Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

parameteric eq, musical delay, and wahwah done.
Little known fact about rakarrack's wahwah effect: it changes the filter type when you select one of the built in presets, but wouldn't recall it correctly if reading a preset from a file. I've fixed it now so that you have an extra parameter to select filter type.

Also I've taken some time to shake out the bugs in distortion. It had some major memory issues (my fault) that have been rectified. Also AlienWah had a bug thats been fixed. Please give these a go. I'll continue to test as I have time.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

I'm just going to keep posting updates here.

Just pushed the multi band distortion. Ring, derelict, dual flange, and valve all done.
Also an important bugfix affecting harmonizer so please give that one another chance.

Of course as always the presets with each effect are being ported as I go. I think I will just keep going through serially and do nearly every effect. The ones I skip are because there are better alternatives (i.e. convolutron) or they are just identical duplicates of other effects.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

Thanks for the bug reports. I'll look at these issues asap.
falkTX wrote: on some occasions I get a loud noise when first loading the plugins,
is there an audio buffer in there? (to save the last values)
perhaps it's not zeroed
hmm, several of the effects have buffers. I'll check the ones that do. Any particular effects you noticed that do this?
UPDATE: Only about 5 of them had buffers. I went ahead and made sure they're initialized properly. I can't really test audio right now.
falkTX wrote:arpie crashes on load
did you try more than once? I loaded a couple times and had it work, but I'll look some more.
UPDATE: loads fine with jalv and carla on my system, but I did find a bug that exists in rakarrack as well if you select large delay values (including the default setting). This is resolved.
falkTX wrote:cabinet marshall-I preset sounds distorted, like some audio samples were skipped.
Its just setting a bunch of filters. It could be one of the filters is unstable or something. I'll check. How many other presets did you try?
UPDATE: I'll have to try this when I can listen to the output.
falkTX wrote:distband causes 100% cpu usage, maybe denormals?
Could be. They have denormal checks in there but they could have missed something.
UPDATE: I can't reproduce this on my system. It did have it set so the middle band is inverted which could cause something wierd but it works here. I've adjusted the default settings just in case.
falkTX wrote:expander output seems to be mute, or very very low.
I'm probably passing a parameter in wrong or something so the gain is set low.
UPDATE: it had a bad default setting. The LFP and HPF were set to filter out everything. I've been getting lazy about the initial settings. This is resolved.
falkTX wrote: if you haven't done it yet, I recommend you to scan/validate the ttl files.
see http://lv2plug.in/pages/validating-lv2-data.html
I've done it a few times using carla-discovery-native, but obviously not since I've done the last few ports.
UPDATE: now passes.

Thanks again. If I can get more people to check these things then I can keep churning out the ports and fixing issues as they're reported.
UPDATE: These changes/fixes are all now in master
Last edited by ssj71 on Fri Apr 03, 2015 7:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

falkTX wrote:btw, are you coming to LAC?
I wish. Maybe next time it's in the US.

note some updates on those issues above.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

falkTX wrote:but if next year LAC is on the US I won't be able to go...
:(
falkTX wrote:I already prepared a package for this, once I find them stable enough I'll push it into the kx repos.
Just curious, in your opinion should I focus on testing and try to get a release together or finish porting all the effects first? My plan was to wait until feature complete for release.
falkTX wrote:I'll give them a good stress testing soon.
great thanks. I look forward to it.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

That's right. Bringing this up again.

Shuffle. Synthfilter. VaryBand. MuTroMojo. Echoverse. CoilCrafter. ShelfBoost.

Done. All waiting for you in the master branch. Please try and report what issues you will find.
https://sourceforge.net/p/rkrlv2/code/ci/master/tree/
As usual they aren't tested beyond loading in Jalv, but thats your jobs ;)
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

doh! I meant to run sord validator. Thought I'd checked that one. Updated in master. Thanks again. Does carla_discovery_native check presets ttl?
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

Since I'm only testing in jalv it doesn't load all the plugins. Echo was the 4th plugin ported so I must have missed the errors while I was still trying to get everything figured out. As always, many thanks. I'm hoping some other folks will start testing too, for these simple bugs. You've got enough on your plate without catching all my mistakes ;)
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1429
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by glowrak guy »

I see what looks to be your rak ports when running lv2ls, and using jalv.gtk, and am enjoying using them with
the Triceratops synth. The presets are working, always nice to have.

When the
Brass preset goes to rak echo plugin
rak echo goes to rak reverb
rak reverb to system
rak echo also to system

it seems the changes made using the delay slider
take quite a long while to take effect. Almost like it is waiting for a long tail
of reverb to completely vanish, before responding. Or waiting til it's own feedback
fas fully completed. Shrinking the room size or time
on the reverb, or modifying the feedback/delay time doesn't seem to change that behavior,
neither did disconnecting the plain ral echo from system.
So maybe it's worth double checking on your setup? I may not be the optimum choice as a tester :(

Thanks for working on these, there's lots of versatility among them. The flanger will be quite useful,
among the many. I wonder if something like a jackrack style gui could be made
for displaying multiple jalv hosted plugins?
Cheers

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

glowrak guy wrote:So maybe it's worth double checking on your setup? I may not be the optimum choice as a tester :(
Don't worry, any feedback is helpful. I'll test this next time I get a chance to really try the plugins (I have more dev time than music time).

Thanks!
glowrak guy wrote:The flanger will be quite useful, among the many.
The flanger is actually the same as the chorus. If you set the delays short its a flange, long its a chorus. I should update the plugin title to chorus/flange. I'll put that on the TODO. Again Thanks.
glowrak guy wrote:I wonder if something like a jackrack style gui could be made for displaying multiple jalv hosted plugins?
Have you tried Carla? Its basically that (and lots more). I use jalv a lot for testing because its fewer clicks to test a single plugin. When I'm actually playing music I much prefer Carla.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1429
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by glowrak guy »

Testing linear slider controls, might be an issue when an expression pedal control is desired?
Set the Valve plugin going into rkr reverb

valve settings:
wet/dry 100
drive 100
level 70
lowpass 70
highpass 20
distortion 80
Presence 30

set rkr reverb:
wet/dry 75
time 65
lowpass 4000
damping 85
room size 1
strum while increasing room size at increments around 5

Move the room size slider from around 1/3, and the middle
and other positions, back to 1, while holding a sustained
chord, and then when strumming. Move the slider at various speeds
and various distances, checking for the desired/expected behavior.
Seems like it's sliding is not always resonding in a linear fashion?

Cheers

tatch
Established Member
Posts: 662
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:18 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by tatch »

ssj71 wrote:I use jalv a lot for testing because its fewer clicks to test a single plugin. When I'm actually playing music I much prefer Carla.
you can also run carla-single to test single plugins

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

glowrak guy wrote:Seems like it's sliding is not always resonding in a linear fashion?
Is it like zipper noise or something else? Many of the parameters weren't really designed to be changed in realtime (but obviously its much better if it does). One thing you can check for me is if the same thing happens when using the full version of rakarrack with just those two effects enabled. If it is different then I broke it. If its the same, then I can address it but I'll do that after the effects are all ported (so the first milestone is match rakarrack, second is improve upon it).

Thanks again for the feedback! Keep 'em comin'! Sorry I don't have time to check them all right away, but I will get there.
tatch wrote:you can also run carla-single to test single plugins
I forget about that. I'll have to try it. Thanks!
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

falkTX wrote:some of zyn fx parameters allocate/deallocate stuff when changed (like changing the filter type), which is of course really bad for RT use but that's how the plugins were designed.
for such control-ports please set the property expensive:
Ah! I'd seen some of these. Most of them so far I've been able to remove, but now I know how to handle the ones I can't seem to work around. Once they're all ported and I'm in the testing phase I'll have to give the code another comb through for this and a few other memory issues (many classes didn't actually have destructors).
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1429
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by glowrak guy »

I tried TAL reverb, adjusting it's roomsize when playing, and it behaved in similar fashion
to the rak reverb.

I loaded the rak analog phaser, and sliding the width seems to produce a
bump in gain at about 93. Phase depth was 20.

Your ports are sounding excellent, even with old cobalt strings. :(
Cheers

Post Reply