Systemwide parametric eq in linux

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

Post Reply
r19
Established Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:21 pm

Systemwide parametric eq in linux

Post by r19 »

How do I do this? I can connect Jack and Pulse, which makes it work for wine too but this seems to much work. Is there way to you the fil-plugin on pulse? I'm using ubuntu 14.04, have been trying to make a solution for a long time today but not progressing at all. Thanks :D

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1293
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Systemwide parametric eq in linux

Post by ssj71 »

Just an idea but perhaps using a session control manager would be less work? Its the same thing but one click to setup and can probably be automated. Look at non-session manager, or ladish, or just a bash script.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

r19
Established Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:21 pm

Re: Systemwide parametric eq in linux

Post by r19 »

Thanks. I will look at it. I was more worried about wasting CPU and unreliability. I've Core 2 duo 2ghz. I can't find any way to get a gui for fil-lugin and load it with pulse/alsa. JACK is working fine though I've to reset all apps for jamin to take effect..

bazsound
Established Member
Posts: 480
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 11:46 am

Re: Systemwide parametric eq in linux

Post by bazsound »

r19 wrote:Thanks. I will look at it. I was more worried about wasting CPU and unreliability. I've Core 2 duo 2ghz. I can't find any way to get a gui for fil-lugin and load it with pulse/alsa. JACK is working fine though I've to reset all apps for jamin to take effect..

If you use kx studio or have the kx studio repos,

use carla.

load any one of the many EQ plugins (personaly i prefer calf EQ 8 or higher or eq10q)

You can save your session and load it back and it will remember your eq settings, youll need to maybe use something else to save the connections though.

calf also has a 31 band graphic eq however its a bit quirky.

Thad E Ginathom
Established Member
Posts: 369
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 1:03 pm

Re: Systemwide parametric eq in linux

Post by Thad E Ginathom »

youll need to maybe use something else to save the connections though.
I use aj-snapshot to store and retrieve settings.

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1293
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: Systemwide parametric eq in linux

Post by ssj71 »

bazsound wrote: use carla.
I love carla, but for this I'd go for jalv.gtk. Can't get much lighter than that host when you only need 1 plugin.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

r19
Established Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 3:21 pm

Re: Systemwide parametric eq in linux

Post by r19 »

Now I have calf 12 band eq up and it works fine. Only thing is that the setup has increased memory usage by 500MB and CPU by 10-15%. Not sure if that's bad. I also have to keep Pavucontrol up and and change each app from Analog stero to Jack sink.
I couldn't find calf in carla so I'm using it by itself. I'll look at jalv.gtk and aj-snapshot later today..

emarsk
Established Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:50 pm

Re: Systemwide parametric eq in linux

Post by emarsk »

You can also use a ladspa plugin directly on alsa:
http://alsa.opensrc.org/Ladspa_(plugin)
Please, avoid some common spelling errors:
http://theoatmeal.com/comics/misspelling

bazsound
Established Member
Posts: 480
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 11:46 am

Re: Systemwide parametric eq in linux

Post by bazsound »

r19 wrote:Now I have calf 12 band eq up and it works fine. Only thing is that the setup has increased memory usage by 500MB and CPU by 10-15%. Not sure if that's bad. I also have to keep Pavucontrol up and and change each app from Analog stero to Jack sink.
I couldn't find calf in carla so I'm using it by itself. I'll look at jalv.gtk and aj-snapshot later today..
when you add plugins click refresh this will bring up a dialog to to refresh availbible plugins. ive sometimes had to do this on new installations for it to recognise external plugins.

calf eq or any plugin shouldnt be hogging 500mb of ram.

I loaded carla and 12 band eq my memory went from 600mb (had firefox open with a few tabs plus a flash video loading) to 670mb after carla and eq was loaded

Post Reply