[SOLVED] Can't get Carla to load WinVST's

Unofficial support for the KXStudio Linux distribution and applications.
More info at http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

Thomas1974
Established Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2019 3:39 am

[SOLVED] Can't get Carla to load WinVST's

Post by Thomas1974 »

Hello,
I am running Ubuntu 18.04 with the latest KxStudio repo and Using Carla version 2.1.1. When I scan for Windows VSTs nothing comes up. I was able to load 32-bit VSTs in the past but now it will not show any Win VSTs after I Refresh. Maybe something I did or a conflict with another program? But I have been searching through this forum and googling it for 2 days now and cannot seam to resolve the problem. I am sure I have all of the correct bridges?
carla-bridge-linux32: audio plugin host (linux32 bridge)
carla-bridge-linux64: audio plugin host (linux64 bridge)
carla-bridge-win32: carla win32 bridge
carla-bridge-win64: carla win64 bridge
carla-bridge-wine32: carla win32 bridge (wine DLL)
carla-bridge-wine64: carla win64 bridge (wine DLL)
Under Search for new... the Windows 32bit and Windows 64bit is checked along with VST3.
Under 'Available tools' 'carla-discovery-native carala-discovery-posix32 carla-discovery-win32 carla-disocvery-win64 and python3-rdflib (LADSPA-RDF support)' are all (green) check marked. And I am able to scan and discover the Internal, LADSPA, LV2, and VST2 plugins but not VST3

Here are the messages in the Logs of Carla:
======= Starting engine =======
======= Engine started ========
Carla engine started, details:
Driver name: JACK
Sample rate: 44100
Process mode: Single client
Gtk-Message: 22:32:48.893: GtkDialog mapped without a transient parent. This is discouraged.
error: failed to expand CURIE `foaf:Person'
wine: '/home/thomas/.wine' is a 64-bit installation, it cannot be used with a 32-bit wineserver.


So to me it has something to do with wine obviously. But seriously I do not have much knowledge of wine. Is anyone else getting this error/problem? Or does anyone have any idea of what went wrong?

Any help is appreciated

EDIT: What I have tried on my own and from what others mentioned below:

If I drag and drop the .dll into the Rack section it gives me this pop-up error:
Failed to load file
Timeout while waiting for a response from plugin-bridge
(or the plugin crashed on initialization?)
And also gives me the same messege as before within Carla's (GUI) Logs tab:
wine: '/home/thomas/.wine' is a 64-bit installation, it cannot be used with a 32-bit wineserver.
If I try it within the terminal it give me:
thomas@thomas-el1331g:~$ carla-single win64 vst '/mnt/WDmybook/VST-Synth/Alieno/Alieno.dll'
['wine64', '/usr/lib/carla/carla-bridge-win64.exe', 'vst2', '/mnt/WDmybook/VST-Synth/Alieno/Alieno.dll', '(none)', '0']
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/carla-single", line 256, in <module>
os.execvp(command[0], command)
File "/usr/lib/python3.6/os.py", line 559, in execvp
_execvpe(file, args)
File "/usr/lib/python3.6/os.py", line 604, in _execvpe
raise last_exc.with_traceback(tb)
File "/usr/lib/python3.6/os.py", line 594, in _execvpe
exec_func(fullname, *argrest)
FileNotFoundError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory
Toejam76 asked:
What happens if you do:
carla-single win32 vst plugin.dll
And my terminal outcome:
thomas@thomas-el1331g:~$ carla-single win32 vst plugin vst '/mnt/WDmybook/VST-Synth/Alieno/Alieno.dll'
uniqueId must be a number
Kott wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:16 pm
And I know my situation is not because my .dll's are on an external HDD, because I tried moving a few .dll folders to my home partition and it still gives me that error.
Does your wine has access to / or ~/ ?
What if you put dll into ~/.wine/drive_c/some_dir_with_vst ?
I copied the WinVST folder to ~/.wine/drive_c/VST-Test like I stated above, but this time I did add the Plugin Path in Configuration in Carla.

First I tried Multi client and I first did a Refresh with only the VST3it box ticked under Search for new... it scanned really quick and I noticed in the progression bar it was only saying VST2 as it was scanning.. but then I ticked the VST2 and VST3 boxes and it scans for both VST2 and VST3. No VST3's shows up in the list. Then tried to change it to Single Client, the same results as below and showing Multi Client in the Process Mode as well.
======= Starting engine =======
======= Engine started ========
Carla engine started, details:
Driver name: JACK
Sample rate: 44100
Process mode: Multi client
wine: '/home/thomas/.wine' is a 64-bit installation, it cannot be used with a 32-bit wineserver.
it gave me several lines about wine.

SOLVED thanks to Kott
The error that gave me a HUGE hint that it had something to do with wine was:
wine: '/home/thomas/.wine' is a 64-bit installation, it cannot be used with a 32-bit wineserver.
Kott replied:
looks like a some mess

do you have 64-bit wine installed?

you can safely rename (backup) ~/.wine to ~/.wine_save and start over with clean wineprefix
So thats what I did. I renamed .wine to .wine.bak and ran the wineprefix command and started over. but first I read this: https://linuxconfig.org/configuring-win ... troduction to get a little understanding of what I was doing. I don't know what messed it all up in the first place, but after going through the steps I started Carla up and Refreshed! BAM! There they were! I got WinVST back again!
Last edited by Thomas1974 on Wed Jun 24, 2020 2:46 am, edited 3 times in total.

Toejam76
Established Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:41 am

Re: Can't get Carla to load WinVST's

Post by Toejam76 »

I have exactly the same problem and working on it for weeks without success.

Purged and re-installed carla (all versions) and wine (stable, dev, staging) a zillion times.
It worked the first time I installed, made the mistake to change something and installed wineasio to test the Windows version of Reaper and it never worked again.
There are no error messages, the bridges are installed and reported working but it doesn't find Window plugins.
My suspicion is, there is something broken in Carla itself but can't confirm.

Apt says there are multiple version of the carla-bridge-win32 and the oldest version of Carla wants to install an older version of wine (5.5).
Maybe that broke something, but that's just speculation because I can't figure out what's wrong.

When I try to install the carla-bridge-wine32/focal 2.1.1-0ubuntu1~20.04.1 i386, APT says carla-bridge-wine32 is already the newest version (5:2.1+git20200614).
Maybe there is a conflict, because Carla and the bridges are present in different versions in different repos.

Toejam76
Established Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:41 am

Re: Can't get Carla to load WinVST's

Post by Toejam76 »

I tried to get at least some error message and when I do:

carla-single vst AskaAyum.dll (or any other pluginname)

this appears:

Plugin failed to load, error was:
/home/ttz/.wine/drive_c/DLLS/AskaAyum.dll: invalid ELF header

whatever that means. I am not into lord of the rings.

or

carla-single DS404.dll

Plugin failed to load, error was:
Invalid internal plugin

Using the carla-git

Where does Carla store the logs? I can't find anything.

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok

Re: Can't get Carla to load WinVST's

Post by Kott »

Hi,

Code: Select all

carla-single win64 vst AskaAyum.dll

Thomas1974
Established Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2019 3:39 am

Re: Can't get Carla to load WinVST's

Post by Thomas1974 »

Toejam76 wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:40 am
I tried to get at least some error message and when I do:

carla-single vst AskaAyum.dll (or any other pluginname)

this appears:

Plugin failed to load, error was:
/home/ttz/.wine/drive_c/DLLS/AskaAyum.dll: invalid ELF header

whatever that means. I am not into lord of the rings.

or

carla-single DS404.dll

Plugin failed to load, error was:
Invalid internal plugin

Using the carla-git

Where does Carla store the logs? I can't find anything.

The only logs I know about is within the Carla GUI where the tabs are. You can see 'Rack' 'Patchbay' and at the very right 'Logs'. That is the only place where I can see any logs anyway. Don't know if there is a directory with a log text file. If there is I would like to know as well to try to troubleshoot it better.

Thomas1974
Established Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2019 3:39 am

Re: Can't get Carla to load WinVST's

Post by Thomas1974 »

Kott wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 10:10 am
Hi,

Code: Select all

carla-single win64 vst AskaAyum.dll
I tried that in the terminal and it gives me this error:
thomas@thomas-el1331g:~$ carla-single win64 vst '/mnt/WDmybook/VST-Synth/Alieno'
['wine64', '/usr/lib/carla/carla-bridge-win64.exe', 'vst2', '/mnt/WDmybook/VST-Synth/Alieno', '(none)', '0']
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/carla-single", line 256, in <module>
os.execvp(command[0], command)
File "/usr/lib/python3.6/os.py", line 559, in execvp
_execvpe(file, args)
File "/usr/lib/python3.6/os.py", line 604, in _execvpe
raise last_exc.with_traceback(tb)
File "/usr/lib/python3.6/os.py", line 594, in _execvpe
exec_func(fullname, *argrest)
FileNotFoundError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory
And I know my situation is not because my .dll's are on an external HDD, because I tried moving a few .dll folders to my home partition and it still gives me that error.


And if I drag and drop the file/.dll into the Rack section it gives me this error:
Failed to load file
Timeout while waiting for a response from plugin-bridge
(or the plugin crashed on initialization?)
And also gives me the same messege as before within Carla's (GUI) Logs tab:
wine: '/home/thomas/.wine' is a 64-bit installation, it cannot be used with a 32-bit wineserver.
If that is any help to get any clues of as what is going on.

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok

Re: Can't get Carla to load WinVST's

Post by Kott »

carla-single win64 vst '/mnt/WDmybook/VST-Synth/Alieno'
what is /mnt/WDmybook/VST-Synth/Alieno ? If this is plugin it should be named Alieno.dll I guess

Toejam76
Established Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:41 am

Re: Can't get Carla to load WinVST's

Post by Toejam76 »

Kott wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 10:10 am
Hi,

Hi there.

Code: Select all

carla-single win64 vst AskaAyum.dll
Interesting. This happens:

carla-single win64 vst AskaAyum.dll
['wine64', '/usr/lib/carla/carla-bridge-win64.exe', 'vst2', 'AskaAyum.dll', '(none)', '0']
wine: cannot find L"/usr/lib/carla/carla-bridge-win64.exe"

It's installed of course, but:

sudo apt search carla-bridge-win64
carla-bridge-win64/bionic,now 5:2.1+git20200614 amd64 [installed]

Looks like there are THREE carla-bridge-win64

sudo apt show carla-bridge-win64 -a
Package: carla-bridge-win64
Version: 5:2.1+git20200614
2.1.1-0ubuntu1~20.04.1
2.1-0ubuntu1

Thomas,
maybe this relates to your problem, because your log shows :FileNotFoundError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory
Some wrong version of bridge is installed and it won't install the correct one, because it's not the newest.

What happens if you do:
carla-single win32 vst plugin.dll

I fiddle around with this bullshit some more. I post if I find something out.

Toejam76
Established Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:41 am

Re: Can't get Carla to load WinVST's

Post by Toejam76 »

Started carla-jack-single, scanned and under Logs this shows up.

wine: cannot find '/usr/lib/carla/carla-discovery-win64.exe'

so doing this:

locate carla-discovery-win64.exe
/usr/lib/carla/carla-discovery-win64.exe
/usr/lib/lv2/carla.lv2/carla-discovery-win64.exe
/usr/lib/vst/carla.vst/carla-discovery-win64.exe

So everything is fine, except it doesn't work.

Thomas,
have you tried to install the carla-git instead? I had some of those python errors before, but not with carla-git.

Toejam76
Established Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:41 am

Re: Can't get Carla to load WinVST's

Post by Toejam76 »

It's working... It struck me like lightning under the shower.
The error was sitting in front of the computer.

I changed the drive settings for wine for whatever reason at some point in winecfg and only gave it access to the .wine folder. :oops:
Of course the bridge can't load if it's in /usr/lib/carla

Added a Drive D: as / , scanned again and all my precious plugins are back.
Maybe that is helpful to others...

Thomas1974
Established Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2019 3:39 am

Re: Can't get Carla to load WinVST's

Post by Thomas1974 »

Kott wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 1:48 pm
carla-single win64 vst '/mnt/WDmybook/VST-Synth/Alieno'
what is /mnt/WDmybook/VST-Synth/Alieno ? If this is plugin it should be named Alieno.dll I guess
My bad. I must have left the ".dll" off when I copied it from the terminal. You almost had me thinking that I used the wrong file.
carla-single win64 vst '/mnt/WDmybook/VST-Synth/Alieno/Alieno.dll'
['wine64', '/usr/lib/carla/carla-bridge-win64.exe', 'vst2', '/mnt/WDmybook/VST-Synth/Alieno/Alieno.dll', '(none)', '0']
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/carla-single", line 256, in <module>
os.execvp(command[0], command)
File "/usr/lib/python3.6/os.py", line 559, in execvp
_execvpe(file, args)
File "/usr/lib/python3.6/os.py", line 604, in _execvpe
raise last_exc.with_traceback(tb)
File "/usr/lib/python3.6/os.py", line 594, in _execvpe
exec_func(fullname, *argrest)
FileNotFoundError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory

Thomas1974
Established Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2019 3:39 am

Re: Can't get Carla to load WinVST's

Post by Thomas1974 »

Toejam76 wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 2:10 pm
Kott wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 10:10 am
Hi,

Hi there.

Code: Select all

carla-single win64 vst AskaAyum.dll
Interesting. This happens:

carla-single win64 vst AskaAyum.dll
['wine64', '/usr/lib/carla/carla-bridge-win64.exe', 'vst2', 'AskaAyum.dll', '(none)', '0']
wine: cannot find L"/usr/lib/carla/carla-bridge-win64.exe"

It's installed of course, but:

sudo apt search carla-bridge-win64
carla-bridge-win64/bionic,now 5:2.1+git20200614 amd64 [installed]

Looks like there are THREE carla-bridge-win64

sudo apt show carla-bridge-win64 -a
Package: carla-bridge-win64
Version: 5:2.1+git20200614
2.1.1-0ubuntu1~20.04.1
2.1-0ubuntu1

Thomas,
maybe this relates to your problem, because your log shows :FileNotFoundError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory
Some wrong version of bridge is installed and it won't install the correct one, because it's not the newest.

What happens if you do:
carla-single win32 vst plugin.dll

I fiddle around with this bullshit some more. I post if I find something out.
It gives me this:
thomas@thomas-el1331g:~$ carla-single win32 vst plugin vst '/mnt/WDmybook/VST-Synth/Alieno/Alieno.dll'
uniqueId must be a number
But yea. Gonna have to check into those other Bridges and see what happens. I'll test them out and post back when I get some results.

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok

Re: Can't get Carla to load WinVST's

Post by Kott »

And I know my situation is not because my .dll's are on an external HDD, because I tried moving a few .dll folders to my home partition and it still gives me that error.
Does your wine has access to / or ~/ ?
What if you put dll into ~/.wine/drive_c/some_dir_with_vst ?

Thomas1974
Established Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2019 3:39 am

Re: Can't get Carla to load WinVST's

Post by Thomas1974 »

Toejam76 wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 2:57 pm
Started carla-jack-single, scanned and under Logs this shows up.

wine: cannot find '/usr/lib/carla/carla-discovery-win64.exe'

so doing this:

locate carla-discovery-win64.exe
/usr/lib/carla/carla-discovery-win64.exe
/usr/lib/lv2/carla.lv2/carla-discovery-win64.exe
/usr/lib/vst/carla.vst/carla-discovery-win64.exe

So everything is fine, except it doesn't work.

Thomas,
have you tried to install the carla-git instead? I had some of those python errors before, but not with carla-git.
If I remember correctly I had carla-git and that is when the WinVST's stopped working, so I thought I would try Carla and it still would'nt find the WinVST's. It worked when I first started using carla-git.
Last edited by Thomas1974 on Mon Jun 22, 2020 11:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Thomas1974
Established Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2019 3:39 am

Re: Can't get Carla to load WinVST's

Post by Thomas1974 »

Kott wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 10:16 pm
And I know my situation is not because my .dll's are on an external HDD, because I tried moving a few .dll folders to my home partition and it still gives me that error.
Does your wine has access to / or ~/ ?
What if you put dll into ~/.wine/drive_c/some_dir_with_vst ?
Ok, I made a knew directory in ~/.wine/drive_c called VST-Test so I put the Alieno folder with the .dll inside the directory ~/.wine/drive_c/VST-Test
======= Starting engine =======
======= Engine started ========
Carla engine started, details:
Driver name: JACK
Sample rate: 44100
Process mode: Multi client
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: Duplicate plugin <http://drobilla.net/plugins/fomp/autowah>
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... found in file:///usr/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... and file:///usr/local/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/ (ignored)
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: Duplicate plugin <http://drobilla.net/plugins/fomp/cs_chorus1>
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... found in file:///usr/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... and file:///usr/local/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/ (ignored)
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: Duplicate plugin <http://drobilla.net/plugins/fomp/cs_chorus2>
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... found in file:///usr/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... and file:///usr/local/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/ (ignored)
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: Duplicate plugin <http://drobilla.net/plugins/fomp/mvchpf1>
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... found in file:///usr/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... and file:///usr/local/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/ (ignored)
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: Duplicate plugin <http://drobilla.net/plugins/fomp/mvclpf1>
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... found in file:///usr/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... and file:///usr/local/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/ (ignored)
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: Duplicate plugin <http://drobilla.net/plugins/fomp/mvclpf2>
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... found in file:///usr/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... and file:///usr/local/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/ (ignored)
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: Duplicate plugin <http://drobilla.net/plugins/fomp/mvclpf3>
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... found in file:///usr/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... and file:///usr/local/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/ (ignored)
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: Duplicate plugin <http://drobilla.net/plugins/fomp/mvclpf4>
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... found in file:///usr/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... and file:///usr/local/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/ (ignored)
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: Duplicate plugin <http://drobilla.net/plugins/fomp/parametric1>
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... found in file:///usr/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... and file:///usr/local/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/ (ignored)
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: Duplicate plugin <http://drobilla.net/plugins/fomp/pulse_vco>
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... found in file:///usr/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... and file:///usr/local/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/ (ignored)
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: Duplicate plugin <http://drobilla.net/plugins/fomp/rec_vco>
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... found in file:///usr/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... and file:///usr/local/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/ (ignored)
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: Duplicate plugin <http://drobilla.net/plugins/fomp/saw_vco>
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... found in file:///usr/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... and file:///usr/local/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/ (ignored)
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: Duplicate plugin <http://drobilla.net/plugins/fomp/triple_chorus>
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... found in file:///usr/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... and file:///usr/local/lib/lv2/fomp.lv2/ (ignored)
error: failed to expand CURIE `foaf:Person'
But besides the duplicate lv2's (in which I will take care of soon).... I dunno!
Hold on! I am getting tired! I forgot to change the Plugin Path in Carla! I may take a break for now!

Post Reply