Can't start JACK - " jackdbus is not available"

Unofficial support for the KXStudio Linux distribution and applications.
More info at http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

Post Reply
User avatar
unfa
Established Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 10:43 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

Can't start JACK - " jackdbus is not available"

Post by unfa »

I've installed KX Studio 14.04 today - a fresh start (Ubuntu Studio 14.04 had Audacity and LMMS problems so I decided to go with KX this time).

I've installed Tux Guitar (I need to edit guitar TABs compatible with Guitar Pro) and during the installation, something changed with jack server. I can't quite remember. It was either installing jackd2 or something.

After restart, Cadence says this:

-- jackdbus is not available --

And all JACK controls are greyed out.

I installed QjackCtl and is fails to start JACK too:

Code: Select all

20:02:42.128 JACK is starting...
20:02:42.130 jackd -v -r -dalsa -r48000 -p256 -n3 -D -Chw:H2 -Phw:MID
Cannot connect to server socket err = No such file or directory
Cannot connect to server request channel
jack server is not running or cannot be started
20:02:42.144 Could not start JACK. Sorry.
20:02:42.146 JACK was stopped with exit status=255
I ereased Tux Guitar and it's JACK plugin, but it didn't help me so far.

Muon says package jackd is broken.

After instaling package jackd2 (not to confuse with jackd or jackd1) QJackCtl starts JACK, however Cadence still is stunned.

Can someone help me spot the problem here?

--- update: package jack is not broken, but I'll try to see what happens after reboot, still no luck with Cadence - and no Pulse Audio for JACK.

Eino
Established Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 2:22 pm
Location: Music City USA
Contact:

Re: Can't start JACK - " jackdbus is not available"

Post by Eino »

unfa wrote: And all JACK controls are greyed out.
I installed QjackCtl and is fails to start JACK too:
.
open QjackCtl then open the patchbay and click load with your instruments plugged in.This should pickup your instruments automatically.
Then open Connect and make your connections manually.
Then click start every thing should be running in real-time at this point.
But I'm not running Pulse audio, I'm running ALSA. along with aconnect. also, alongside of jack.
I hope this helps.
"Music is everybody's possession. It's only publishers who think that people own it. "
John Lennon

https://soundcloud.com/eino1953

User avatar
unfa
Established Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 10:43 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

Re: Can't start JACK - " jackdbus is not available"

Post by unfa »

Thanks Eino, however the problem has somehow solved itself after rebooting.
Now Cadence seems to work fine with JACK again.
Everything has got back to normal - maybe it was the lack of jackd2 package?
I'm not sure if I dare to try reproducing this behvoir right now...

Post Reply