VeStige isn't working in lmms

Official support for the KXStudio Linux distribution and applications.
More info at http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/

Moderators: falkTX, khz, MattKingUSA

Sol33t303
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:00 am

VeStige isn't working in lmms

Postby Sol33t303 » Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:03 am

After having to many issues trying to get lmms with VSTs to run natively on Fedora, I decided to install KXStudios in VirtualBox (With some more trouble, though it had nothing to do with lmms, I was forced to upgrade to KXStudios from Ubuntu 14.04 due to when trying to boot KXStudios it wouldn't boot correctly after changing Desktop Environments), Now i'm still having issues running VSTs in lmms, VeStige appears to be working, it opens normally, however when I try to open any of my VSTs it says "The VST plugin (Directory) could not load for some reason". I tried it with Synth1 and the same error occurs, what could be the cause/s and what are the solutions? I would think this should be working as it's a completely new KXStudios install. I have double checked that I have WINE installed.

User avatar
falkTX
Establlshed Member
Posts: 6645
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: VeStige isn't working in lmms

Postby falkTX » Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:38 am

wine stuff is not installed by default on kxstudio.
for lmms you need to install lmms-vst-full package, or better, install kxstudio-meta-wine to get all regarding wine and audio (wineasio, festige, dssi-vst, carla win bridges and lmms vst)

Sol33t303
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:00 am

Re: VeStige isn't working in lmms

Postby Sol33t303 » Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:34 am

falkTX wrote:wine stuff is not installed by default on kxstudio.
for lmms you need to install lmms-vst-full package, or better, install kxstudio-meta-wine to get all regarding wine and audio (wineasio, festige, dssi-vst, carla win bridges and lmms vst)

Thanks for telling me about kxstudio-meta-wine because I thought it only needed standard wine, I tried installing lmms-vst-full but it said that it was already installed (I set up the VM a while ago, so I'm pretty sure I installed that). But it still isn't working.

User avatar
falkTX
Establlshed Member
Posts: 6645
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: VeStige isn't working in lmms

Postby falkTX » Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:24 am

define "isn't working". perhaps you just need to disable the VST (tempo) sync in lmms settings.
That option is not compatible with new distros, though the upcoming lmms 1.2 will have it fixed again.

Sol33t303
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:00 am

Re: VeStige isn't working in lmms

Postby Sol33t303 » Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:20 am

Whenever I try to load the VST it says "The VST plugin (Directory) could not load for some reason", unfortunately, their error message isn't the most descriptive. I tried loading in Synth1 which is a tested VST but it still gave the same error so I presume disabling the VST tempo sync won't work.

tavasti
Establlshed Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:56 am
Location: Kangasala, Finland
Contact:

Re: VeStige isn't working in lmms

Postby tavasti » Fri Jun 29, 2018 6:09 pm

I have also problems with kxstudio lmms vestige. Plugins load ok, but plugin gui does not work. Any click on plugin gui (tested few vst's) will make whole lmms frozen until I move focus to some other software.

I suppose I have some conflict with wine versions. I have winehq wine stable. Does kxstudio have own wine version?
Linux veteran & Novice musician

Hear my music at https://audiu.net/users/tawaste

User avatar
falkTX
Establlshed Member
Posts: 6645
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: VeStige isn't working in lmms

Postby falkTX » Fri Jun 29, 2018 10:26 pm

Did you try disabling VST (time) sync in LMMS settings?
I remember this not working correctly for 1.1.3 kxstudio build and new distros.

tavasti
Establlshed Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:56 am
Location: Kangasala, Finland
Contact:

Re: VeStige isn't working in lmms

Postby tavasti » Sat Jun 30, 2018 1:58 pm

falkTX wrote:Did you try disabling VST (time) sync in LMMS settings?
I remember this not working correctly for 1.1.3 kxstudio build and new distros.

It is disabled.
Linux veteran & Novice musician

Hear my music at https://audiu.net/users/tawaste

tavasti
Establlshed Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:56 am
Location: Kangasala, Finland
Contact:

Re: VeStige isn't working in lmms

Postby tavasti » Sun Jul 01, 2018 8:50 am

Maybe I just remove all kxstudio packages related to lmms, all the packages it pulled in, and build it myself :-(
Linux veteran & Novice musician

Hear my music at https://audiu.net/users/tawaste


Return to “KXStudio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests