Plugins fail to instantiate in Ardour using KXStudio repositories

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

Post Reply
User avatar
stefan
Established Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 7:21 am

Plugins fail to instantiate in Ardour using KXStudio repositories

Post by stefan »

Hi,

I've enabled KXStudio repositories using instructions here. From the repository I install Ardour and some plugins:

Code: Select all

~$ dpkg -l drmr drumkv1 ardour

||/ Name           Version               Architecture Description
+++-==============-=====================-============-====================================================
ii  ardour         2:5.12.0-1kxstudio2v5 amd64        digital audio workstation (graphical gtk2 interface)
ii  drmr           5:0.1-1kxstudio5      amd64        sampler plugin compatible with hydrogen kits
ii  drumkv1        0.9.12-1build1        amd64        old-school drum-kit sampler - standalone
But when I try to use the plugins in Ardour I get this from the log:

Code: Select all

[ERROR]: LV2: Failed to instantiate plugin http://drumkv1.sourceforge.net/lv2
Calf plugins work fine...

This post suggests that the problem will be solved with Ardour 6. But the post is a year old, and KXStudio repository gives me Ardour 5.12.0. Anyone knows of a solution while waiting for Ardour 6 to be avialable in repo?

My system (with Focusrite Scarlett 2i2):

Code: Select all

~$ uname -a
Linux dagobah 5.4.0-80-generic #90-Ubuntu SMP Fri Jul 9 22:49:44 UTC 2021 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
User avatar
Michael Willis
Established Member
Posts: 1216
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 3:27 pm
Location: Rocky Mountains, North America
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 38 times
Contact:

Re: Plugins fail to instantiate in Ardour using KXStudio repositories

Post by Michael Willis »

KXStidio isn't keeping up with the latest versions; Ardour 5.12 is ancient history. Download 6.8 from ardour.org. Yes, the site asks for money to download it, but you can pay $1 and get support on the Ardour forum.

Actually, you can get support on the forum without paying, but the first thing everybody in the forum will tell you is download the latest version from ardour.org :)
User avatar
stefan
Established Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 7:21 am

Re: Plugins fail to instantiate in Ardour using KXStudio repositories

Post by stefan »

After some fiddling with other applications (Qtractor, LMMS etc) I came to the conclusion that Ardour is the DAW I want. So I decided to build from source. Cloning version 6.0 made dependencies fit quite seamlessly on my stable system.

Code: Select all

~$ git clone --depth 1 --branch 6.0 https://github.com/Ardour/ardour.git
~$ cd ardour
~$ ./waf configure
~$ ./waf
I had to halt at ./waf configure a few times to install missing dependencies. But the process was straight forward.
User avatar
LAM
Established Member
Posts: 467
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 3:16 pm
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 91 times

Re: Plugins fail to instantiate in Ardour using KXStudio repositories

Post by LAM »

Hi @stefan,
I'm glad you found a solution, compiling Ardour is quite easy.

There's is also an alternative solution that doesn't involve compiling Ardour as discussed here: viewtopic.php?f=64&t=23243

Once you install Ardour from your official repo you can follow the suggestions in the thread above.

I use Debian sid, so to install Ardour from the sid repo:

Code: Select all

sudo apt install -t sid ardour
User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Plugins fail to instantiate in Ardour using KXStudio repositories

Post by Linuxmusician01 »

Strange that the KXStudio version is so old: KX used to be the way to go... I have Ardour 6.9 on my Ubuntu 20.04 machine. I think I used the 'Ubuntu Studio Backports' repository, see: https://launchpad.net/~ubuntustudio-ppa ... /backports
User avatar
LAM
Established Member
Posts: 467
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 3:16 pm
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 91 times

Re: Plugins fail to instantiate in Ardour using KXStudio repositories

Post by LAM »

Linuxmusician01 wrote: Tue Oct 12, 2021 9:20 am Strange that the KXStudio version is so old: KX used to be the way to go... I have Ardour 6.9 on my Ubuntu 20.04 machine. I think I used the 'Ubuntu Studio Backports' repository, see: https://launchpad.net/~ubuntustudio-ppa ... /backports
Yeah, it's the same as Debian sid package (1:6.9.0+ds0-1).
rghvdberg
Established Member
Posts: 1044
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 7:11 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Plugins fail to instantiate in Ardour using KXStudio repositories

Post by rghvdberg »

IIRC drumkv1 uses qt for the gui and usually ardour doesn't like that.

There are some workarounds, just Google a bit.
User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Plugins fail to instantiate in Ardour using KXStudio repositories

Post by Linuxmusician01 »

rghvdberg wrote: Wed Oct 13, 2021 5:51 am IIRC drumkv1 uses qt for the gui and usually ardour doesn't like that.

There are some workarounds, just Google a bit.
[semi off topic] Woooot? Something as "common" as Qt doesn't go well with Ardour? You sure? Even Qjackctl uses Qt. Will that cause problems w/ Ardour too?
tavasti
Established Member
Posts: 1354
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:56 am
Location: Kangasala, Finland
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 32 times
Contact:

Re: Plugins fail to instantiate in Ardour using KXStudio repositories

Post by tavasti »

Linuxmusician01 wrote: Wed Oct 13, 2021 9:30 am [semi off topic] Woooot? Something as "common" as Qt doesn't go well with Ardour? You sure? Even Qjackctl uses Qt. Will that cause problems w/ Ardour too?
Any plugin that is dynamically linked is somewhat likely to cause problems with Ardour and Mixbus. Those big toolkits like Qt and GTK are known to fail often. This is why for example all guitarix-stuff has changed away from those big libs.

And for Qjackctl, hopefully nobody is loading that as plugin :-P
Linux veteran & Novice musician

Latest track: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ycVrgGtrBmM
My music-related hobby business: https://chordpak.com/
User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Plugins fail to instantiate in Ardour using KXStudio repositories

Post by Linuxmusician01 »

tavasti wrote: Wed Oct 13, 2021 9:35 am
Linuxmusician01 wrote: Wed Oct 13, 2021 9:30 am [semi off topic] Woooot? Something as "common" as Qt doesn't go well with Ardour? You sure? Even Qjackctl uses Qt. Will that cause problems w/ Ardour too?
[...]
And for Qjackctl, hopefully nobody is loading that as plugin :-P
Ha ha, my bad. :oops:
folderol
Established Member
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:06 pm
Location: Here, of course!
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 63 times
Contact:

Re: Plugins fail to instantiate in Ardour using KXStudio repositories

Post by folderol »

Personally, I think there is something seriously wrong with any plugin system whereby a faulty plugin can crash the host. It would seem the integration is far too close.
tavasti
Established Member
Posts: 1354
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:56 am
Location: Kangasala, Finland
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 32 times
Contact:

Re: Plugins fail to instantiate in Ardour using KXStudio repositories

Post by tavasti »

folderol wrote: Wed Oct 13, 2021 1:01 pm Personally, I think there is something seriously wrong with any plugin system whereby a faulty plugin can crash the host. It would seem the integration is far too close.
In Ardour that is by design, and no sandboxin is planned/wanted by devs, and reason is performance (less context switches). In case needing sandboxing, it can be done with carla.
Linux veteran & Novice musician

Latest track: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ycVrgGtrBmM
My music-related hobby business: https://chordpak.com/
Post Reply