Windows VST2/3 plugins in Carla (revisited)

Official support for the KXStudio Linux distribution and applications.
More info at http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/

Moderators: falkTX, khz, MattKingUSA

rusk
Establlshed Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 7:13 am

Re: Windows VST2/3 plugins in Carla (revisited)

Postby rusk » Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:10 pm

Ok, I cannot reproduce the bug. Seems everything is loading and unloading fine, save/restore works in both rack and patchbay as well as opening presets saved with carla standalone.
BTW I noticed extreme xruns with carla in Ardour when I have loaded some audio tracks. My test case: Loading guitarix in ardour is fine. Loading carla-rack with guitarix inside causes disk speed error in Ardour. Disabled guitarix in carla turned project back to usefull state And here is the log from console after enabling it back

Carla assertion failure: "pData->pipeRecv != INVALID_PIPE_VALUE" in file ../utils/CarlaPipeUtils.cpp, line 972
Audio 1 Need 1024 total = 0
underrun for Audio 1
Audio 1 Need 1024 total = 0
underrun for Audio 1
Carla bridge server side, OnOff ping checks => false
Carla bridge server side, OnOff ping checks => true
error: (null):0:0: invalid UTF-8: 98
Carla bridge client side, OnOff ping checks => false
Carla bridge client side, OnOff ping checks => true
Snare Right Need 1024 total = 0
underrun for Snare Right
Snare Right Need 1024 total = 0
underrun for Snare Right


The system is laptop DELL D630 Core2Duo 2.3 GHz with 3 Gb RAM, normal hard drive 5400. Built in audio. Linux Mint 17 64 bit with lolatency kernel. Everything is installed from repos, nothing compiled manually. pulse-jack bridge is running. JACK is running with 1024 samples buffer. Same project with just couple VSTs running outside of Ardour with FeSTige is working just fine with 256 samples JACK buffer.

bytoz
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 1:41 pm

Re: Windows VST2/3 plugins in Carla (revisited)

Postby bytoz » Sat Jan 17, 2015 11:52 am

Hi
not shure this is the right place to post but it seems to.

I was using some windows 32/64 vst in carla-git without problems until the end of december. Since there the plugins loads in carla but when i try to bring up native ui the carla-bridge-win32/64 crash.

for example using last 64bit free version of revalver virtual amp I get the attached backtrace.

with this vst I'm getting a differnet behaviuor in 32/64
the 32 version crashes immediately when i try to load ui while the 64bit one stays up for unpredictable time and then crashes. It always appen when I'm making something on the ui. If I don't touch the ui in works fine.

I saw in the last days some updates on the winxx bridges but this problem is still here.

using kxstudio on ubuntu 14.04 samsung laptop i7

Thank you

backtrace.txt
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

micha
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:41 pm

Re: Windows VST2/3 plugins in Carla (revisited)

Postby micha » Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:56 pm

Hi,
I want to use VST plugins I received with some hardware. Any feedback on:
- Novation BassStation
- XPand!2
- Focusrite Scarlett Plugin Suite (Compressor, Reverb etc.)
Are these known to work? Are they worth trying?
I am just starting out, and I want to avoid hopeless struggles...

User avatar
falkTX
Establlshed Member
Posts: 6586
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: Windows VST2/3 plugins in Carla (revisited)

Postby falkTX » Sat Feb 14, 2015 1:17 pm

If they work on wine, they will work on carla.

I know some very recent stuff that uses vcrun2013 does not work in wine.
But that's because wine doesn't support those dlls yet, so no software whatsoever that uses those will work.

The Wine app database is always a good thing to check to see if something will work or not
https://appdb.winehq.org/

micha
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:41 pm

Re: Windows VST2/3 plugins in Carla (revisited)

Postby micha » Sat Feb 14, 2015 2:03 pm

BassStation seems to work, the keyboard panel is there and carla shows an audio level when I press a key. now I have to find out how to get the audio from carla to my headphones, but that's probably solvable :-)

micha
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:41 pm

Re: Windows VST2/3 plugins in Carla (revisited)

Postby micha » Sun Feb 15, 2015 1:17 pm

Just a quick update:
BassStation and the Scarlett suite work fine. I couldn't get Xpand2 installed in wine, it seems to require at least Windows 7.1.
I also tested free (as in beer) VST synths like Proteus VX, Tyrell N6 and Zebralette, they also work well. I didn't manage to install the x64 version of Tyrell N6, but the 32bit version is fine.

adrianfernandezfazio
Establlshed Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:22 am

Re: Windows VST2/3 plugins in Carla (revisited)

Postby adrianfernandezfazio » Fri May 22, 2015 9:07 pm

Alchemy v1.12.23 windows 32 vst working!!! Midi and audio! Thanks again falkTX!

User avatar
falkTX
Establlshed Member
Posts: 6586
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: Windows VST2/3 plugins in Carla (revisited)

Postby falkTX » Fri May 22, 2015 9:09 pm

Really?
Everyone has been saying windows 32bit plugins don't run (using Carla or any other plugin bridge thing).

What setup are you using?

User avatar
falkTX
Establlshed Member
Posts: 6586
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: Windows VST2/3 plugins in Carla (revisited)

Postby falkTX » Sat May 23, 2015 5:43 pm

Good news, I think I'm able to reproduce this now!

Code: Select all

Carla assertion failure: "carla_is_shm_valid(shm)" in file ../utils/CarlaShmUtils.hpp, line 158
Failed to initialize RT client control
*** Error in `/usr/lib/carla/carla-bridge-native': free(): invalid pointer: 0x000000000188dea0 ***
Aborted

Finally it broke for me too! :lol:

Now I can investigate what's going on...

adrianfernandezfazio
Establlshed Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:22 am

Re: Windows VST2/3 plugins in Carla (revisited)

Postby adrianfernandezfazio » Fri May 29, 2015 2:33 pm

KXStudio, Carla, Ardour 4. Works Nice!!!

adrianfernandezfazio
Establlshed Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:22 am

Re: Windows VST2/3 plugins in Carla (revisited)

Postby adrianfernandezfazio » Fri May 29, 2015 2:43 pm

I've post some img in your facebook

Żożo
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:18 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Windows VST2/3 plugins in Carla (revisited)

Postby Żożo » Tue Jun 23, 2015 7:24 pm

Hi,

regarding Scarlett Plugin Suite and Novation Bass Station vsts, I have not been able to install licence files. I run them in Carla, they work fine in demo mode. I've activated the products, I've got .fnlf files for them, but I get "This is not a valid license file" error. I've tried adding a license file in Reaper also, I've changed permissions to executable but it still doesn't work.

How to install those license files? Any help would be deeply appreciated.
using KXStudio 14.04 64bit

User avatar
falkTX
Establlshed Member
Posts: 6586
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: Windows VST2/3 plugins in Carla (revisited)

Postby falkTX » Tue Jun 23, 2015 8:31 pm

If it doesn't even work in reaper it means you probably can't do it.
Something missing in Wine I guess.

Those plugins were never meant to be used in linux anyway.

Żożo
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:18 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Windows VST2/3 plugins in Carla (revisited)

Postby Żożo » Wed Jun 24, 2015 1:41 pm

All right, thanks for quick reply.

Just a quick note, for people who consider buying vst plugins from Focusrite,
Red 2 Eq and Red 3 Compressor work fine, they are easily activated by pasting a code in a plugin.
using KXStudio 14.04 64bit

User avatar
falkTX
Establlshed Member
Posts: 6586
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: Windows VST2/3 plugins in Carla (revisited)

Postby falkTX » Wed Jul 22, 2015 10:03 am

The issues with the windows bridges in carla should be fixed with the latest updates.

I'd appreciate if people that had issues with it before would update and test again.
Thanks.


Return to “KXStudio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests