No sound in web browsers

Unofficial support for the KXStudio Linux distribution and applications.
More info at http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Matmat
Established Member

No sound in web browsers

Post by Matmat »

Hello community,

Before I discuss the topic, I must say that I am an absolute newbie at Linux and Kxstudio. I just got rid of Windows yesterday and installed KXStudio. I've been wanting do this for a long time and finally took that step. I'm very excited about this :D I know that I have a load of reading and learning and messing around to do before I can discuss topics with the community and properly ask for help. However, I now have an urgent problem at hand, because it is preventing me from learning some tunes off of Youtube that I have to learn fast! :shock: So I ask for you to please bare with me, even though I haven't properly done my Linux homework yet... :oops: Still, before writing here, I did some research and read a bunch of forum posts but couldn't find a solution. :wink:

I just installed KXStudio from the latest disk image I got from the website, then ran the KXStudio Welcome screen with "force reset of all settings" enabled (I just tried doing this again and restarting but it didn't solve the problem). Then, Youtube worked fine on Firefox. Since then, while messing around Synaptic Package Manager, I thought it would be a good idea to click "Mark All Upgrades" and Apply, and by doing this I got the latest version of Firefox.

So, as you must be aware, Firefox now requires PulseAudio and doesn't support ALSA anymore, and KXStudio runs with ALSA (I have pretty much no idea what this means... :oops: ). After the update, when I go on a Youtube video I get no sound and a banner that says "To play audio, you may need to install the required PulseAudio software" with a link to: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/fi ... deo-issues

https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/s ... out-sound/