Cadence not seeing jack status on login

Unofficial support for the KXStudio Linux distribution and applications.
More info at http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

MadRich
Established Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 12:54 pm

Cadence not seeing jack status on login

Postby MadRich » Thu Apr 24, 2014 9:52 pm

HI

I've been using KXStudio 12.04 (installed over Kubuntu) for well over a year now and it has been great. I decided to do a clean install of Kubuntu 14.04 and try out the new KXStudio repositries and everything looks perfect with one small exception.

I have always had Cadence set to start Jack on login and usually if I look at Cadence's system tab it shows Jack as running and gives the load, sample rate, latency etc. On the new install Jack does start in the background (apps can see it and use it), but Cadence says Jack is stopped and no values are displayed. If I tell Cadence to start Jack, it reports Jack already running and if I get Cadence to force restart then everything displays normally after Jack is restarted.

I have removed pulseaudio as that often causes problems, but no change this time.

As always, thanks for this great distro.

Rich

MadRich
Established Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 12:54 pm

Re: Cadence not seeing jack status on login

Postby MadRich » Thu Apr 24, 2014 10:15 pm

Hi falk

Thanks for the reply. Nothing odd in the terminal, just "Using Tray Engine 'Qt' "

I'm running 64 bit, but I can go 32 bit if that would help,

Rich

MadRich
Established Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 12:54 pm

Re: Cadence not seeing jack status on login

Postby MadRich » Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:33 pm

I'm happy to try 32 bit and report back.

Rich

MadRich
Established Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 12:54 pm

Re: Cadence not seeing jack status on login

Postby MadRich » Sat Apr 26, 2014 11:17 pm

Hi

I thought I would test this some more so I installed both 32 bit and 64 bit Kubuntus as VMs. I can confirm that this behaviour happens in both cases. Kubuntu 14.04 must have introduced something that Cadence doesn't like.

I have also been playing with Cadence running from a terminal and although no errors appear on startup I do see one exception that appears from time to time "dbus.exceptions.DBusException: org.freedesktop". I have no idea if this is relevant.

Rich

wolftune
Established Member
Posts: 1302
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 7:40 pm
Location: Portland, OR
Contact:

Re: Cadence not seeing jack status on login

Postby wolftune » Fri May 09, 2014 5:36 am

I have this same problem currently. It doesn't seem fixed. I'm on 14.04 KXStudio 64-bit, everything else seems to be working.

The auto-start options show the Claudia settings but actual auto-start isn't working. There's some connected weirdness with getting Claudia to start jack correctly.
Aaron Wolf
Music teacher, scholar
http://wolftune.com

ariel.bnd
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2013 2:42 pm

Re: Cadence not seeing jack status on login

Postby ariel.bnd » Sat May 10, 2014 11:23 pm

Same here. New Kxstudio install on Lubuntu 14.04

All software is working great! but Cadence shows Server Status: Stopped. When I hit Force Restart, Cadences works fine and shows the jack status normaly.

bruno
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 8:04 pm

Re: Cadence not seeing jack status on login

Postby bruno » Mon May 12, 2014 9:14 pm

Exactly the same here. I'm on 14.04, 64 bit. I started from a fresh Ubuntu install with Unity and added kxstudio-meta package for audio apps (still using Unity as Desktop). Jack starts automatically when I log-in, I'm able to do patchbay connectios in Catia, but Cadence is not seeing that Jack is running ("server status: stopped"). Cadence does not see the bridges either -- PulseAudio and ALSA MIDI show as 'not started', when in fact they are running.

billybob
Established Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:05 am

Re: Cadence not seeing jack status on login

Postby billybob » Sat May 24, 2014 7:36 pm

Any news about this ?

HarryUP
Established Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 9:16 pm

Re: Cadence not seeing jack status on login

Postby HarryUP » Tue May 27, 2014 9:23 pm

This happened to me yesterday and I found a solution.
Set 'cadence-session-start --start' to autostart at login, optionally also set 'cadence --minimized'. You can do that on the "System Settings".

User avatar
5parkle5
Established Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:52 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Cadence not seeing jack status on login

Postby 5parkle5 » Tue May 27, 2014 9:40 pm

HarryUP wrote:This happened to me yesterday and I found a solution.
Set 'cadence-session-start --start' to autostart at login, optionally also set 'cadence --minimized'. You can do that on the "System Settings".

Is this already handled by running kxstudio-welcome? Or having kxstudio-default-settings installed? I have both installed, ran the Welcome experience, and this exact issue persists.

User avatar
Shupacabras
Established Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:12 pm

Re: Cadence not seeing jack status on login

Postby Shupacabras » Thu May 29, 2014 3:17 am

What is the list of commands from the terminal for cadence?

My intention is to start jack bridges

MadRich
Established Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 12:54 pm

Re: Cadence not seeing jack status on login

Postby MadRich » Mon Jun 30, 2014 5:16 pm

Hi

Just wondered if there was a solution to this - it's still an issue for me.

Rich

wolftune
Established Member
Posts: 1302
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 7:40 pm
Location: Portland, OR
Contact:

Re: Cadence not seeing jack status on login

Postby wolftune » Mon Jun 30, 2014 5:42 pm

HarryUP wrote:This happened to me yesterday and I found a solution.
Set 'cadence-session-start --start' to autostart at login, optionally also set 'cadence --minimized'. You can do that on the "System Settings".


As from above, that solved it for me (I just did the first bit)
Aaron Wolf
Music teacher, scholar
http://wolftune.com

MadRich
Established Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 12:54 pm

Re: Cadence not seeing jack status on login

Postby MadRich » Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:18 pm

wolftune wrote:
HarryUP wrote:This happened to me yesterday and I found a solution.
Set 'cadence-session-start --start' to autostart at login, optionally also set 'cadence --minimized'. You can do that on the "System Settings".


As from above, that solved it for me (I just did the first bit)


Hi wolftune.

Thanks for the reply, but I tought I had tried the above. Maybe I'm trying to do this in the wrong way. Exactly how and where do you set the cadence-session-start parameter? I'm using KDE and I tried setting this in "startup and shutdown" in "system settings", but that didn't work for me.

Rich

wolftune
Established Member
Posts: 1302
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 7:40 pm
Location: Portland, OR
Contact:

Re: Cadence not seeing jack status on login

Postby wolftune » Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:07 pm

Hi Rich,

I did it in that same KDE prefs panel. It worked for me. So I don't know what to say. I just added that command to the auto-start options
Aaron Wolf
Music teacher, scholar
http://wolftune.com


Return to “KXStudio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest