was working here, but I've touched it since. Thanks for the report!
falkTX wrote: for these plugins though the buf-size and options extension needs to be a requirement.
they were made with a static buffer-size in mind (because of jack and/or zyn), and buf-size + options is the only way to ensure that.
Is this the answer to the question I sent to the lv2 dev mailing list? I really don't like the static size buffers I've made (it works with any size 1024 or less) but I didn't know any other way without some deep refactoring. Looking at the LV2 docs isn't especially enlightening on these extensions. Do you know any examples I can look at?
falkTX wrote: @ssj71:
what's the best way to contribute?
I got used to github's fork + pull-requests that is now weird to do things old school...
are git-based patches ok?
:) Git patches are great. I'm still trying to decide between just making a full new project or trying to refactor ALL of rakarrack so that this can get merged in. I'd rather not have to do all the refactoring, but there are worse things. If I do make a new project on sourceforge they have now a fork option, which I assume then gives you a pull request option somewhere. The working repo currently is a fork from the rakarrack sourceforge repo.

Since we're already OT, is there any way to load files through the worker extension WITHOUT needing a UI? I looked through the eq_sampler on LV2 and I think the answer is no. I'd like to port the echotron module but loading files it seems has a lot of overhead compared to the other modules.

Thanks all, it's really great to have community support.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

falkTX wrote:did it not get through?
I never saw anything. Not in my junk mail either.
falkTX wrote:Yes, you can use state + patch:Message path.

This is something I haven't dealt with in Carla yet, and there's very few plugins and hosts that support it.
On top of my head, hosts are only ardour3 (perhaps ingen, no idea) and plugins are eg-sampler and convo-lv2.
https://github.com/x42/convoLV2
I looked through eg_sampler and it seems to use a simple gtk UI, though it is using state and worker etc.. I'll have a look at convo-lv2. I forgot about that one. Right now I'm working on an OSC2MIDI feature request, but I'll be back on rakarrack ports by the end of the week (I think). I should probably tackle the buf-size thing first.

Thanks!

EDIT: Just gave convo-lv2 and eg_sampler another look, is the GTK UI just a fallback for them then? I think I get it now, but if almost no hosts support it is there much point? Maybe I'll wait until I decide whether to go through with my GUIs for these or not.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

ok. Well plan A will be to get it working with only host-generated UI. 1 more plugin to try to break that dependency cycle. :)
Maybe I'll go ahead and try to tackle that one right after buf-size. Or maybe a few easier effect ports first just to make myself think I'm good at it ;)
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

I'm back on this now and to celebrate, I've ported reverb. It will now ask the host for the max buffer size if the host supports it, but defaults to something large if not (guitarix... ;) ). The project also has a new home where you can fill out proper bug reports. Find it at:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/rkrlv2/
You will have to download from the code section until I decide to make a release and post something in the files section. I'll also make sure I keep the master branch stable (build and run-able) at all times (it's a habit I have). Anyhow, more testers wanted.

Also once again, if anyone would be interested in becoming a maintainer for rakarrack, I'd love to help you merge in these changes, but until then, the project is a fork.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

parameteric eq, musical delay, and wahwah done.
Little known fact about rakarrack's wahwah effect: it changes the filter type when you select one of the built in presets, but wouldn't recall it correctly if reading a preset from a file. I've fixed it now so that you have an extra parameter to select filter type.

Also I've taken some time to shake out the bugs in distortion. It had some major memory issues (my fault) that have been rectified. Also AlienWah had a bug thats been fixed. Please give these a go. I'll continue to test as I have time.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

I'm just going to keep posting updates here.

Just pushed the multi band distortion. Ring, derelict, dual flange, and valve all done.
Also an important bugfix affecting harmonizer so please give that one another chance.

Of course as always the presets with each effect are being ported as I go. I think I will just keep going through serially and do nearly every effect. The ones I skip are because there are better alternatives (i.e. convolutron) or they are just identical duplicates of other effects.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

Thanks for the bug reports. I'll look at these issues asap.
falkTX wrote: on some occasions I get a loud noise when first loading the plugins,
is there an audio buffer in there? (to save the last values)
perhaps it's not zeroed
hmm, several of the effects have buffers. I'll check the ones that do. Any particular effects you noticed that do this?
UPDATE: Only about 5 of them had buffers. I went ahead and made sure they're initialized properly. I can't really test audio right now.
falkTX wrote:arpie crashes on load
did you try more than once? I loaded a couple times and had it work, but I'll look some more.
UPDATE: loads fine with jalv and carla on my system, but I did find a bug that exists in rakarrack as well if you select large delay values (including the default setting). This is resolved.
falkTX wrote:cabinet marshall-I preset sounds distorted, like some audio samples were skipped.
Its just setting a bunch of filters. It could be one of the filters is unstable or something. I'll check. How many other presets did you try?
UPDATE: I'll have to try this when I can listen to the output.
falkTX wrote:distband causes 100% cpu usage, maybe denormals?
Could be. They have denormal checks in there but they could have missed something.
UPDATE: I can't reproduce this on my system. It did have it set so the middle band is inverted which could cause something wierd but it works here. I've adjusted the default settings just in case.
falkTX wrote:expander output seems to be mute, or very very low.
I'm probably passing a parameter in wrong or something so the gain is set low.
UPDATE: it had a bad default setting. The LFP and HPF were set to filter out everything. I've been getting lazy about the initial settings. This is resolved.
falkTX wrote: if you haven't done it yet, I recommend you to scan/validate the ttl files.
see http://lv2plug.in/pages/validating-lv2-data.html
I've done it a few times using carla-discovery-native, but obviously not since I've done the last few ports.
UPDATE: now passes.

Thanks again. If I can get more people to check these things then I can keep churning out the ports and fixing issues as they're reported.
UPDATE: These changes/fixes are all now in master
Last edited by ssj71 on Fri Apr 03, 2015 7:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

falkTX wrote:btw, are you coming to LAC?
I wish. Maybe next time it's in the US.

note some updates on those issues above.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

falkTX wrote:but if next year LAC is on the US I won't be able to go...
:(
falkTX wrote:I already prepared a package for this, once I find them stable enough I'll push it into the kx repos.
Just curious, in your opinion should I focus on testing and try to get a release together or finish porting all the effects first? My plan was to wait until feature complete for release.
falkTX wrote:I'll give them a good stress testing soon.
great thanks. I look forward to it.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

That's right. Bringing this up again.

Shuffle. Synthfilter. VaryBand. MuTroMojo. Echoverse. CoilCrafter. ShelfBoost.

Done. All waiting for you in the master branch. Please try and report what issues you will find.
https://sourceforge.net/p/rkrlv2/code/ci/master/tree/
As usual they aren't tested beyond loading in Jalv, but thats your jobs ;)
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

doh! I meant to run sord validator. Thought I'd checked that one. Updated in master. Thanks again. Does carla_discovery_native check presets ttl?
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

Since I'm only testing in jalv it doesn't load all the plugins. Echo was the 4th plugin ported so I must have missed the errors while I was still trying to get everything figured out. As always, many thanks. I'm hoping some other folks will start testing too, for these simple bugs. You've got enough on your plate without catching all my mistakes ;)
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1430
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by glowrak guy »

I see what looks to be your rak ports when running lv2ls, and using jalv.gtk, and am enjoying using them with
the Triceratops synth. The presets are working, always nice to have.

When the
Brass preset goes to rak echo plugin
rak echo goes to rak reverb
rak reverb to system
rak echo also to system

it seems the changes made using the delay slider
take quite a long while to take effect. Almost like it is waiting for a long tail
of reverb to completely vanish, before responding. Or waiting til it's own feedback
fas fully completed. Shrinking the room size or time
on the reverb, or modifying the feedback/delay time doesn't seem to change that behavior,
neither did disconnecting the plain ral echo from system.
So maybe it's worth double checking on your setup? I may not be the optimum choice as a tester :(

Thanks for working on these, there's lots of versatility among them. The flanger will be quite useful,
among the many. I wonder if something like a jackrack style gui could be made
for displaying multiple jalv hosted plugins?
Cheers

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

glowrak guy wrote:So maybe it's worth double checking on your setup? I may not be the optimum choice as a tester :(
Don't worry, any feedback is helpful. I'll test this next time I get a chance to really try the plugins (I have more dev time than music time).

Thanks!
glowrak guy wrote:The flanger will be quite useful, among the many.
The flanger is actually the same as the chorus. If you set the delays short its a flange, long its a chorus. I should update the plugin title to chorus/flange. I'll put that on the TODO. Again Thanks.
glowrak guy wrote:I wonder if something like a jackrack style gui could be made for displaying multiple jalv hosted plugins?
Have you tried Carla? Its basically that (and lots more). I use jalv a lot for testing because its fewer clicks to test a single plugin. When I'm actually playing music I much prefer Carla.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1430
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by glowrak guy »

Testing linear slider controls, might be an issue when an expression pedal control is desired?
Set the Valve plugin going into rkr reverb

valve settings:
wet/dry 100
drive 100
level 70
lowpass 70
highpass 20
distortion 80
Presence 30

set rkr reverb:
wet/dry 75
time 65
lowpass 4000
damping 85
room size 1
strum while increasing room size at increments around 5

Move the room size slider from around 1/3, and the middle
and other positions, back to 1, while holding a sustained
chord, and then when strumming. Move the slider at various speeds
and various distances, checking for the desired/expected behavior.
Seems like it's sliding is not always resonding in a linear fashion?

Cheers

Post Reply