Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

Aleks wrote:Well,,,uhm...how about whole Rakarrack as a lv2 plugin
I guess you mean it as a joke? :|
Well regardless, autopan is done.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

Aleks
Established Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 5:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by Aleks »

ssj71 wrote:
Aleks wrote:Well,,,uhm...how about whole Rakarrack as a lv2 plugin
I guess you mean it as a joke? :|
Well regardless, autopan is done.
In my country there is a saying "In every joke there is a half truth", so... :) Actually it would be great to have Rakarrack as a lv2 plugin with all the presets. It would be quite handy.

tatch
Established Member
Posts: 662
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:18 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by tatch »

Aleks wrote:
ssj71 wrote:
Aleks wrote:Well,,,uhm...how about whole Rakarrack as a lv2 plugin
I guess you mean it as a joke? :|
Well regardless, autopan is done.
In my country there is a saying "In every joke there is a half truth", so... :) Actually it would be great to have Rakarrack as a lv2 plugin with all the presets. It would be quite handy.
I don't see how this would be much different from how it already is. It would be more handy to port all the individual effects to lv2s as ssj71 is doing now and then port the presets to a more modern container like carla-rack or guitarix (assuming guitarix can do that)

Aleks
Established Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 5:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by Aleks »

tatch wrote:
I don't see how this would be much different from how it already is. It would be more handy to port all the individual effects to lv2s as ssj71 is doing now and then port the presets to a more modern container like carla-rack or guitarix (assuming guitarix can do that)
I'm not saying ssj71 isn't doing an awesome job already, I'm just saying that it would be handy if there was a plugin version of rakarrack with all the presets. Then you could save it (w/o some changes in the preset) within the project track in the DAW, and you wouldn't have to take notes/save preset, then starting rackarrack, then the daw, then connect everything again with jack...

But as you said, porting the presets to carla-rack would also be great, maybe even better.

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

Ok, I thought you were saying you didn't care about the individual plugins being ported. I'm glad you clarified.
Aleks wrote:But as you said, porting the presets to carla-rack would also be great, maybe even better.
I say better. I've been thinking about this, and I know the format of the rakarrack banks, but not how carla's presets are stored. Ideally I see someone writing a rkr bank to carla preset conversion utility. And maybe a bank to ardour channel template... Thats a long way down the road though. (Collaborators welcome... :D)

Though maybe it would just be better for everyone to just make tons of new lv2 presets in their favorite hosts and pool them together. Or maybe we should all just start using the Mod desktop app when its finished and share presets there. :\
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

falkTX wrote:LV2 presets are fine, Carla will load them.
We're talking about presets using multiple effects. Is there a way to do that in ttl?
falkTX wrote:btw, I think the MOD guys have already ported some of the rakarrack fx to lv2 (or at least that's the impression I got from the internal mailing list).
there's no public code anywhere though.
I'll ask on the MOD Dev list. If someone else is doing it I've got plenty of other projects.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

Aleks
Established Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 5:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by Aleks »

ssj71 wrote:Ok, I thought you were saying you didn't care about the individual plugins being ported. I'm glad you clarified.
Oh no, I didn't have a slightest intention to minimize your work, I'm sorry if it sounded that way. Actually, I appreciate very much what everybody of the devs in the Linux community is doing, it's a wonderful world. Too bad I'm a total ignorant in programming, so I can't take part in it, but I must say that when I'm using Linux (for the most part Ubuntu) I feel like home, so please keep up the good work.

tatch
Established Member
Posts: 662
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:18 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by tatch »

ssj71 wrote: We're talking about presets using multiple effects. Is there a way to do that in ttl?
not unless you count ingen I think. otherwise i'm pretty sure the closest thing there is to plugin groups/presets is carla rack/patchbay.

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

tatch wrote: the closest thing there is to plugin groups/presets is carla rack/patchbay.
That was my thought. And couldn't you then load an instance of carla as an lv2 plugin with this preset? That would mean anything could use the preset. I think.
Aleks wrote: Too bad I'm a total ignorant in programming, so I can't take part in it,
you can always help by installing these and playing with them and reporting anything weird you might find. You could even start trying to rebuild your favorite presets in carla... Just sayin :)


EDIT* alienwah done. Also, just in case anyone was wondering, MOD had ported a couple of the effects, but abandoned the effort. I think they weren't working very well because they left all the globals in.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

User avatar
studio32
Established Member
Posts: 2438
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 5:09 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by studio32 »

Great project.

It would be great if Rakarrack would have NSM support too!!! That's shouldn't be very hard to do right?
Non-Session-Manager | FYI: Arch Linux / KXstudio do offer graphically less optimized packages (without NTK toolkit) of the original NSM GUI since June 2020. Original NSM GUI with NTK toolkit here

tramp
Established Member
Posts: 1634
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by tramp »

So, I've give it a go.
My first impression, sorry, I didn't like cmake. :wink:
However, the build runs fine. I didn't install, because I cant find a uninstall target in the makefile. So I'd copied rkrlv2.so to the ttl folder and copied those to the .lv2 directory in my home. I gone start to test the plugs with jalv, they all load and run, just the harmonizer gime random

Code: Select all

*** Error in `jalv.gtk': corrupted double-linked list: 0x0000000000988030 ***
Aborted
or, if it starts, it gives a segfault when closing.

Next I tried to load them into guitarix, but none of them is available, because they claim to use

Code: Select all

lv2:requiredFeature <http://lv2plug.in/ns/ext/urid#map> ;
which isn't supported by guitarix. A quick look at the source didn't show any request/use of LV2_URID__map, so I comment this line out and the rkr plugs pop up in guitarix. Most work fine here as well, just next to the harmonizer, the rkr Distortion fails to work with a

Code: Select all

Error in `guitarix': malloc(): smallbin double linked list corrupted: 0x000000000368c5e0 ***
regards
hermann
On the road again.

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

tramp wrote:sorry, I didn't like cmake.
for history's sake, why not? Its just what I've learned to use. I kind of like it.

The reason for map is that some of them will use midi and I just copy paste a ttl template. I can take that out for the plugins that don't use it (currently all of them).

I'll double check harmonizer and distortion. Distortion was actually the one I've tested the most, it was working here, but I've touched it since. Thanks for the report!
falkTX wrote: for these plugins though the buf-size and options extension needs to be a requirement.
they were made with a static buffer-size in mind (because of jack and/or zyn), and buf-size + options is the only way to ensure that.
Is this the answer to the question I sent to the lv2 dev mailing list? I really don't like the static size buffers I've made (it works with any size 1024 or less) but I didn't know any other way without some deep refactoring. Looking at the LV2 docs isn't especially enlightening on these extensions. Do you know any examples I can look at?
falkTX wrote: @ssj71:
what's the best way to contribute?
I got used to github's fork + pull-requests that is now weird to do things old school...
are git-based patches ok?
:) Git patches are great. I'm still trying to decide between just making a full new project or trying to refactor ALL of rakarrack so that this can get merged in. I'd rather not have to do all the refactoring, but there are worse things. If I do make a new project on sourceforge they have now a fork option, which I assume then gives you a pull request option somewhere. The working repo currently is a fork from the rakarrack sourceforge repo.

Since we're already OT, is there any way to load files through the worker extension WITHOUT needing a UI? I looked through the eq_sampler on LV2 and I think the answer is no. I'd like to port the echotron module but loading files it seems has a lot of overhead compared to the other modules.

Thanks all, it's really great to have community support.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

falkTX wrote:did it not get through?
I never saw anything. Not in my junk mail either.
falkTX wrote:Yes, you can use state + patch:Message path.

This is something I haven't dealt with in Carla yet, and there's very few plugins and hosts that support it.
On top of my head, hosts are only ardour3 (perhaps ingen, no idea) and plugins are eg-sampler and convo-lv2.
https://github.com/x42/convoLV2
I looked through eg_sampler and it seems to use a simple gtk UI, though it is using state and worker etc.. I'll have a look at convo-lv2. I forgot about that one. Right now I'm working on an OSC2MIDI feature request, but I'll be back on rakarrack ports by the end of the week (I think). I should probably tackle the buf-size thing first.

Thanks!

EDIT: Just gave convo-lv2 and eg_sampler another look, is the GTK UI just a fallback for them then? I think I get it now, but if almost no hosts support it is there much point? Maybe I'll wait until I decide whether to go through with my GUIs for these or not.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

ok. Well plan A will be to get it working with only host-generated UI. 1 more plugin to try to break that dependency cycle. :)
Maybe I'll go ahead and try to tackle that one right after buf-size. Or maybe a few easier effect ports first just to make myself think I'm good at it ;)
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Rakarrack LV2 Plugins

Post by ssj71 »

I'm back on this now and to celebrate, I've ported reverb. It will now ask the host for the max buffer size if the host supports it, but defaults to something large if not (guitarix... ;) ). The project also has a new home where you can fill out proper bug reports. Find it at:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/rkrlv2/
You will have to download from the code section until I decide to make a release and post something in the files section. I'll also make sure I keep the master branch stable (build and run-able) at all times (it's a habit I have). Anyhow, more testers wanted.

Also once again, if anyone would be interested in becoming a maintainer for rakarrack, I'd love to help you merge in these changes, but until then, the project is a fork.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

Post Reply