How Start an Open Source project to create a replacement for RME Totalmix fx

Programming applications for making music on Linux.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

sjzstudio
Established Member

How Start an Open Source project to create a replacement for RME Totalmix fx

Post by sjzstudio »

How to get started with Totalmix fx and opensource drivers. Personally, I’m not a coder, but I wonder how the project could get started. And gather qualified people according to it. Is it absolutely impossible to do?
j_e_f_f_g
Established Member

Re: How Start an Open Source project to create a replacement for RME Totalmix fx

Post by j_e_f_f_g »

sjzstudio wrote: How to get started with Totalmix fx
First you need someone who can write C code.
I’m not a coder
Better not start the project until you learn C, and really well too, because you'd have to write an ALSA "hardware control" loadable module. And that's complicated.
gather qualified people to it. impossible?
If by that you mean... "Get someone to do it for me, so I don't need to do it myself"... then the answer is "yes, it will be nearly impossible". High-end audio support on linux is almost always achieved by someone learning how to write an ALSA kernel module so he can roll his own support. Because there are scant few people to do it for you.

Author of BackupBand at https://sourceforge.net/projects/backupband/files/
My fans show their support by mentioning my name in their signature.

sjzstudio
Established Member

Re: How Start an Open Source project to create a replacement for RME Totalmix fx

Post by sjzstudio »

So where should I start studying? If I think I would start studying out of curiosity on the subject.
j_e_f_f_g
Established Member

Post by j_e_f_f_g »