Drum sostware usage.

Unofficial support for the KXStudio Linux distribution and applications.
More info at http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Terrorizer
Established Member

Drum sostware usage.

Post by Terrorizer »

Hi everybody,

...i'm a musician, and i wanna produce some music in kxstudio. Is there an complete tutorial (for beginners) to make drum-samples (-loops) for a complete song with software like Superior Drummer, EZDrummer or Addictive Drums ?

...many thanx in advance.
Qualitymix
Established Member

Re: Drum sostware usage.

Post by Qualitymix »

Hey Terrorizer...thought I would pop on and offer my two cents. I am a percussion instructor and composer and have slowly been migrating to kxstudio for all my production and lessons. I have experience programming drums (when I can't record my own) and I personally use the piano roll editor in whatever DAW it is I'm using. That has always made great straigjtforward sense to me. And so all you need to figure that out is the manual from whatever DAW you're using...and then your drum software connected to your midi track
Joermungand
Established Member

Post by Joermungand »

Hi Terrorizer,
I’ve been using Superior Drummer 2 for some time – first in KXStudio, now in Archlinux. I load it with FSTHost (so I can save and load kits and presets) and it shows up as a Jack client. As Qualitymix suggested, all it takes, then, is connecting it with a DAW – I’ve been using both Ardour 3 and Rosegarden for the purpose – and composing your drum tracks there. With Superior, you simply bounce your drum tracks to audio files and import those in the DAW, as you would normally do when using it in Windows. I wouldn’t know much about either EZDrummer or Addictive Drums, as I’ve never used them.

Depending on your typical workflow, various scenarios can be imagined. I’ll be happy to help if you provide some info on how you intend to proceed.
Terrorizer
Established Member

Post by Terrorizer »