3 Steps Forward 2 Back: Progress and Frustrations with fundamental DE issues

Unofficial support for the KXStudio Linux distribution and applications.
More info at http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Count
Established Member

3 Steps Forward 2 Back: Progress and Frustrations with fundamental DE issues

Post by Count »

I've been using Linux DEs for over 10 years now. I have generally settled on a KDE desktop flavour as I have found it all round the best, and so when I discovered KXStudio it was a natural go to.

As part of that transition I have gotten used to the experience being categorised by steep, if somewhat sheer, painful, sometimes lengthy, learning curves followed by long, calm, rewarding plateaus of deliriously happy productivity.

Once initial issues are sorted and productivity is engaged, then it's about 10% marshalling resources, 90% productivity - the inverse was true of my Windows experience where it seemed that marshalling resources WAS the experience!

HOWEVER - I am having a number of fundamental issues with my current major project build. I am trying to build my own bespoke 'music performance centre' from the ground up but I don't have the technical know-how to start with something like Arch.

My No1 use for my the music performance centre is to perform live - whether out on stage, or playing live in my home studio. I don't really 'compose' songs in a digital form as such - each song is played as 'live' as possible.

THEREFORE my main requirements are low-latency, stability, and infinite desktop customisation with save/return states.

So here I am with KXStudio fulfilling MOST of that above.

What I am lacking is the ability to 'freeze' the system and pick it up in the same state it was before. To be able set it in stone as an ABSOLUTE state. i.e
* 12 Virtual Desktops, each App in the desktop it is assigned, each App in a default state
* Patch-bay EXACTLY as configured